We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun God Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sun God Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sun God Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Taos
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Could have been very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

A comfortable room in a main road motel 2 miles from the centre. Newer sheets and towels and improved housekeping would significantly enhance this property.

Upstairs rooms at the back 142-7 & 154-9 are worth the additional $5 we paid.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    58
    28
    25
    21
See reviews for
31
61
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nederland, Colorado
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I initially booked 1 night at the Sun God Lodge, but had such a pleasant and peaceful experience there, I stayed another night. The proprietors and their employees could not have been more helpful and courteous. The place was perfect -- centrally located yet set back enough for peace and quiet. The hot tub was great, the amenities great and the folks, particularly, Joe were so much better than I ever could have imagined . . . and all for an extremely affordable price for just about any budget. Oh, yeah, my dog absolutely loved the place too -- probably why I stayed another night! Seriously, you will not go wrong staying at the Sun God. Any time I am in Taos, I will always, without exception, stay here at the Sun God. I really loved my stay there, and the folks running the place were some of the nicest, most helpful folks you'll ever meet.

Room Tip: Any room will serve ya well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I had the best experience at this charming adobe style lodge. The management and employees went above and beyond. For example, I asked for a comfortable "reading chair" and they brought me the managers own wing back chair! My room was spotless and comfortable. It was quiet at night and in a great location. I cannot recommend this great little lodge more strongly. MKB

Room Tip: My room was in the back across from the hot tub...great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Really decent and good price. Friendly, attuned staff. Room was just fine. The hot tub is outside and tiny. Four people maximum. A real bonus is the local coffee shop across the street. Excellent coffee and breakfast offerings there. I definitely recommend this motel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I came to the Sun God Lodge after having the misfortune of wrecking my car in Taos. The proprietors were incredibly friendly, and after learning of my situation, they went above and beyond to accommodate me and to help me through my troubling situation. It is a lovely little property and I found my room to be cozy and comfortable and a great value. Thanks for everything, Gasper!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had a great rate for last minute at high season. I prefer to support Mom and Pop establishments but the room needed a thorough vacuuming. I did not get bed bugs.. good luck, next tenant. They will not earn my repeat business.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peralta, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have stayed here several times and enjoy staying in the back near the outdoor hot tub. Even in winter it was a short walk back to my room. Being far from the busy highway with another building in between made it a very quiet and peaceful stay. Right across the road from Walmart makes it easy to grab any shopping items while you are there. Wifi signal was very strong and they may have added a second router to serve the back of the property. Service at the front desk was prompt, friendly and helpful. For the low price this is a very comfortable place to stay in Taos. Maintenance is falling behind in some areas and the potholes in the parking lot need to be filled.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back near the hot tub. All rooms allow parking outside your door. No elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
Charming, Mid-r...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Charming, Bouti...
Show More
1.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
Free internet...
Show More
1.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 18 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Whitten Inn
Whitten Inn
#12 of 18 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun God Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.