We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun historic inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4 Nights for 3
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“fun historic inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

friendly, fun inn -good music and margheritas
accommodation was a cute little adobe room, perhaps a little expensive, but a lovely atmospheric place to stay with adobe fireplace in the corner of the room

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    176
    80
    32
    16
See reviews for
68
298
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
VT
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The hotel is in a great location and is wonderfully historic. The staff is very good. The room has a good size and a wonderful kiva fireplace in the corner. The room's furniture was oddly rococo and didn't really fit a southwest adobe theme. The bed was a little noisy and not that comfortable. There were two paintings that were really not in keeping with the room. Blank walls would have worked better. I'd stay again, but I think some changes could make this a better experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Love the location, the restaurant, the bar, the parking, the bed, and the room! We stayed in room 404- the rooms are great.....ithe rooms would be awesome if the furniture was upgraded....the current furniture feels worn... I love antiques but the charis and tables and bedspreads in our room were just plain old worn out.

Room Tip: the website allows you to virtually visit everyone of the rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We decided to stay at the Inn as a last minute decision and were fortunate to get a lovely room on the court yard. This room had two double beds, an open fire place and lots of room. The beds were very comfortable and the room warm even with the very cold night we had. Only downside was that the bathroom was very small. Parking was close by which was great as we had a fair bit of luggage.
We enjoyed a very comfortable night's sleep.
The position of the hotel is great within walking distance of good shopping and dining. The bar and restaurant in the hotel are also excellent.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa bay
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was spacious, beautifully decorated, and comfortable but the main attraction for us was the bar. It is cozy and inviting and the music was excellent both nights of our stay, attracting a nice crowd of tourists and locals. Perfect location.

Room Tip: We chose a room in the newer building and were very happy with it. I would imagine a room of the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail,CO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our room was clean, comfortable and had a charming fireplace, but no other amenities. There is no coffee maker, no tea, just glasses for tap water. The bathroom was very cold and had no heater. The hotel itself seemed good-people are friendly and they have a nice bar/lounge area with live music. We did not sample the food but heard it was good. Location is good too. Our particular room was also well sited as we were near the parking lot so not affected by the live music.

Room Tip: ask for one in the back if you don't want to hear noise from music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Bskinow-

We are of course disappointed to hear of such an underwhelming assessment, as we are usually hit with more of a "wow this is special" at check-out, which is certainly what we strive for. Your general comment about your perception of the amenities available is helpful, though difficult to address without more specificity. We are currently looking at changes in our linen presentation across all accommodations, and improvements in lighting options where they are needed. We understand that "luxury" is a cumulative experience of sensing abundance, beauty and care, with our guest's needs anticipated. There are many elements of a room that communicate such a feeling.

The lack of a coffee maker in the room is a conscious choice. We provide a much better locally roasted complimentary coffee and tea service in our lobby than could be made available in our rooms, which are all in short walking distance. We also find that such in room coffee and tea products are mediocre at best.

We would be open to hearing of your experience in more detail, should you be wiling to contact us directly.

Christopher Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I love this place and no matter what, I stay there when visiting the Taos area. They have great music every evening and a very friendly group of locals that hang out there. The location is a block from the Main plaza, walking distance to the best of Taos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.