We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, interesting menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Meze Restaurant

El Meze Restaurant
1017 Paseo Del Pueblo Norte, Taos, Taos, NM 87571
575-751-3337
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Meze Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hail Creek
Description: We are located in the El Torreon Hacienda built in 1847 which reflects our philosophy, our food and the historical influences of Taos. From June - September we have patio seating under a tent with twinkle lights and the most incredible view of Taos Mountain.
texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great view, interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We ate here during a visit to Taos a couple of years ago and were really looking forward to our dinner. The view remains exquisite and the service was great (included hiking tips!). The food was quite good, though perhaps not as good as we’d remembered. I had the buffalo tamale and my husband the bison short ribs and pozole. Beer was only available in bottles. Both beer and wine selections were limited.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    69
    24
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW! Great Food, Great View, Better Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

When you pull up to El Meze our initial thought was, hummmmm? Boy were we surprised. Once we checked in we were seated on the patio with an outstanding view of Taos Mountain. The patio also houses the herb garden for this fine dining establishment. And lets be clear, if you are looking for New Mexican food, keep going. This is a splendid restaurant that serves local variety, think Trout, Beef, Chicken with locally grown vegetables and all around freshness.

Now to the service. WONDERFUL! Our waiter was Harley Davidson (seriously we checked his license). Harley was very educated on the menu and made wonderful suggestions. His service was exceptional. Blankets are provided if you get cool on the patio and should the temp fall too much out come the heaters. All in all and just a fantastic experience. Well more than we expected. Top 5 meal for my wife and I. Simply Great.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wish I could be a regular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I've had the patio dining experience twice in the summer of 2014 and both times have been outstanding considering both the food and the surrondings. The food selection was unigue, presented well, and the service was attentive but not intrusive. The prices were what one would expect in Taos; high, but consisent with the market. A minor complaint is that the cutlery was cumbersome and felt out of balance which was a distraction. I'm sure I will return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is our first time to Taos and so naturally we want authentic local cuisine. I went on trip adviser and urban spoon to see the comments and to see if they had similar results. They did, this restaurant was at the top of each of their lists. We were first there for dinner and were seated immediately with an open room and great views. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. It is different than what we thought would be on the menu so initially we were a little leery, but when it came we were extremely satisfied. My husband had the tamales and I had the pasta which was vegetarian. We shared because they were both excellent and I even put some of the green chili sauce from his tamales on my pasta just to add spice. If you are looking for old school southwestern or Mexican this is not your place but if you want New Mexican with a culinary flare this is your place!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Didn't quite deliver”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I'll start by saying the location is quaint. The outdoor patio has a very nice view of the mountains. All in all the place is a bit run down, the inside small and no nonsense so if weather permits I'd choose the outdoor seating. Service was very good, server attentive and personable. I do appreciate that El Meze uses local and seasonal products, so I opted for the beans and short ribs for the appetizers. The beans were under seasoned and played more like a side dish than an appetizer...the short ribs though tasty were also under seasoned and the sauce was a bit on the chalky side. The Posole was very good as was the tamale. I think it's no frills dining, good local fare, but not amazing as the reviews led me to believe. In addition the red wine was served chilled which I found odd.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Meze Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Meze Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Meze Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.