We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sagebrush - Began horrible but finished good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sagebrush Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1508 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Sagebrush - Began horrible but finished good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Upon checkin at Sagebrush, we were given a room I described as the dungen. It was in the original building facing courtyard, small, dark, with a full size bed. Bathroom had toilet and tub. The sink was outside of bathroom. Had a fireplace and fridge. The room was quiet probably due to the adobe walls, but had no cell phone service in room. At our request, we moved to another room after one became available. This room was in one of the two story buildings towards the rear of the property. Room was much larger with a king bed. A big improvement. Staff at hotel were helpful. Complimentary breakfast was very good. All in all, a good stay once we moved to king room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    140
    83
    52
    30
See reviews for
112
149
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I stayed 2 nights at the Sagebrush while in Taos for a wedding and was pleasantly surprised by the quality and service at this historic inn. I honestly was somewhat concerned after reading some other reviews the night before my trip. However, after staying there, I have concluded that whomever wrote negatives reviews must have not yet adjusted to the slooooooow pace of Taos. Yes, they move at a different speed than others may, but once in town for a few hours you slow down too and enjoy the relaxed, unhurried pace of the town and this classic inn.

The architecture and building materials of the inn are a treat to look at. Large timbers brought in from the mountains during construction in the 1920s are the backbone of this overbuilt (by today's standards) inn. Mature hardwood trees grace a grassy courtyard - yes, grass and old trees rather than cement or asphalt.

Rooms were clean and quiet. Not modern, no. The sink was separate from the bathroom in my room, but the shower head was modern "rain" style and cool. There is a flat-screen TV hung on the wall, so you're good for local channels and HBO - but no CNN or Weather channel. I never once heard the Saturday night dance that is a local tradition at the old-style dance area of the inn's bar.

The breakfast is a wonderful addition to one's stay. It is included in the lodging fee and is cooked to order, large pot of coffee left on the table, and the breakfast room is charming and steeped in history. The outdoor pool was clean and enjoyable.

If one truly needs a sterile, utterly predictable experience of a chain motel, then go there. Otherwise kick back and enjoy the old-style class and charm of this lovely inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

After reading mixed reviews, we decided to stay at the Sagebrush. It is located outside downtown Taos, but it's only a short drive into town. The hotel and restaurant complex are an older facility but it was nicely maintained. Our room was clean and spacious and had a fireplace. The furnishings were interesting and attractive. Breakfast is included and is cooked to order and served by friendly staff. . We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant while we were there. We did discover Antonio's in town and suggest you check it out! And, of course, don't miss the Taos Pueblo.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

As several people have said on this site, the Sagebrush Inn has a lot of southwestern atmosphere and charm, the rates are very reasonable in price $80 a night for 2 beds and breakfast) but it needs updating. I got a sliver on the peeling barrister! That will give you an idea. However, breakfast was great and included, the room had a kiva fireplace and a double bed plus a Murphy bed and an extra sink in the main bedroom. The internet computer was soooo slow but free. It is a little outside of the town of Taos but on the main highway and right across the street from the best municiple tourist bureau that I have ever used. Very helpful staff, free coffee, clean bathrooms and the Taos trolley ride leaves from there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup, NM
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Beware!! A foul wind blows through Taos, New Mexico! At the Sagebrush, you may face an incompetent, disingenuous staff and negligent management, from whom this review will undoubtedly draw comment. Allow me to elaborate.

I booked a room for my family at the Sagebrush Inn a month in advance of a state conference sponsored by a national organization that trains New Mexico educators. My team leader booked at a nearby hotel. When I asked him why, he said in his experience the quality of rooms at the Sagebrush did not match that of surrounding hotels. Foolishly, I came to my own conclusions on the basis of their websites.

When my family arrived at the Sagebrush after a full day of driving with our two-month-old infant, we found that our “deluxe suite” smelled of mildew and hadn’t been dusted in weeks. A smarm of flies covered the far wall , where a door opened onto a porch that faced a busy construction site. room listed as a $149/night value! My wife justifiably compared it to a grave. I immediately called the front desk, and they sent a maintenance worker with a roll of fly paper!

Once it was clear to us the Sagebrush did not plan to offer us alternate accommodations or purchase such accommodations for us from a local competitor, we began frantically searching for a room. We were five hours from home with a crying baby, and I was due to present in front of a hundred people the following day. Within minutes, I reach a sympathetic person at the Hampton Inn (same owners?) who suggested we could find a clean room at a third hotel. Within minutes of arriving at the Sagebrush, we checked out.

The next day came the big surprise! The Sagebrush had authorized our debit card, causing our balance to go negative when combined with the charges from the second hotel where they had forced us to seek refuge. When I confronted the staff at the Sagebrush, they arranged to meet me the following morning to discuss the issue.
When I arrived, the manager accepted no responsibility for any charges I incurred as a result of her inability to offer us an inhabitable room. She just pointed to a sign at the counter saying it was company policy to authorize a credit/debit card at time of check in and that this would show up on debit cards as a temporary charge. (Had it been there the day before?) This was her final word on the subject. As a result of their debit authorization, I stand to pay $125 in overdraft charges!
In summary, avoid the Sagebrush Inn in Taos.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
962 reviews 962 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 323 cities Reviews in 323 cities
1,076 helpful votes 1,076 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

When we checked in, the woman on the desk required our license plate number. This is the only place we have stayed that required it. Normally, I wouldn't mind but my wife had to park away from the door entrance because some creeps had a huge van parked in front taking up the spaces. This made me have to walk over to the parking area in order to get the damn license plate number. It's hard to argue with these pencil pushers because this is the only authority they will ever have in life. Most do not have the intelligence or drive to work up to a managerial position. I also asked about wifi and she said that it had been down for a couple of days and that their coumputers were also down. How many hotels put up with that? It's time to get a new wifi company. When we arrived at our room, we found that they had given us a "junior suite" at the same price as a regular room because they didn't have any more rooms available. The first thing we encountered when walking in the door was trash which wasn't taken out when the room was, or should have been, cleaned. Then we encountered flies and other bugs and where they came from, I have no idea. We spent some time killing them before we unpacked and, following this, kept killing them most of the evening. Some survived through the night but we got some more when morning came. The carpet in the room was dirty and the plaster by the bathtub and in areas of the bedroom was coming off.The whole place looked dark, dirty, and seedy. It looked liked a set of rooms that weren't used much except by the staff for quickies with each other. In the catalog, which is in each room, several types of breakfasts are listed which are available to the guests as that is included with the price of a room. The next morning, we were shown into a room next to the dining room where a buffet was set up. This consisted of unappetizing scrambled eggs, link sausage, and dried out french toast and potatoes. In the dining room, there was a bar with yoghurt and cereal. Along with coffee & juice, we had the yoghurt and cereal. The entire experience at this s***thole of a hotel was unpleasant and I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

We stayed at the Sagebrush Inn while exploring the Taos Area (museums and galleries for me, whitewater rafting for my husband and 15-year old). The staff was so courteous and helpful, and while the decor was definitely dated, our room was clean and spacious. We'll definitely come back, maybe next time for some skiing! The location is not right downtown, but then again neither are the prices.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagebrush Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.