We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast - okay rooms - pet friendly for a $$$$$$!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sagebrush Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1508 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Washington, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast - okay rooms - pet friendly for a $$$$$$!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed at the Sagebrush Inn on July 20th through 22nd. The best part was the hot breakfast that was included with your stay... it wasn't just muffins, juice and yogurt ;) It was a bit pricey for not being as dated as it was. It was clean and we stayed in a queen/king room and it was roomy and it had two nice flat new flat screens. So as far as the basics it was fine. However, the WIFi was horrible, constantly dropping a signal. The fancy TV's were static analogue cable (defeats the purpose of a fancy flat screen). These small things may not matter, but IF you are traveling with children it can be a deal breaker!!!! Upon check in we were giving the wrong room, so when the ladies arrived to check in they found us in their room! Luckily the ladies were nice enough to take the room that was meant to be ours. Lastly they advertise as a "pet friendly" hotel. We pre-paid at check- in. Upon check out I found where we had been charged an additional $84. I asked why, the girl told me it was bc we had a pet, the room we were in was not a pet friendly room (do the math on that one - they put us in that room) and we did not disclose we had a pet - I booked on booking.com and it didn't say anywhere about a pet disclosure clause! So they tried to charge us a $50 cleaning fee and $9 / night pet fee PLUS tax. Our issue was resolved because of a very sweet girl named Brianna, who saw it was an error on their part - refunded the $50 charge (we stilled paid the $18 pet fee) I highly advise reading all their reading all the fine print! Next time I think I will try another place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking a moment and writing a review of the Sagebrush Inn. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward in seeing you again should you ever find yourself in Taos again.

Respectfully,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    130
    74
    44
    25
See reviews for
89
137
20
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Like most of the hotels/motels in Taos, this one is just old and worn out. Ricky and Lucy Ricardo stay there. Property hasnt seen any upkeep in years as the owners arent spending anything to keep it up. The website photos are misleading or taken 30 years ago. Taos is just a dirty little tourist trap and this is one of many "bargains" for a hotel. The room was dirty, smelled like bleach. Water pressure was terrible, carpet was dirty. Pillows were horrible. A/C unit froze us at night but room to stuffy without. Only saving point was the breakfast. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
I am truly saddened that you weren't able to appreciate the beauty that is Taos. That being said, we welcome all comments good and bad, it's what makes us such a great hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of Taos and the Sagebrush Inn.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I was a little leery of staying here because the price was so reasonable. I guess technically it's a motel, but feels so much more than that. The rooms are clean, the amenities plentiful, and the grounds are nicely laid out and landscaped. Despite the fact that Sagebrush is on the main road, we found it very peaceful and relaxing. Ask for a room at the back, away from the main road, and upstairs on the 2nd floor. There were a few glitches: our room was not cleaned when we walked in, but that gave us a good excuse to ask for another room upstairs in a better location. We checked in on a busy Fiesta weekend, and the staff seemed a bit stressed, but other than that a big thumbs up. And a good free breakfast too!

Room Tip: See above. Ask for a 2nd floor room at the back, facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we sincerely appreciate the time it took to do the review and look forward in seeing you in the future.

Sincwerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark,Delaware
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The band on the weekend was a nice perk. The room was spacious and we had a good night sleep there. The bed was great! Shower was very nice. The other best feature was the made to order breakfast here. Hot and not the usual crap breakfast. Good food, real food!! The problem here is that you can't reach the front desk when you dial zero. You have to walk over to the front desk in the next building because they bought another hotel next door and their systems are not compatible.

One other thing we didn't like was that the maid let us put our things in our room that was not prepared for us and we locked our stuff in there. When we came back from driving around our room was open and anyone could have stolen our luggage. We were upset about this.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
On behalf of our staff, we sincerely thank you for writing such a nice review and equally apologize for the error on our housekeeping department. You concerns were shared with the staff. Thank you again for your response and we do hope to see you sometime again in the future.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were told to expect an "awful" property but we were pleasantly surprised. My friend and I shared a small suite - in the newer building and we stayed three nights and it was quiet and clean. We only had breakfast in the restaurant and it was fine. I would rate this property as better than average - the price is very reasonable - for a small increase, upgrade to a suite, but you won't be in the historic part of the property. I would rate this property as a good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
We can't thank you enough for deciding to stay with us despite what you heard. As new management, we are diligently working to erase any negativity surrounding the Sagebrush Inn. In fact, we are in the beginning stages of a substantial remodel and I would love for you to come back in the future as we're only going to get much, much better. If you should find yourself returning to Taos, please contact me directly at mark.najera@prismhotels.com so I can personally take care of your reservations.

Sincerely,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

So, we just stayed here while in Taos last week. This place is in decline and it's pretty obvious. When you enter the property (it's huge) and drive around a bit, it becomes obvious that the upkeep is not great. We saw no maintenance workers on the property the entire time we were there. I honestly wouldn't be surprised if this place closes soon. There also seem to be entire sections of rooms that are closed off and not being used any more.

Other cons:
1. The main pool was covered and closed. No explanation.
2. Rooms on 1st floor are NOT quiet. We could hear EVERY single foot step of the people above us walking around. It was so bad. The old adobe flooring really needs an update. It literally kept us up at night and woke us way too early. We are from NYC and pretty used to noise from neighbors, but hearing these footsteps above us was exceptionally loud and frustrating.
3. Room might not be ready when you check in. Check in is at 3pm. We checked in then, and were given our room key. We proceeded to our room but the door was open and the room was dirty. The woman cleaning the room was in the room next door and she saw us and was like, "Wait. They already gave you your key? OH my god. WHY didn't they tell me? It won't be ready for another 30 minutes at least..." We went back to main desk and let them know and asked if they had another room that might be ready for us. They said no, that they were completely booked so we just had to wait around...

PRO:
1. The complimentary breakfast was amazing. It's like a sit down restaurant- you can choose from eggs or pancakes and they bring it to you. Delish!

Room Tip: If you stay here, get a room on the 2nd floor to avoid noise of footsteps above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We welcome both good and bad comments as it only helps to improve our operation, which is what helps us to continue to be one of the best hotels in Taos! I have shared your comments with the staff and sincerely apologize for our shortcomings.

Best Regards,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansbury Park, Ut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I found the Sagebrush in to be an OK experience. If you are looking for a luxury stay this is not the place. We booked a fireplace room. I think we paid a little extra for it. Not really worth it. The hotel seemed a little run down and not overly clean.

The staff was very friendly, the food was very good, the friday night bar band was fun. The bed was comfy.

If you are a 5* traveler this hotel is not for you. If your a 3* traveler it should be fine. Would I stay there again. Yes.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark N, General Manager at Sagebrush Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I do apologize if we didn't meet your expectations and do invite you to give us a second opportunity if your ever in Taos again. Please feel free to contact me at mark.najera@prismhotels.com so I may take care of your reservations personally.

Respectfully,

Mark Najera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sagebrush Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagebrush Inn & Suites

Address: 1508 Paseo del Pueblo Sur, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagebrush Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sagebrush Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagebrush Inn Hotel Taos
Sagebrush Hotel Taos
Taos Sagebrush Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sagebrush Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.