We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of the local life” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Taoseno

El Taoseno
819 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM
575-758-4142
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A slice of the local life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stopped in here for dinner in early Feb. I had read some negative reviews about it, so I was a little leery. I am happy to report I have nothing but very positive things to say. The wait staff was prompt, very friendly and offered me good recommendations on what to order from the menu. They were very attentive during the meal, frequently checking see how things were.
The food was delicious and plentiful. The sopapilla at the end of the meal was included in the price of the dinner and it was delicious! I felt all the prices on the menu were very reasonable.
Many locals were eating at the restaurant and I thought this added to its charm. It is not fancy, but has delicious, reasonably priced food.
I would recommend this restaurant and eat here again if I was in Taos.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    31
    9
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eclectic Decor, brilliant food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

When you enter El Taoseno, you look around and question your decision, mismatched furniture and a '50's look. Wait until you food arrives, it is so tasty. Service is impeccable with very friendly wait staff. Don't let the door fool you the food is 100% tasty!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food - be ready to wait though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Everything we have ever eaten here is delicious. The service is good, but they are slow because of how busy they are.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
2 reviews
“About average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Good food good staff! Didnt have to wait very long! All in all it was good for it being busy our waitress was on top of our needs and what i liked most was how she really catered to our children

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great Food, Local Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

As soon as we walked in we realized this is a restaurant frequented by people who live around Taos, not tourists. It was recommended to us as a great local place to eat and we were not disappointed. Everyone working there was very nice. The food was authentic, filling, and delicious. I really enjoyed the green chile stew. I enjoyed it so much I had my Burracho Burrito smothered in green chiles. If you want an authentic, local, filling place to eat for a reasonable price, stop here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Taoseno also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to El Taoseno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Taoseno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.