We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and fun atmosphere, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Tulsa, OK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location and fun atmosphere, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Overall this historic hotel has a lot to offer but our room in the main building left a lot to be desired. When traveling, we try to stay at historic properties so we appreciate "old." However, the furnishings were scuffed and tired looking, the A/C was loud and did not adequately cool the room. Nevertheless, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Great lobby bar with adjacent outdoor patio AND they have nightly live music. Friendly and accommodating staff. Would stay again - just not in the main building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    182
    80
    33
    16
See reviews for
69
315
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, AZ
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed here for one night so we could see a little of Taos and its famous mission and Pueblo. It was a family trip so we got a room that would accommodate four people. It was in the main building, just behind the lobby/bar area. The place was crowded with guests as well as people who were dropping by from the street for lunch and drinks. The outdoor seating area was almost full and it took a long time to order a couple of beers. We were never able to really enjoy a quiet drink at the bar as it was Friday night and they had live music and a crowded lobby and bar. I think one would be better off visiting on a weekday and getting a room not in the main building. The room was stuffy and noisy because of tis proximity to the lobby and the live music. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and the restaurant was satisfactory. Would probably stay here again, but would request a room outside of the main building.

Room Tip: Don't stay in main building and stay during the week if you want some peace. Some of the rooms t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Friendly staff and a pretty good (though expensive) restaurant with nice wine list did not make up for the disappointing room. Common areas were fine, appreciated the free coffee and outdoor space, but the room was downright depressing. Not "historic", just tired. Only the walk-in shower seemed fresh. Decor nondescript and did not appeal. Pillows and bedspread old - would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We've been to Taos countless times, but this was our first time staying at the Historic Taos Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! It is the center of action, a social and cultural hub right in the heart of Taos. There is live music every night, the staff is very eclectic and friendly, and the food at the restaurant, Doc Martin's, was outstanding! It's centrally located to downtown and to the Taos Pueblo. The hotel is also very family friendly. We will definitely stay here again the next time we pass through Taos and highly recommended it to anyone headed that way!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great central location for a Taos visit. Clean rooms and property with convenient, friendly bar. Comfortable beds. Live music. Located in the historic downtown area, many things to see within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms located in the lobby area would probably be loud due to live music playing nightly 'till 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I love this hotel. It was our second visit. I love the decor and the southwest atmosphere. We got in close to 10pm from traveling all day from Boston. Even though the kitchen was closing in 10min., they made sure we got food and drink. The music and people are all lots of fun. There is lots to do from all the shops, restaurants to the farmer's market. Each room is unique. I wish I could stay longer, every time I have been there.

Room Tip: rooms in the 200
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 408 of the Helen house, this is a great room that is toward the back and away from noise. If you are planning on spending the day shopping, this place is extremely convienent. Its only a walk away from all the shops and restaurants and you get free parking while you are there. The rooms are pretty, with a romantic electric fireplace, but the beds are extremely firm, and the pillows kind of dissapointing. The shower is a walk in with a fold down seat if you want to sit down or are disabled. You are mostly paying for the convince here though, service was OK, I had to badger them with questions, they don't divulge information voluntarily. Overall good experience, awesome location for shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.