We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Hole in Wall with Excellent New Mexican Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cueva Cafe

La Cueva Cafe
135 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5946 (Formerly Rellenos Cafe)
575-758-7001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 108 restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Arvada, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tiny Hole in Wall with Excellent New Mexican Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went there on a recommendation from a Taos local. Tiny place, six small tables in one small room. Food is made to order. Ceviche is excellent. My wife had a cream corn soap with poblanas and I had chicken fajita with a mole sauce. both excellent. Service was friendly and attentive. No alcohol served so don't expect a margarita or cerveza.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    127
    86
    11
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Must visit...multiple times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Some of the best New Mexican/Mexican food I've ever eaten. Dessert was probably the highlight, though everything was fantastic. Can't beat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food of our trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place was a hole in the wall but authentic Mexican food was plentiful. The mole was over the top and the green and red chile sauces were the best I have had in years. We even had the tres leches cake which was a special that night. The food was just like mom would have made if she were a great Mexican mama!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great patio and chili rellenos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The patio is super cute with lively Mexican music but still in a quiet area. They have a large sea food menu and not a ton to choose from if you don't like sea food, but the chili rellenos were the best I have ever had ! They were grilled so they had a nice smoky flavor and the cheese was melty and seasoned and the green chili was just the right amount of spicy. Fantastic ! The chicken mole enchiladas were not as good so I would order the chili rellenos for sure !

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food in humble decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you're seeking elegant surroundings go somewhere else.
If you're looking for some of the best Mexican food anywhere this is the restaurant for you!
Owned and operated by restaurant employees who started their own establishment , they take great pride in every item on their menu and offer it at a reasonable price.
This is a great restaurant!
On our recent trip to Santa Fe and Taos New Mexico we found La Cueva Cafe to be highly rated in TripAdvisor. Our initial impression, looking at the exterior, almost made us reconsider. Based on external appearance this restaurant is not very appealing.
I ordered chicken mole enchiladas and my wife ordered fish tacos. For an appetizer we ordered chips and guacamole.
We've eaten at some of the most expensive Mexican restaurants in the United States and Mexico. This food was as good as, or better, than any of them. We ate it with gusto!
I ordered chicken mole enchiladas at two other restaurants in Santa Fe and paid a lot more for lower quality ingredients and taste.
La Cueva Cafe is well worth a visit!


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva Cafe also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 
Taos, Taos County

Been to La Cueva Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cueva Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.