We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location on the square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fonda de Taos to your Saves list
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 South Plaza, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location on the square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

An older hotel with a great location on the square, Hotel La Fonda de Taos staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and nicely done in Southwestern style. We had a kiva fireplace in our suite which was a nice touch. There is no restaurant but you can get coffee and snacks at the cafe in the lobby and you are a short walk to many restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: There is a step up to the bathroom - watch your step!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    62
    25
    8
    9
See reviews for
28
90
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have a problem calling it a hotel as it is not a hotel and neither a motel as there is no breakfast facilities, only a free coffee service at the Starbucks in the lobby, however it is very limiting on the complimentary coffee selection and considering the hotel rate this aspect is poor.
Apart from the above comment everything else was as indicated in the individual rating selection. Of course the location was excellent

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I am from New Mexico so I have known about the La Fonda Hotels throughout our state and they have a great reputation. They are very nicely furnished in a New Mexican style without taking away from the unique decor and atmosphere they are known for.
The Hotel La Fonde de Taos was a 2 day stay at Christmas time. They are located on the plaza of Taos and that was very special. I worried about the convenience to restaurants and
galleries but found many near by.

The rooms are small but very nice. My room had a fireplace, TV, desk and a very nice comfortable bed. The hotel was very quite! There was a Starbucks on site and a restaurant at the hotel.

The only difficult part I found was getting my luggage to and from my car as the parking lot
for the hotel is in the rear of the hotel property and a small walk to the front door. There is
a side door that can be used but I still found it a small inconvenience.

It was festive and fun!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here though it was a bit different from our average hotel stay. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. We had a living room with kiva, which I loved!, but there is no natural light in the living room. The only window was in the bedroom and it overlooked the alley that leads to the parking lot in back. Noise was never an issue, however, fireplace smoke and one night the scent of skunk perfumed the room. There was a step up into the bathroom which was adequate, though not a lot of storage. I loved the tile but the toilet, sink, etc., looked very dated. There was a small sink and refrigerator in the living room which came in handy. The hotel was well kept and has wonderful public seating areas, one with books and games. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is great, especially for walking around town. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Dated but well maintained hotel with excellent staff. Very clean functional room.
Quiet and everything worked. Was a welcome stay after Sante Fe experience. All staff was very helpful and gad fireplace was an extra.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

La Fonda is nicely located on the central square. The bar and restaurant are pleasant places to retreat to. Paying for parking in the back of the hotel is worthwhile, as parking in Taos can be a problem. The rooms upstairs and in the back are the quietest. The more expensive rooms facing the plaza can be very noisy, mostly thanks to loud motorbikes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boulder co
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is the only hotel on the plaza, but there are many other choices within a short walking distance. In my view, it is overpriced. The room was nothing special. The TP was cheap. I was on the second floor. Unbeknownst to me, staff live on the 3rd floor. I can testify that they get up at 5 am, so plan to wake up early. The walls of the room were thin, so you hear everything that goes on in the next room. The common areas are nice. Mosaics Restaurant on site is excellent. As a guest, you can get coffee and the like from the coffee shop on the ground floor. There is a little DH Lawrence art exhibit that was interesting, and the woman who showed it to me was quite knowledgeable about it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Address: 108 South Plaza, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fonda de Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.