We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mabel Dodge Luhan House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mabel Dodge Luhan House to your Saves list
Mabel Dodge Luhan House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   240 Morada Lane, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Nipawin, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful, beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in the solarium. It was so beautiful looking out on the stars and the vast New Mexico landscape. We kept a window open and were serenaded by crickets. Lovely. The breakfast was gourmet!!...absolutely delicious. The best breakfast I have had for a long time.
We had never been in Taos before....it was a great experience. The only thing is that you need to drive downtown after dark....it is about .5 of a mile from the square and it is very dark at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    22
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
30
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in the Solarium -- a totally unique experience. After climbing very steep stairs we entered a room of windows on all 4 sides (no drapes or blinds here). The views were great & a light breeze blew when we opened the windows. We awoke 3 times during the night to watch silver clouds across a full moon, and then a star lit sky. The bed was comfy and the attached bath was small but adequate. The grounds are beautiful & fun to inspect with many quiet, surprising places to relax. The common rooms are full of books, scrapbooks and artifacts from Mabel's residency. The adobe home itself is fascinating to explore & one can imagine the stimulating conversations of the many artists, writers and other famous people who frequented this home in its heyday. Cookies, coffee & tea in the afternoon, and a big, homemade breakfast were "icing on this cake". An all together superlative experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay in the Juniper House but after the first night we switched over to the main house in the Ansel Adams room. We would agree that the staff were wonderful and that you won't find a better breakfast than the one you are served in the dining room! The living areas are lovely and have some books for you to peruse at your leisure about the Luhan family and some of their famous guests. I agree that this inn would not be for some travelers as the flagstones are hard to walk on, the window coverings are a type of eyelet material that offer NO privacy (how hard would it be to put up pull down shades behind the lovely curtains?), the pillows that we had in both rooms are some of the flattest I have EVER slept on (and last summer I did a trek in the middle of nowhere in Ethiopia where the pillows were pretty darn flat!). Having commented on these items we would stay here again but we would prefer the main house, we will bring our own pillows and a couple of large beach towels to hang on the curtain rods for more privacy!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I spent a week at Mabel Dodge on a group writing retreat. The main house is a 200 year old adobe built by Mabel Dodge and her soon to be husband Tony Luhan, a local Native American. The property borders on the Taos Pueblo and is surrounded by the Taos mountains. The landscape is high desert, with sweeping vistas of the Pueblo, a backdrop of mountains, and lots of birch trees. There was frequent thunder and heat lightning in the evenings. The amount of rain, however, was about what you'd get if you disturbed a dew-soaked tree and no more!

There is a good sized classroom space with chairs, meditation cushions, two washrooms, and a wood floor. The bedrooms vary quite a bit in size and character and are scattered in the main house, the classroom (Juniper) building, the gate house, etc. Mabel's room is wonderful but it is a very narrow staircase with two spots where you have to duck your head to ascend. The bathroom on the 2nd floor has a fabulous claw foot tub with windows painted by D H Lawrence and B Shaw. I was in "Spud Johnson's room" in the oldest part of the house. The windows are screened but otherwise hanging together with old paint. Everything is clean and yet worn. The chandelier in my room was missing two bulbs and two more were burnt out of the six! The bathroom is adequate with a beautifully tiled walk in shower in the Spuds room. Bring your own hairdryer!

There are several common spaces, perfect for reading or quiet conversations. The living room of the main house has a library just off it, and then meanders into the dining room (one table each of 4, 6, 8, and 12). There is a small flagstone patio with a built-in BBQ spit and traditional adobe oven as well as some wrought iron tables and chairs as well.

The kitchen outdoes itself. We had wonderful breakfast - bacon, turkey sausage, some sort of egg fritatta, croissant, muffins, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, and oatmeal every morning. Lunch and dinner were simple -- a tasty entree, vegetables, fresh bread, a different salad every time and dessert (the berry merigues with chocolate sauce were amazing!). There was fresh fruit, trail mix and tea / coffee / ice water out all day.

There is absolutely no air conditioning and summer time temperatures are about 90-100, with it cooling to the low 70s in the evening (end of July). Many rooms have fans and windows to create a cross-draft. The elevation is a bit high (7,000 feet) and some people definitely feel the effect of the dry, thin air. Lots of ants and earwigs but I didn't see any insects that bite.

