We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Taos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
114 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Taos B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently and had mixed feelings about the place. The positives: great location, just steps away from Taos Plaza, and with distant mountain views from our windows. The room was quite large, and well fitted out with two queen sized beds, separate sitting room etc. My misgivings relate to an overall impression that it was generally rundown and could have been much cleaner. The covers on the beds were very worn and felt gritty; and we were not given a doona, just a very thin blanket, inadequate for the night temperature. Fittings, veranda floors etc were dusty and the place just seemed generally neglected. The hosting was similarly a bit disinterested and unengaging. We appreciated the individuality of the decor, and the work that had gone into making a unique environment, but in the end were left wishing that we'd made a different choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    36
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
39
105
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our stay at La Dona Luz was nice. We stayed in the Santiago room. Our room was furnished with many antique wooden pieces of furniture. Our bathroom was large and the tile work was beautiful. The breakfasts were good as we enjoyed delicious waffles with strawberries. The young lady who works there is sweet and helpful. The only minor issues we noticed were that the windows were dirty, When we did open them, the people in the courtyard were smoking and the smell of it bothered us. That was our fault for not looking into this. Other than that, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is definitely the best place to stay in Taos. It's comfortable, beautiful and the host and staff could not be nicer. We've had the opportunity to stay in almost all the rooms now and will only stay here when in Taos. My sister and her family joined us here last year and also rave about it. If you want a great experience, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed out stay at Doña luz. We had a fabulous room that was decorated with many antique artefacts and artwork. I loved the authentic adobe fire we had in our room.
Breakfast was delicious and very filling.
Thank you Paco for making us feel so welcome. You are doing a wonderful job.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

First, while our stay was brief, it was truly memorable due to the care & attention we received from Paco (our friendly host) and his staff. The Taos Information Center recommended this B&B which is right in the heart of "old" Taos and across from the Kit Carson house & museum. Paco recommended a restaurant about a block away and it served fantastic New Mexican food and drink. The interior and exterior of our adobe abode seemed right out of a 50's western film. I've attached a few pix so you can get the feel.

Room Tip: Ask about the two room suite with French doors that open onto the patio, enclosed within adobe walls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We really enjoyed this B&B and would stay there again. It's full of beautifully carved wood furniture, and each room has a theme (Spanish, Indian, etc.). We stayed in the Santiago, which was very nice; however, it has a skylight, which makes the room nice and light during the day, but allows the sun to shine in awfully early in the morning. For us this was not a problem, as I had a sleep mask and my husband wasn't bothered. Nevertheless, it's something to inquire about.
The inn is quite close to the Plaza, and breakfast was adequate --- continental, with the option of fresh waffles. I never did meet Paco (the owner), but the staff was friendly and helpful. Many of the guests are "regulars," and it's easy to see why.

Room Tip: See my comment above about the skylight. I believe the rooftop room has a hot tub, although many ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, TX
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have stayed here every year since we first discovered it 8 years ago while researching a place to stay with our dog. When I stepped into my room that very first time, my first reaction was that I couldn't believe that anyone would allow dogs in such an incredible place.

Because La Dona Luz is not just a place to stay, it's more of a work of art, created by the family who originated there. The property itself is a part of Taos history, and each room is filled with authentic New Mexican antiques and art. I have stayed in many different rooms, each of them offering a special and unique theme. Almost every room has it's own little courtyard or outside area where you can just sit and soak in that incredible Taos sunlight. It's also in a perfect location, and almost everything on your "to-do" list will be within easy walking distance.

The owner, Paco, is an absolutely wonderful guy, who goes far and above the call of duty. (He's also the artist who creates these incredible rooms.) My example being how he helped two of my friends plan and execute an impromptu wedding in 2 days without any notice or notification beforehand. One of the best weddings I have ever been to. So, be careful, this place is the kind of place that inspires people to get hitched!

La Dona Inn is truly magical. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when I am in Taos.

Room Tip: If the thought of soaking in your own private hot tub on a roof with Sacred Mountain as the backdrop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast

Address: 114 Kit Carson Road, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in the ambience of our quaint and colorful adobe inn. Our rooms are richly decorated in the Taos tradition and feature a large collection of fine art, Native American and Spanish antiques.Located in the heart of the historic downtown area, just a few steps off the old plaza. Recommended by The New York Times and USA Today. Featured on The Travel Channel series "Romantic Inns Of America". "The Essence of Old Taos". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed And Breakfast
La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Dona Luz Inn, An Historic Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.