We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal overall in New Mexico!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cueva Cafe

La Cueva Cafe
135 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5946 (Formerly Rellenos Cafe)
575-758-7001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
Eugene, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best meal overall in New Mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Everything was great.Nothing fancy, but that seems to be where all the great New Mexican food is found here. Loved the outdoor seating and service. I had the chicken mole enchiladas, outstanding! My wife had been working her way through NM with chicken enchiladas. These are the ones she compares all the rest to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    105
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food, but small inside dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This place had great, delicious food. We had the chili rellano, chicken taco and veggie taco, all exceptional. The rice was ok. But the veggie taco was so good, better than I expected! There was outdoor seating, but was a bit too windy to eat outdoors.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Powerful little hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This little "dump" (I use the description affectionately) was recommended to use by the hotel desk clerk in Santa Fe. This is his favorite restaurant in Taos. It truly is a hole in the wall but the food was very very good! I had the shrimp enchiladas which were great, my husband had the seafood enchiladas and our friends had the burrito and one had fish and chips...no kidding. All the food was very reasonable and delicious! Our server, Jose gave us good suggestions and the food was served quickly. Would highly recommend it for lunch.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

The chips/salsa/guacamole was very good. I don't usually like guacamole but I did at this place! The green chile was excellent. Everything had great flavors. The service was good and food came out quickly. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VT
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Really Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had a great vegetarian meal. Tortilla soup without chicken and chile rellenos. Both were terrific. The service was very cheerful and fast. The price was good. The ambiance was authentic. Very limited seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Cueva Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cueva Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.