We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful small hotel in the center of everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fonda de Taos to your Saves list
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 South Plaza, Taos, NM 87571   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful small hotel in the center of everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This is a lovely small hotel with great architecture. It has a family-run feel. Our kids enjoyed exploring all the staircases in the hotel. We had a suite with a bedroom and living room with pull out sofa for 2 adults and 2 kids. The room was quiet and comfortable. Food at the restaurant was good, and the coffee and hot chocolate at the coffee shop are complementary for guests!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    53
    24
    8
    9
See reviews for
27
82
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed in the 3rd floor balcony room. Beautiful , views of plaza , fresh air, great bed. Little noisey on weekend , but just shut the window for sweet mountian dreams...

The desk people and the coffee shop people are the best ! Great visit and hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desertio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Hotel La Fonda in Taos is located along the south side of the plaza, well within walking distance of the main shopping district in town. Under one name or another, this hotel has been providing lodgings to weary travelers for well over a century. And it has the lobby to prove it!

Rooms are clean and comfortable, with views (depending of course) onto the plaza where locals purvey their political views and artwork. Retail stores line the four sides of the plaza and there are a number of excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. You can park your rig or your horses out back as whim or weather suits your fancy...

The staff is friendly, helpful, and quick to provide assistance to travelers unfamiliar with the bucolic pleasures of Taos. It is, of course, a cultural center offering a variety of fine museums and the always magnificent Taos Pueblo.

So avoid the chain hellholes and stay at a lovely place with both character and location. Highly recommended!!
Neal and Claudia

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

we parked behind the hotel and could walk around the square.shops were nearby and a candy store.we got free water and coffee at coffee shop and 25% off their great bakery items.no a/c but was cool at night.

Room Tip: we stayed near stairs to lobby,205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are nice. On the second floor they have a "living room" area with board games, a computer and couches. The La Fonda is in a great location, you can walk almost anywhere in town. The majority of the shops are located within a few minutes of the hotel. There's a Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory right next door... yum!

We stayed in room 210, which is an adjoining room. I will say that we could hear EVERYTHING going on in the next room. I thought it was strange that they supplied ear plugs in the bathroom, but after hearing the people in room 209 all night long I understand.

The people at the front dest we very helpful and friendly. There is a small coffee shop off the lobby that brews Starbucks coffee... every day hotel guests can have a bottled water, hot cocoa or coffee for free. You also get a discount at the hotel restaurant when you present your room key.

Room Tip: If you're not going to use the adjoining room, ask for one that doesn't adjoin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed here 3 night's.... fell in love with the place, and the staff. I have got to give it up to 2 of the staff member's.... Steffie and Frank. They were both very informative and helpful.... and the room was fantastic!! Thank's Steffie and Frank, for making us feel at home.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We took a spontaneous trip to Taos and looked for hotels online the morning we departed. We wanted a place that was centrally located to shops and restaurants, as well as safe. Really was not sure what to expect with La Fonda -- sometimes when hotels are priced less than competitors, I worry. Well, we had nothing to worry about. La Fonda is clean, friendly, centrally located, safe, quiet and has character. It reminded me, in part, of La Fonda in Santa Fe, although it is not connected. I believe the hotel was recently renovated. We had two rooms -- both were very clean. They were small, but that was fine with us -- reminded us of Europe. There is free parking in the back of the hotel which was very convenient. We walked to several shops and restaurants, as well as took morning walks through the historical neighborhoods. Also, several museums are very close by. I also must stress that the hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend, and yes -- we will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Taos.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fonda de Taos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda de Taos

Address: 108 South Plaza, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonda de Taos 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Taos centrally located on the historic Plaza. Completely renovated to provide the most current 21st century amenities amid historic, authentic, southwestern atmosphere and architecture. Home to the infamous D.H. Lawrence Forbidden Art collection. The hotel's Plaza Cafe offers authentic Northern New Mexican cuisine at moderate prices and guests enjoy complimentary coffees and teas in the Starbucks "Noula's" Coffee shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fonda de Taos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fonda de Taos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.