We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One misstep after another” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One misstep after another”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

With so many good reviews and the historic designation, my sister and I were looking forward to our stay at the Taos Inn. Since we live in different cities, we try to meet once a year, usually in October. We love Santa Fe and Taos so much that we usually wind up there.
I booked a room with a fireplace. We love the kiva fireplaces and look forward to having one in our room. The room itself faced the courtyard, was beautifully decorated and indeed had a fireplace. Unfortunately we were told that the fireplaces didn't work til later in the season - disappointment #1. With no fireplace we expected the heating to work. It did not and we spent the cold October night with no heat - disappointment #2. Although it wasn't in the room description, I just assumed there would be a coffee maker in room - disappointment #3. I didn't even mention the nail sticking out of the wicker chair. We were moved to a different room and it did have a fireplace. Good move, although a little inconvenient to pack everything up. The shower had no basin, just flat bathroom floor. When we showered, the water flooded the entire floor. Did we use the shower incorrectly? Were there any warnings? We're both very short - did that have anything to do with the direction of the shower head? - disappointment #4.
Management tried to make everything right but it just wasn't what we expected.
We never did get to dine in the restaurant, and the window of opportunity to get a cup of coffee was too small to even enjoy that. - disappointment #5.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are quieter than the rooms over the restaurant. Depends on whether you want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    182
    80
    33
    16
See reviews for
69
315
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We just love this place. We stay here every time we come to Sante Fe. Each room has its own style with handmade Native American art work. The hotel has the feel of when it first open in the 1920'but with modern conveniences. We enjoy just staying the the room and relaxing by the fireplace. Highly recommend staying here when in Santa Fe and this hotel is central to all old Santa Fe thing to do. Just love it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Very central location close to everything. Our first destination after Albuquerque on a 3-week visit of NM. Stayed in Sandoval House, room 203. Next to parking, but was very quiet. Headed to the sunken alcove by the fireplace in the lobby, read the incredible history of the place on the menu and were immediately immersed in the fun. Excellent margueritas, delicious food, pre-Hallowe'en decorations, open mike night, the ambiance was alive and we felt like a young couple again for a night out on the town. Dinner in the restaurant on 2nd night was great (table in Doc Martin's former maternity cubicle), but staff was unable to deal with very loud customer at near table in other room who had long finished dinner but kept trying to impress his date! We were offered another table, but we all expected him to be leaving soon. C'est la vie... A vibrant stop before our relaxation days at Ojo Caliente Spa.

Room Tip: Room 203 in Sandoval house with fireplace was nice. Heating a bit noisy and did not find how to shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband & I wanted a quick get away prior to Thanksgiving. We made reservations at the Taos Inn for a Saturday & Sunday night. We love historic Inns & the Taos Inn did not disappoint. We found the room to be comfortable, clean and warm!! We were not expecting 6" of snow and very cold weather!! The Inn kept the sidewalks clean and safe, and the lobby fireplace was kept burning. Normally we do not eat in hotel restaurants - because of the weather we ate at Doc. Martin's. Again we were not disappointed, the restaurant food was incredible. We also spent each evening at the Adobe Bar - right in the lobby of the Inn. The live entertainment was excellent each evening!!! We have already talked about a return trip to Taos, and we will be staying at the Taos Inn again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that opens out to the court yard. The courtyard is very serene - a lovely plans to sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

First, you'll meet Chris, who after 17 years at the helm, knows where the ice berg looms low and sharp . . . pretty much the sort of Ship Captain who would have brought in the Titanic right on time. No request is considered a burden, and yet he manages to stay livin on Taos Time, alla time . . . guy's a prince. Smooth as a time-chiseled creek stone, lion-sure of himself, and all of this comes with a movie star smile. Man understands family, woulda liked to have met his.

Then, if you are very lucky, you'll meet Mary Ann, who runs housekeeping and whom you can't over-tip to get your laundry back tomorrow, baby, fresh, folded and fabulous . . . . does it after work at her home . . . yet she's uncomfortable accepting a dime for the work, so don't embarrass me, take care of this lady . . . truly, something god made, someone the mountain may never let go in the ground.

Then, if the snow sticks for you, which means your mountain luck is holding, Justin Reeves will introduce himself, and ever after, you will know Taos as Taos is. Guy knows everything and will do anything you need him to. What's that kind of attitude worth in these days of thundering selfishness. Neat guy, gorgeous cover-of-a-magazine wife and darling six year old Carter . . . real people who like real people, so be right around them.

And there is Jimmy Krack Korn who doubles as a playwright, which if she gets the one she's working on as right as she does office management, will make it to Broadway, and Taos will be the less for that.

And stunning Tara and lively Liz and rockin Richard (originally of Venice Beach and Bundy Drive. . . boy does it all and has been around, need I say more?) Ice for your giant cooler? Got it, what's your room number. And find tiny street water color artist Frank Trujillo he is a holy man. And don't miss the Pueblo (particularly if you are lucky enough to be invited--makes a difference, we have done our share of rack and ruin on these poor people who have survived a thousand years here, so that mountain loves them) and the Taos (awesome) and Harwood museums and . . . get permission from local artist Ed Sandoval (see his 2014 calendar of work in the lobby) to feed his four Arabian horses carrots mornings and evenings--religious experience daily--and get over for a walk-through of the lower school and then the sixth grade (just 11 and 12-years old) children's geometric design artwork at the Taos Waldorf School . . . something god made for sure . . . and feed a sandwich to a hungry dog, who's cold and hungry and you know you got the money . . . and when you see the magpies, know that they are NOT white (cheek, belly and under-wings) and black (head back and upper-wings) but white and BLUE--keep looking closely till the sun hits them right so you can see TRULY . . . listen just ask Chris, just ask Justin, just as Tara, just ask Liz, just ask Jimmy Krack, just ask Richard, just ask (and tip WELL0 Mary ann. This town, and its Inn is all of it, baby. I will never forget the month of November, 2013 . . . and I will be back to Taos and its Inn . . . and I mean every single word . . . but guess you can tell that.

Room Tip: Just talk to Chris directly and he will make it HAPPEN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

The Inn is really a reconstructed old Hacienda. And like any old house, rooms vary in size and loveliness. So if you go expecting cookie-cutter hotel rooms, you will be disappointed. To me, staying there is like visiting a favorite cousin who is kinda rich and has a fab cook and bartender. I even enjoy sitting in my room reading or sketching. I love some of the Taos art and craft galleries (not so much on the square), and the town is foodie heaven. For non-native Americans, the town was built on light and art and camaraderie. When you are staying at the Inn, you are staying in the home of an art patron. The patron, Doctor Martin, loved the light, the locals, his art buddies and their works, and cocktail time. If you let yourself, you too can feel it. The Taos Nine are all gone as is Doctor Martin, but the art works and Doc Martin's unfailing hospitality linger in the intense light of Taos.

Room Tip: If you need the internet a lot, you will probably spend time in the great room which is also the lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed in Sandoval 205 which was big enough since it was just me (I would suggest adding a small table, though). Bed was comfortable. Room clean. The bar has excellent chili, and the restaurants blue corn blueberry pancakes come with real maple syrup. Yum. Live music every night, but things wind down by 10pm. I took advantage of the 3 nights for the price of 2, so at $50 a night this was by far the best bargain experience ever. Worth it at twice the price.

Room Tip: For the best experience I would suggest paying more for a larger room, maybe with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.