We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent New Mexican Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cueva Cafe

La Cueva Cafe
135 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571-5946 (Formerly Rellenos Cafe)
575-758-7001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery
New Mexico
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent New Mexican Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The waitstaff are always friendly and quick to seat guests. Our waiter had a great sense of humor and initially, pretended that he would seat us outside where the temperatures were quite chilly! Then, he seated us in the back room behind the patio - a great, cozy location. I had the Enchiladas NM with Christmas chile (that's red and green chile together). Others in our party had: Chicken Enchiladas with Mole, Fish Tacos, and Huevos Rancheros. All of us were very happy with our choices. Service was prompt and our meals were delicious. It's definitely a place to consider when eating in Taos.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    105
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very casual hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Seating for 12 in a very casual environment. Delicious food, especially for the price. Friendly capable service as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Authentic, home made... tasty Toas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This tiny looking corner place across from the plaza ( on 68 just a block south of Kit Carson road) is simply authentic, delicious and affordable.... you shouldn't do Taos without at least stopping in for lunch. We took our family of five there for dinner. Even though we're were seated in a separate building across the back patio, we felt like we were in someone's home. Such great fresh, authentic New mexican food. Highlights for us included the fish taco, mole chicken enchiladas, chili relleno. The homemade desserts included an amazing fried mango chimichanga with ice cream and traditonal flan. No alcohol, but I really didn't care once the food came.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Not a lot of seating but we had a late lunch so wasn't busy when we were there. Food was really good and reasonably priced! One of the best chile rellenos I've ever had (and I've eaten a lot of them). My boyfriend and I liked the food here better than another local place that multiple people had recommend we go to so very glad we checked this place out too! Only down side is that they didn't appear to have a liquor license & was really hoping to have a margarita with the meal.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Take the drive to Taos. Its totally worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you are in Albuqureque or any where near Taos, go there. Just the food at La Cueva will be a reason enough to justify your visit. The Rio Grande Gorge Bridge was our reason to visit Taos. But La Cueva was the reason we left satisified.
Our waiter Alfredo, who is the owner too, made us feel at home. You do feel at home with this place and food. Whatever was on menu was the best i ever tasted in that class.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Cueva Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cueva Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.