We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to the draft beer” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The KTAOS Solar Center

The KTAOS Solar Center
9 State Road 150, Taos, NM 87571
575.758.5826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 39 attractions in Taos
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: World Class Live Music Venue. World's Most powerful solar powered radio station. Full service bar and grill.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Stick to the draft beer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We live only a mile away, so this bar/music venue is place we visit frequently. Just a couple of things to note: the music rarely starts earlier than a half hour late. It must be something about the elevation! If the act is doing a sound check at the time they were supposed to start, the music will start 30-45 minutes later. The wait staff is friendly when you get their attention, but be patient. They also are affected by the elevation. I always get the draft beer, but last night ordered one of their infused vodka drinks. At $8 for 10 ounces, I should have tasted all three ingredients, watermelon infused vodka, triple sec and lime juice. Not only did I only taste lime juice, the drink was overall sour and no alcohol was detected. Save your money. Drink draft beer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    5
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taos, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Views!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

the solar center is a great building, with one of the best views around of the mountains. the atmosphere is chill, and the outdoor area is fantastic! the music venue is great for dancing, lots of room and a decent wooden dance floor. if only there were some good music there other than bad pop music and white boy reggae.

the service is average (which for taos puts it in the top 10%), and the folks behind the bar are not very knowledgeable. i once ordered a campari and soda there, and i was brought a rum and coke. (the bar person translated campari into bacardi, and soda into coke, all without asking me).

nonetheless, the solar center is a great place to go for an evening drink with folks from out of town, it does provide a taste of taos.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Taos BRAWL was great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This space is wonderful for a beer with a beautiful view and great sandwiches. The Taos BRAWL (women's arm wrestling for charity) occurred while we were there. Go Whiplashes! Enjoy a little of the local culture for a good cause.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RANCHOS DE TAOS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

they have alot of nice things going on at this place. alot of concerts bring a lawn chair or just a blanket to sit on

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“KTAOS Is Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fantastic view, Great Music, wonderful food. And it's the world's first solar powered radio station!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The KTAOS Solar Center also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to The KTAOS Solar Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The KTAOS Solar Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The KTAOS Solar Center to your Saves list