We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gorge Bar and Grill

Gorge Bar and Grill
103 E Plaza, Ste I, Taos, NM 87571-5928
575-758-8866
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 95 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Southwestern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The is a new restaurant which replaced Ogilivie's right on the Plaza in Taos. It is a casual restaurant, with a mune that reflect it's SM location, though is by no means "Mexican" completely. WE had a combinations of startes and salads, all of which are excellent; The Bison Sliders were supurb. The balcony overlooking the Plaza is a wonderful place to watch the activity in the Plaza - the only outdoor eating on the Plaza.They have a full bar, and excellent staff who are all very jazzed about being part of this new venture. It is a definite place for a simple but interesting meal.
West Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great view average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great place if weather is good and seating is available outside. Lovely view of the square. Otherwise this is a pretty run of the mill establishment serving basic food. We sampled several menu items and they were good but certainly nothing that couldn’t be had from most restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    142
    71
    35
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delightful food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Our kind Worldmark concierge insisted we try The Gorge for dinner after we had driven 470 miles across the state, and we were not disappointed. The breaded fish filets were so good that I finished them all (which is rare for me!). My son had a beautiful burger and was very happy. The bar atmosphere was friendly, servers were pleasant and accommodating, and overall, we had a great experience. The lovely young mother at the table next to us was doing a great job managing her three very small children with a great sense of humor, and she made some food suggestions for our benefit. I love eating in a place where the other customers are enthusiastic about recommending selections. When we visit Taos again, we will definitely go back to The Gorge.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great burgers, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We enjoyed our meal. There was a 20 minute wait, handled well by the host. Our server, Joaquin, was friendly and attentive without being annoying. The burgers we ordered were thick, cooked as ordered and very tasty. Taos restaurants can be pricey, especially close to the plaza. This restaurant was very good and I thought the prices were very reasonable for the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not New Mexican, but Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This is a good restaurant in a good location, right on the Taos Plaza. However, my sons & I were looking for authentic New Mexican cuisine & this was nothing special...good, but nothing special. The atmosphere is nice, the food is good, and the prices are mid to high. If you are looking for authentic New Mexican, I'd try Orlando's. But this is a good place if you want to eat pretty good food on the Plaza.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I visit NM several times a year for a getaway and always enjoyed Taos as one of my fav places. The Gorge Bar and Grill is a great way to start off your week in Taos. For dinner I ordered the Roasted Chicken entree and loved it! Cooked well with a light crisp! Also had a bottle of wine with the finance and we both left satisfied. Atmosphere is nice and cozy and the staff are friendly! My finance had the fresh oysters as a meal and loved them. She even ordered more after eating the first 6 she was served. With tip and a bottle of wine the tix was $75.00--very reasonable.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorge Bar and Grill also viewed

Taos, Taos County
 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Gorge Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorge Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.