We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Taos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
114 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Woodland Park, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only place to stay in Taos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I've stayed at La Dona Luz twice now, and couldn't imagine a trip to Taos staying anywhere else. I searched the local hotels and B&Bs and noplace had the authentic, historic charm of La Dona Luz. Couple that with the incredibly reasonable price and the convenient location across the street from the Plaza, and it becomes a no-brainer.

My first stay was solo, in the Sonrisa room. Bright, charming, with an extraordinary jumbo whirlpool tun and bathroom mural. My husband and daughter accompanied me on our second stay, in the Yellow Bird Deer Suite. LOVED that suite. Huge four-poster bed and an attached sitting room (where my 8-year-old was able to sleep on the twin-sized couch) that opened up to the patio. We loved the colors and the beautiful artwork everywhere.

We also enjoyed chatting with owner Paco, and on my first trip, Paco's father Carlos, who knows a lot of history about the Inn. We definitely plan to stay again on our next trip to Taos!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    36
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
105
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Paco and his lovely family run this very unique B and B in Taos
Every room is different
Ours was a 2 room suite with a gorgeous terrace
It was so comfortable and was decorated with many lovely New Mexico artifacts

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Greeted by Paco who had been doing some renovation work, my first impression of the B&B was a combination of Taos history and 60’s counterculture all mixed into one rambling ensemble of guest rooms. This is not your typical overly polished inn but one that exudes a well-worn patina, certainly lived in and embellished with local art and artifacts.

I was allowed to select my room as the one I had chosen was under renovation. The Santiago Room felt like the large converted living room of a traditional Spanish hacienda, including a fireplace, throne and full size sofa (come to think of it, I never even sat on the throne). I found the room enchanting with its wood and vaulted plaster ceiling and windows that overlooked other adjacent roofs. Unfortunately for me, a very abbreviated stay meant little time to linger, Paco advised with recommendations for both places to walk and also restaurant options.

Breakfast which included some delicious coffee (ready earlier than the scheduled breakfast) was fairly basic as other reviewer suggested but considering the abundance of places to eat in town, I didn’t find this an issue, especially after a large dinner the night before. I grabbed some granola, fruit and coffee and headed to the lovely courtyard which was sunny and teaming with an exuberance of flowers. The colors were surreal and this was a perfect place to spend a relaxing morning.

Paco could not have been more helpful, upbeat, informative and passionate about the history of the B&B, his family’s local roots and the future changes he has planned. For the price I paid I would be more than happy to return again and see what additional improvements will be made. This B&B seems to encapsulate the zeitgeist and history of the town perfectly. Taos certainly isn’t everyday small town America and La Dona isn’t your everyday B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I chose La Dona Luz Inn because I was traveling with my dog, but without my husband, enroute to Albuquerque. I wanted to be in walking distance of restaurants and bars. It was a "stop-over", but after my evening and morning here, I wished I could have stayed. I met other guests at breakfast-it's the kind of place that people invite you to sit with them and visit. When I asked Paco, the owner, for a tour, I received not only a viewing of the lovingly decorated rooms and family treasures, but also a history of his family and the role they played in the history of Taos. Such pride of place and history are reflected in the distinctive rooms and the solicitude to guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sachse, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful! We have stayed here 3 times. The last time was when my husband and I were married AT La Dona Luz Inn. Paco was so accommodating and welcoming to our wedding party (which rented the place out). We decided to marry there because of our previous wonderful experience there. The place feels like home, is surrounded by beauty and Paco makes you feel like you are apart of the family. We never want to leave once we get there. We wish we could make the trip several times a year. It feels like home. We love La Dona Luz Inn, Paco and the Rainbow Room! I don't think any place on earth does it like they do. :)

Room Tip: The Rainbow room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Rolls Mountain Park, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had made our third visit to La Donna Luz this past May so forgive me for procrastinating. I LOVE the vintage charm and character of this Inn. We stayed in the La Madonna suite this time and now it is my favorite. I can't imagine a more interesting and comfortable place. Paco is a charming, helpful, and hard working host. I recommend La Donna Luz and will always stay there when coming to Taos.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've traveled the world, and stayed in 5 stars hotels, and some bug ridden disasters (in Egypt), and this is one of the most charming, filled with art, nicely accommodating, pancakes cooked to order places I've stayed. If you are a diva and controlling and rude, this is NOT the place for you...these are nice people.

Room Tip: Check out the website which gives examples of each of the rooms, and when you are there, take a peek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.