We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Love Apple

The Love Apple
803 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
(575) 751-0050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Boston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Completely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Love Apple is in a historic building where you enter through the kitchen in the winter. The room is simple but inspired. The food is completely wonderful and interesting. We highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    99
    36
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Christmas dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful small restaurant in an old church. The food and service were superb. We are vegetarians, and there were great options, and the wait staff was super accommodating. We'll definitely return when we go back to Taos

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Deserves its rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had antelope and lamb and the most delicious salad. Every bite was exquisite and the service exceptional. The place is small since it used to be a little church but the lighting and decoration make it very intimate. Luckily we were seated very quickly because the entry is tiny and we felt like sardines before we were led next to the kitchen and into the restaurant. They did have a fire outside and some people waited there but it was 7 degrees so we passed on that experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Little-Known Gem in Taos.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

The Love Apple is so low-key that we weren't sure it was even open. But after visiting a few months ago, we were eager to return. Tonight we returned for a third time and weren't disappointed. The service could have been more attentive and the boeuf burgugnon coulf have contained more beef, but they made it right when it was pointed out. I'd love some California wines added to their list rathrr than just Old World. But sll in all, their farm to table snd locavore concept offers a lovely selevtion of starters, salads, main courses. Anf desserts. Tonight was a special holiday menu which remained true to their clean food philosophy. A must try in Taos. But be warned: reservations are s must, amd they only take cash or checks.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great in every way.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The ambiance in The Love Apple is second to none. Set in an small old church, it is cozy and comfortable. The wait staff are courteous, knowledgeable, and eager to please. The food is to die for. I had the antelope and my wife had the trout - both were delicious. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for an alternative to the run-of-the-mill restaurants you will find on the main drag in Taos.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Love Apple also viewed

 

Been to The Love Apple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Love Apple, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.