We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentically Taos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
114 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
“Authentically Taos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We love La Dona Luz! We have stayed there many times and are never disappointed. Paco is friendly and very helpful. The love of his B&B shows in his work at keeping it authentic. There is original art work on every wall, enjoyed by anyone who has an interest in the beautiful southwest.We always enjoy the breakfast, especially the banana waffles. If you want an authentic Taos experience that is mere walking distance to all the sites in town, give Paco a call.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    33
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
38
99
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Location is good, paintings on walls are cute, though rooms are a bit worn. Stained sofa has not been replaced. Communication is sometimes lacking: emails and phone calls are not returned. Breakfast is mostly packaged carbs (waffles from mix, instant oatmeal, bread, bagels, reconstituted OJ), not at all like the home cooked breakfast usually expected at B & B's. This B & B lacks the individual attention and services that other B & B's of this price level provide. Overall impression is one of providing as little as possible, while relying on location and folk art wall paintings to pull them through. Not a good value for the money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco C, Owner at La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
This reviewer deleted her original review after I replied and called her on the rude and borderline abusive behavior she displayed on her recent visit. This rewrite is an attempt to sound more reasonable and harm my business through misrepresentation, minimizing the many amenities, quality of artwork and furnishings, as well as the extra efforts that were made on her behalf. It is difficult to understand how she could become so obsessed with misdirected anger.

The first thing to trigger her tantrum was finding that the Town’s Public transportation doesn’t run on weekends and she had no way to visit the Pueblo. Her reaction was to vent her anger at my employee and then at me for something beyond our control.

I really wanted her to have a good experience here and after we were unable to reach any of the taxi services early Sunday morning, I asked my employee, April, to drive her to the Pueblo at my expense, suggesting that she also tip her for the service. I would think that securing a car and driver would qualify as “individual attention and service” that she felt was lacking.

Her next bit of bad luck occurred when she arrived at the Pueblo, only to discover it was temporarily closed for a funeral. Rather than showing some compassion and understanding for the grieving family, she attempted to sneak a peek during religious ceremonies and was confronted by a tribal member. She behaved so badly that they threatened her with calling the police. April, who is a tribal member and had driven her there was shocked and embarrassed for her. She could have arranged to come back a little later but again chose to cause a scene. This resulted in her writing a scathing review of the Taos Indian Pueblo ironically entitled “Bad manners”.

She is correct that the phone is not always answered early when we’re busy serving breakfast. It is more important to me that we provide excellent service at breakfast. At that time, either an employee or myself are available to provide services to guests that are on the premises. I generally reply to e-mail within a day or two, but occasionally a little longer. I discovered she was here on the property as I was about to reply the night before and decided to talk to her personally in the morning.

We serve a hearty and healthy breakfast consisting of; plain or banana cinnamon Belgian Waffles, fresh strawberries, cantaloupe, honey dew, baked goods, granola and other cereals, organic vanilla yogurt, cream cheese, hard-boiled eggs, orange juice, coffee and tea.

The stain on the sofa was distressing to me. A guest apparently spilled something and caused water staining in a couple of places attempting to clean it. It is a very high quality sage green leather love seat in excellent condition (with the exception of the aforementioned water stain). We’ve tried everything short of re-dyeing, which I’m looking into.

I think this guest had some bad luck, mostly the result of bad planning and then compounded it with bad behavior. To give this wonderful little inn a “poor” rating speaks volumes about this reviewer’s credibility in light of the majority of reviews here, on other web sites and in travel guides. Thankfully, the majority accurately reflect what a special place this truly is! Please visit our website and see for yourself!

Happy travels,
Paco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We visit Taos several times a year and always stay at La Dona Luz. Comfortable, attractive, rooms full of interesting and historical art and artifacts of Taos and northern New Mexico. Staff is friendly and helpful, Paco (owner) lots of fun. A great location, within walking distance to nearly everything of interest. Very reasonable, given the amenities.

Room Tip: Rainbow Room's spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

bottom line-La Dona Luz is my favorite place to stay out of anywhwere I have ever stayed. I have traveled to Europe at least 6 times,stayed in many very very nice places there as well as throughout the Souhwest and Northeast and of all the places i prefer La Dona... Paco is a TERRIFIC host, the B and B is spectacular,the rooms are themed and gorgeous,the location can't possibly be beat etc etc etc.We have stayed there at least ten times and are looking forward to the next ten plus times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have been going to Taos and staying at La Dona Luz each trip since about 1998. We love being able to walk all over without driving and enjoy Paco and his hospitality. We have made two of our stays with granddaughters. On one occasion, the two older girls had a birthday while we were there, and and we all enjoyed festivites in the living room. We stayed in the Rainbow room with the two younger girls; they loved the hot tub on the roof. We enjoy the lovely southwestern decor throughout the themed rooms: we have stayed in most of them. We highly recommend this B and B. Loy and Dick Markley

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Paco's place (La Dona Luz B&B) in Taos, the last of several stays there over the last few years. As usual we had a wonderful experience. Paco is a fantastic host because he spends so much time with his guests, conversing, recommending sites/restaurants, tips, etc. His historic adobe B&B is an artist's paradise because each room is full from top to bottom with exquisite southwestern and American Indian art, most originals, each of which is an entire story by itself. Several of the rooms have kiva fireplaces, brightly covered Mexican tile and a hot breakfast to top it all off. It is centrally located about 2 minutes from the Taos Plaza and surrounded with the beauty of the Taos Mountains and Pueblo. La Dona Luz is our first and only choice of places to stay in Taos, and we have stayed in many. I am sure Paco will treat you like he does all his guests, with fun stories and a big welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have great views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is our second adventure @ the Dona Luz Inn.... We spent our "second" honeymoon there back in 2011 when the Laughing Horse backed out on us..... This place is a GODSEND..... There were 5 of us in our party......we had the DELUX accommodations..... I happened to be in the living area as MariannFlinker was berating the place, the owner ( Paco....who jumps through hoops to make sure his guests are comfortable and happy! She had nothing constructive to say and it was sad to see someone so dissatisfied in such beautiful surroundings ) But our stay couldn't have been better...... We had the Rainbow SUITE.....with the hot tub on the roof and the rising full moon.....the sunset.....the hot tub....printed words can't describe it here...... The breakfasts were GREAT.....hot homemade waffles served at your table with fresh strawberries...
yogurt....fresh fruit.....granola....cereal..... YUMMMM!!!
It is a charming place with the most interesting art work covering from modern to ancient...... and you truly feel like you are a welcomed friend in an amazing warm home. The plaza is easy walking distance and Eske's Brew pub is next door....no need for designated drivers....
The whole house was sparking clean and yet had the aura of the 200 year old hacienda it is.
Thank you Paco for another wonderful sojourn....we will be back.

Katie & Chris

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list