We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away in Taos.!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sun God Lodge to your Saves list
Sun God Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great get away in Taos.!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Owners Cindy and Jasper were very congenial, professional and did everything to make my stay there a great one. Recommendations of local business es and directions to Ojo Caliente made my stay even more enjoyable.The room was quiet, clean and had everything I needed for one or more night's stay. The courtyard makes for a very welcome stay. I highly recommend the Sun God Lodge.
See you next time Cindy and Jasper!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    63
    31
    27
    25
See reviews for
35
71
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a 5-night stay in one of the rooms at the back across from the hot tub; really enjoyable. The room was a little smallish for 5 nights, but clean and comfortable. TV worked great, staff was friendly and front courtyard pretty with shade trees and blooming flowers. If I return to Taos I might try to stay again at Sun God. My only criticism is that housekeeping only supplies 2 bath-size towels daily, not enough if you and companion shower and use the hot tub both on same day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back with AC, some rooms apparently don't have AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we have stayed here several times over the years and loved it. It has the old style courtyard in front and a newer 2 story units in the back. we like to stay in the back units they have air conditioning and are close to the hot tub. very quiet and pleasant rooms. this time it seemed that the maintenance was slipping a little. the paint was patchy where the walls had been scrubbed by the bathroom tile and the towel rack was falling off the wall. the rooms were very clean and staff very helpful.

Room Tip: we like to stay in the back. very quiet and private. close to the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a quiet place to get a good night's sleep. The hotel is located on the main street across from Wal-Mart, and is especially convenient if you are wanting to visit Ranchos de Taos.

Our room was large and included a microwave and frig, and came with dishes. The room was clean: clean sheets, clean bathtub, and clean floor.

The hot tub was open and clean the night we were there. The wifi was down due to the provider replacing the buried cable. It should be completed in around 3 weeks.

The best part about this hotel is the staff. The front desk agent, manager, and even the maintenance guy were friendly, professional, and helpful. The front desk agent recommended a few events taking place the night we were there. The following day, the manager and maintenance man made several good recommendations about where to eat.

The staff was also extremely accommodating to infants with special needs (infant is a preemie who must have a VERY clean environment. His room was exceptionally clean.)

Room Tip: If you have an infant with special needs - let the staff know. They are really accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed at this motel only one night and cancelled the second night because of soiled linen on the bed and mold in the bath tub area. The area outside was lovely but there is a need to do some serious cleaning.

Very nice people in the front office and gave good advice on restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After checking in with a super helpful and friendly desk clerk, we motored to the back of the property and parked right below our second floor motel room. Large room with two queens, mini-kitchen, air-conditioner, large window, great view, nice clean hot tub and very quiet. We also liked the wide deck like walkway in front of the room, it was like having a balcony. We hate being sealed up in the new sterile box like hotel rooms, so this retro motel was a delight. Our mattresses could have had a little more fluff and we had one burned out light bulb, but because the price was reasonable it was no big deal. The managers are a major plus for this hotel, they were superior. We will definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: The rooms are varied and different, the managers will work with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Sun God has a good location, nicely sized rooms, and reasonable prices. However, there is too much deferred maintenance, sloppy housekeeping and problematic staff to be assured of a satisfactory stay.

After two recent stays where both reservations were mishandled, unemptied wastebaskets, burned out light bulbs, a lumpy bed and a truly incompetent front desk person, I can suggest that Sun God should be a "last choice" for a stay in Taos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun God Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.