We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Save Saved
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 Nights for 3
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Taos
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The inn was a great place to stay in Taos- lovely authentic buildings, we had one of the cheapest rooms but it was still really nice. It was next to the restaurant and patio area but we didn't notice any noise. Great margaritas out on the patio bar, and a very lively open mic night of live music. Seems to be a real social hub in the evenings. Staff exceptionally friendly- initially they couldn't find out reservation but immediately sorted the issue and charged our expected rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    153
    73
    31
    15
See reviews for
66
249
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If your looking for a good location, this is the spot. If you want a nice relaxing room with good staff and clean rooms, not the place. The room was comical, it was sinking. The floor sloped at least 15 inches from one side of the room to the other. So much that I slid across the bed. The staff was all blahh, like I was bothering them by staying there. The worst being the tall short blond haired front desk lady in the morning. Over the top rude, highlighted by sighs and eye rolls with every snap and bark that came out of her nasty mouth. If you not a morning person, don't work in a hotel. Go hide in the hole you should have stayed in until your ready to function as a real human being.
Don't do it. Your better off in your car.
Stay somewhere else and go there for there bar and music.

Room Tip: Here is a great tip, stay somewhere else. Only go for happy hour and music at there bar. Then go s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I love staying at the Taos Inn when ever I get a chance to go to this beautiful town. My only issue with the motel is the ancient window AC that was pretty loud, so loud that I had to turn it off. Otherwise I appreciate that they are trying to preserve the classic feel of the motel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great location in center of Taos...one block from Plaza. Room was just the right size and cozy with kiva fireplace and exposed beam ceilings. Clean rooms and helpful staff. Doc Martin's restaurant in the hotel was very good as we had a breakfast and dinner during our two night stay. We stayed in the Helen's house room 405 which was the newer part of the hotel towards the back...very quiet. Would recommend and stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Loud! Dominated by Neo-Taosenos (Texas / California immigrant Taoseno want-to-be's). Actually have the audacity to not only delete the Fox News Channel from their cable TV lineup, but their internet service gateway actually "restricts" access to Fox News online. If you stay here, you're an idiot. Liberal or Conservative, this behavior, especially from a service related business, can not and should not be tolerated! I live in Taos two to four months each year. I assure you, the Sagebrush Inn on the south side of town, while being less convenient, is a much better value and a much more relaxing environment. Don't stay at the Taos Inn ... unless you're an Obama worshiper. If you are, then you'll fit right in!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We loved the Taos Inn. We stayed in the Sandoval house and loved the room. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We hung out in the patio area where we had a great view of the Main Street and good people watching. I'd recommend the 'small' (which was huge) prime rib nachos. It was plenty for two. You could also hear the live band really well on the patio. Very pleasant evening. If we make it back to Taos we would stay at the Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Old inn, but options exist for newer buildings. We stayed in the back of the courtyard....so it was very quiet. Super location for visiting the old plaza and walking around old town. Lots of options for eating and shopping.

Room Tip: Back of the courtyard is quieter....there are also newer rooms in separate buildings. Be aware that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.