We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun God Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun God Lodge to your Saves list
Sun God Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taos
TtENNESSEE
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Everything you need ,clean, large and comfortable quiet room.Price was resonable also

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    78
    40
    27
    29
See reviews for
47
82
35
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

This lodging in midst of much needed repair and updating. bedspreads and drapes need replacing and missed no hot tub. On plus side the staff was very helpful and nice. Room was clean. Quiet most of the time. My 5 lb dog was welcomed and she met 5 others of staff and guests all dogs were well behaved. If you want a relaxing no frill place beginning at $55 per night this is it. One time fee for pets $20

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Checking in was a pleasure. Elliott was very pleasant and answered every question I had with what I thought were appropriate and adequate responses. BUT, once we got everything out of the car and into the room (a little shabby, old beds & mattresses, slightly stained carpet, but no odor) went to dinner and came back to relax...........air conditioning didn't work - at. all. Elliott came to check it out and offered to switch us to a different room, but couldn't guarantee that it would work there. After we said never mind and he left. Small 19" analog TV. Signed on and tried to use the internet...kept getting knocked off and very low (2-3 bars) strength..even though when I checked in and asked, he said they'd just upgraded a month earlier and it was real strong. No tissue paper in the room...heat was on and couldn't be turned off. Finally had it and went up to the office with my computer to show bad connection, which of course immediately acquired a very strong signal. Told Elliot about the heat and the terrible internet connection and requested a better rate for this night and to cancel the second night. He immediately did as I asked and kept a great attitude and seemed really dismayed that everything was soooooo bad. Rooms, but especially bathrooms need remodeling - nowhere to put both our night kits on bathroom counter (no counter) not much room for even one. Rooms are good size but need total remodeling. Wouldn't recommend, and won't ever stay again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We arrived at the Lodge around 9pm and check-in was pretty swift. The Lodge itself is pretty quaint and cute, but then again I much prefer "quaint" and "cute" to "fancy" and "impersonal"....

The first room we received the key to did not have a working television.
We were given the keys to a 2nd room, which had an opened beer can left on the table.
Upon our 3rd try, we discovered a room with a bed half-made, dirty towels on the floor and crumbs on the carpet.
At that point, the staff decided to put us out of our misery and upgraded us their fanciest suite that is probably bigger than a lot of New York 2 bedroom apartments, minus the Southwestern decor.

All in all, it was a nice place to stay at, despite the somewhat rocky start. Room was clean (well the one we ended up in anyway) and staff was nice, if only a little bit "over it".

Oh, and they have free candy in the lobby. Who needs a hottub when there is candy galore?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have been stopping at Sun God Lodge for at least 15 years and always enjoyed the ambiance. This year we came in on a road trip with our dog.

We were advised that there were some "dog friendly" rooms which required an additional $20 pet fee. We went to check the "pet friendly" room in the back of the lodge. The carpet was a dingy and smelly It may have been "pet friendly" but it definitely was not dog-owner friendly. I don't know what management was doing with the $20 pet fee but it sure didn't appear to be used for cleaning the rooms! To us the pet fee appeared to be a rip-off.

We went elsewhere and found another hotel with much larger clean rooms - no odor and only a $10 dollar pet fee. I understand that pets require additional cleaning and am willing to pay for it but don't charge me an exorbitant fee and not even both to keep the room clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

i went to the Sun God Lodge during 'off season' and had asked for a room in the back courtyard~away from the road. perfect for me and my older dog. The room was quite small, but cozy and adequate. The bed was old, but it was very quiet and peaceful. No frills, but for the price I would go there again.

Room Tip: In back courtyard area, farthest from road . You hear NO traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
248 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

this motel has several different room types so what you pay varies by room type and time of year, with weekdays being cheaper. i only paid $55 for a single, older room. it was small but nice and everything was clean. the in-room coffee and amenities were good quality. the double bed was ok. there's no air conditioning but there is a ceiling fan. as with most cheap motels, the walls are thin. there is expanded cable tv but no desk, table or chair so the only place to sit was the bed.
check-in was slow and i had to change rooms because the phone didn't work in the first room. then the ice machine also wasn't working so i had to go to the office to report it and get ice from a cooler there. i also asked for a wakeup call but never received it. so the motel has problems but the front desk people were always nice to deal with.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun God Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun God Lodge

Address: 919 Paseo Del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun God Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the original adobe, Taos style boutique hotels, built around a large grass courtyard lined with beautiful old trees. The Sun God has a large selection of accommodations from one bed rooms, to spacious suites, all furnished with hand made Taoseño style solid wood furniture, and decorated with local art. The deluxe rooms around the rear courtyard are well away from street noise and close to the hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sun God Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun God Hotel Taos
Adobe Sun God Hotel
Adobe Sun God Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun God Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.