We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Harwood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harwood Museum of Art

Harwood Museum of Art
238 Ledoux St., Taos, NM 87571
575-758-9826
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 69 things to do in Taos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Formed in 1923 by Lucy Harwood and several members of the Taos Society of Artists, the Harwood Museum of Art is the second oldest museum in New Mexico. The museum has been affiliated with the University of New Mexico since 1935, and it now boasts the internationally acclaimed Agnes Martin Gallery, galleries exhibiting highlights from the museum's collection of work by the Taos Society of Artists, Taos Moderns, Hispanic Traditions, and contemporary artists working in Taos, and changing exhibitions fulfilling the Harwood's vision to "Bring Taos Arts to the World and World Arts to Taos."
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Love the Harwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I recently visited the Harwood and saw the Oli Shivonen and Black Mountain College exhibitions. I had never heard of Shivonen nor seen his work and was very impressed. Shivonen studied with German Bauhaus leaders at Black Mountain College in North Carolina. His work on display on the main level of the museum is really stupendous and is from the last four years of his life. The sheer visual power of his work blew me away. This is a must-see!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarwoodMuseum, General Manager at Harwood Museum of Art, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Thanks for your review! The Sihvonen exhibition is a great example of the Harwood's commitment to share and celebrate the remarkable artists who have lived and worked in Taos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    24
    7
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque/Taos
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Taos & Visitors are Fortunate to Have Access to Harwood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Attended a group presentation in the new Arthur Bell Auditorium. The Harwood has recently been updated and expanded and the breadth of varied art displays is Amazing. The various galleries have a wide variety of art types and artists displayed. Any show or performance at the new auditorium will be enjoyed. Gifts are available in the gift shop. The Harwood is just a few hundred feet SW of historic Taos Plaza. I'd suggest walking & wandering all the side streets and nooks & crannies for enhancing your enjoyment of your Taos & Harwood visit. May I suggest you need more than just a day in Taos!unm's Harood Museum. Check out their website and Facebook page for up to the minute exhibition details! See you in Taos soon!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarwoodMuseum, General Manager at Harwood Museum of Art, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
So glad that you enjoyed your experience in the Arthur Bell Auditorium. It's been so much fun to see that space come to life via Jazz concerts, simulcasts from European Ballet and Opera Houses and Manhattan's 92nd Street Y, films, and so many other programs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Small, but quite nice, art museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I visited on Saturday, July 24, 2010. The Harwood Museum of Art is a small but really nice art museum. I only spent about 30 minutes here, but it was all good. I particularly enjoyed the Taos Pueblo Photographs, the selection of paintings by the Taos Society of Artists, the Hispanic Traditions Gallery and the Agnes Martin Gallery (which I didn’t get but loved viewing and thinking about). While I don’t know that I’d call this museum a “must see”, it’s pretty close and I do recommend visiting if you enjoy art museums at all. It looked like they were undergoing a major expansion that was scheduled to open in November (so should be open now when I'm posting this review). I know that I’ll be back when I visit Taos in the future, especially since some of the exhibitions are temporary and will be changed. And of course there will be even more pieces to see in the expanded space.

(This is one of 5 museums that is part of the Museum Association of Taos. It cost’s $40 to see each of them separately, but available at each museum is a $25 pass that covers them all. With this pass you have 1 year to make a single visit to each museum.)

Keith

Visited July 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarwoodMuseum, General Manager at Harwood Museum of Art, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We're so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Thanks for taking the time to share it. The expansion is indeed now open, with two beautiful new galleries and an auditorium. We look forward to seeing you again at the Harwood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harwood Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Harwood Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harwood Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.