We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food & PIE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Cueva Cafe

La Cueva Cafe
135 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5946 (Formerly Rellenos Cafe)
575-758-7001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Great Bend, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food & PIE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

A very small, unassuming building. We drove by it several times while looking for it! We had lunch on the patio and the food was excellent. Highly recommend the tacos. But the star of the show is the Key Lime Pie! OMGosh! I have no doubt I will have cravings for this pie the rest of my life!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    105
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food at a decent price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I were staying the night in Taos and were in the mood for dome good Mexican food without all of the frills and this place delivered. The food was very, very, good and the service was excellent, our waiter was very knowledgeable and friendly and we were able to eat outside on their patio. Two issues that you don't run into that often at these types of restaurants was that they do not serve alcohol, which I can overlook, and that chips and salsa are not complimentary, however when you do order chips they come with a very good, smokey salsa and some excellent guacamole. All in all if you are in Taos and are in the market for some very good Mexican food give these guys a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Da Honeymoon... continued”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our hotel Concierge recommended this restaurant and I'm glad she did!! What a fantastic find! It is what we would call a "hole in the wall" restaurant. Don't be deceived by the outside - if you want authentic Mexican food this is the place for you! My husband and I are both vegetarians and they had ample selections for us!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Real Thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Authentic Mexican food and always great! Servers are very friendly and helpful and the chile rellenos are wonderful! Ask for the Christmas hot sauce- green and red on the side.

The only downside is that at this time the restaurant does not have a liquor license, but they think they will have one soon.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Back for a Victory Lap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Sometimes you can't quite believe that a memory of a really, really good meal in a really, really simple setting can actually hold up to the reality. So on our way back home to northern Colorado, after having been knocked out by the Santa Fe Opera's "Fidelio," we added extra time to our travel day to revisit La Cueva in Taos. Outside on the small patio is a fine place to sit on a summer's day in New Mexico.
It's hard to resist chicken mole and chile rellenos (red and green—Christmas—chile on top, please). So we didn't. And we were rewarded for our urge to indulge. The meal was delicious. New Mexico Mexican cuisine has its own style and flair (as compared to versions in Texas and Southern California). La Cueva styles out as well as any other restaurant I have enjoyed in New Mexico. (It should be noted that La Cueva does not serve any alcohol; no beer, no margs. It should also be noted, that La Cueva food does not need that accompaniment to leave the palate dancing). Olé!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Cueva Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cueva Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.