The house and grounds are worth a visit to see the traditional adobe architecture, period furnishings from the 1920s, and hear the stories of Mabel's utopian creative vision, who else stayed there from among the literary, cultural and artistic elites. Georgia O'Keefe painted here. Writers from Willa Cather, D H Lawrence, and Dennis Hopper lived here.

It is a 15 minute (but very hot and dusty) walk to the Taos main plaza, lots of shops, galleries, and restaurants. This place is best for revitalization in the desert. There is a portico and a pergola with places to sit outside in the shade.

The staff are wonderful - caring and very personable. The buildings are so interesting, with many highly creative carved or painted doors, surprising pieces of art, and comfortable places to lounge in good conversation. A great place to get away and really focus on a project.

The cons: it is quite hard to get to Taos without a rental car. You can fly into Alberquerque, New Mexico and then it's about a three hour drive north. Sante Fe is a much nicer little city and closer (about 1.5 hours to Taos) but its airport is served by fewer airlines.

Also, this place is not for people with any sort of mobility disability. The paths and walkways are extremely uneven (imbedded stones), it is an incline up 10 or so stairs from the parking to the main house, and the trip from the dining room to the classroom also involves uneven walkways, a steep decline, and then pea gravel paths. It is pretty much impossible to roll a wheeled suitcase anywhere! The doorways are low and narrow, in the traditional style, and I can't see how someone using a wheelchair would manage at all. The most accessible rooms (once you get to the main house) are the oldest rooms - Georgia O'Keefe and Spuds are two side-by-side double twin rooms with accessible showers and views out to the Pueblo. This area is an artists' mecca and the Taos Pueblo, a world heritage site, is a short drive away as well.

Other idiocyncracies: this is heritage site and the house is open to the public. People do wander through and poke their heads in the doors. There are at least three dogs resident in the living room, dining room and yes, even the kitchen from time to time. There is free wireless internet in the living room and library. Celluar phone coverage is spotty on the property. The vibe is turn off, power down, and do something creative while you are here. If you go, enjoy!

Room Tip: If you're not keen on the heat, choose a room on ground floor of the oldest part of the house wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abiquiu, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Went by for a visit yesterday, it looks like a Mexican haunted house! Really in disrepair, weeds everywhere. The building looks like something from the Adams Family, ready to fall down. I don't see the attraction at all.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent the night here one hot July night. We got "Tony's room", and really enjoyed the porch to just hang out on listening to crickets. Obviously this will not suit everyone, but if you need to de-stress your life. This is your kind of place.
It feels like you are walking into someone's house and you are made to feel at home. We walked around the complex and heard lovely music coming from the convention center. You can see how people the likes of Georgia O'Keefe, Ansel Adams, Margaret Sanger, Carl Jung, DH Lawrence, Willa Cather and other notables would have found this inspiring for their writing, painting and just relaxing. Our bathroom windows were painted by DH Lawrence!
The breakfast is just remarkable and I could have overeaten easily, so pace yourself. You need strength to go to town and shop or go to Taos Pueblo.
Make no mistake - this is a historical house (National Register) and it is a very special place. But it also has steep and narrow stairs (painted with local rug patterns), low doorways, and steps up or down into almost every room. Plan to be charmed and delighted; and part of that charm some would call inconvenience.

Room Tip: Check out the webpage because rooms vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Staying in the Mabel Dodge Luhan House has been a desire for many years. I attended a workshop andstayed in the Willa Cather room, selected because it was in the original building, but on the first floor. The stay was more than I'd hoped it would be. The Lodge staff is extremely customer-oriented; responsive, laid-back and helpful. The food is wonderful; creatively and tastefully seasoned with fresh herbs. The rooms in the lodge retain their original simplicity, but have been refurbished to provide the comfort of a private bath; the shower is hot, the beds are comfy. No TV and no landline in-room phone (cell worked well). Beautiful quiet. Wi-fi is available in the living room area. It's a treat to be here; not for all travelers, and certainly not for those who need all the amenities of a Hilton. But it's centrally located, within walking distance of downtown, galleries and restaurants; a beautiful alternative to more conventional places to stay.

Room Tip: Visitors with knee or other problems that might be exacerbated by climbing narrow stairs should ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mabel Dodge Luhan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mabel Dodge Luhan House

Address: 240 Morada Lane, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mabel Dodge Luhan House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, rambling adobe hotel that was once the heart of the Taos literary scene, and whose former owner enticed D.H.Lawrence to move to Taos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mabel Dodge Luhan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mabel Dodge Luhan House Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mabel Dodge Luhan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.