We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Vacation Turned Second Honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Collinsville, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Vacation Turned Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I faced a difficult situation when, after arriving at a Taos bed and breakfast for an anniversary vacation, we were forced to leave suddenly when the accommodations turned out to not match what was promised (to say the least). At 8 pm on the night before the Fiesta de Taos, we went looking in Taos to try to find a room. When we approached the front desk of the Taos Inn and explained the details of our difficult situation, the desk clerk (Stacy) said, "On behalf of Taos, we are so sorry for your experience and we are going to make sure everything works out for you both." From that point on, we were treated with such care and hospitality. We ended up in room 204 which was absolutely beautiful. It had a southwest décor, kiva fireplace, tiled bath and lovely courtyard. The entire staff -- from desk to housekeeping -- were friendly and accommodating. We had our anniversary dinner at Doc Martin's restaurant (in the hotel) and the food was exquisite! Nightly there was musical entertainment in the Adobe Bar and welcoming area of the Inn. From jazz to mountain music to flamenco dancing ... what fun! They exceeded our expectations and some! They contributed to turning our vacation into a second honeymoon. We can't wait for the next visit!

Room Tip: I would suggest any of the suites in the "Sandoval House" or the Courtyard. They are real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    182
    80
    33
    16
See reviews for
69
315
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Wonderful room decorated in nice southwest motif. Fireplace in room, tiled bath, nice courtyard and seating. Conveniently located in town with a great restaurant and separate bar, live music. Busy and fun but had a quiet restful sleep. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My upfront caveat is that this review is for room 304, other rooms may differ. The room is nicely appointed and very clean, but the bed is terribly soft. The bathroom is teeny tiny; you have to walk beside the toilet to close the door. The showerhead has a dribble of water from the center and very low pressure on the perimeter jets making for very poor spray. The shower has an open door design so water tends to get all over the floor. The room entrance doorway is very low and my husband (6’2”) crashed his head into the upper beam at least 5 times. The courtyard sprinklers turn on in the wee hours of the morning every day and seemed to be right outside our door. The live music in the lobby is a nice touch, but we were there on a very busy weekend so it was difficult to get a good seat (the lobby is fairly small). The courtyard is nice and we enjoyed sitting outside our room for an early evening cocktail. And of course, the historical nature of the inn is fascinating, but I don’t think we will return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I got a great deal so I stayed here. I was even able to select my room before staying here. I was told it was small and it was. However, it was adequate, except for the pillows, which were small and flat. The room and bath were clean. S bit dated but that added to the charm. Centrally located. Friendly staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, Usa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice location downtown Taos with all of the old Taos ambiance one would expect from a historic hotel. The staff was wonderful and extremly helpful. The hotel is slightly over rated and a bit expensive for what you get. Our room was small with an uncomfortalbe bed and pillows that seemed to be left over from the original furnishings of the late 1800's. The much needed room air conditioning could not be regulated from the room and seemed to work best at night...a little warm during the day. The restaurant, "Doc Martin's" also has the charm of the late 1800's, but the food left a little to be desired. The next time we stay in Taos we'll shop around a little before we pick a hotel.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Historic Taos Inn has been a destination for us for 20 years. My husband and I are drawn to this romantic inn and have seen it evolve over the years. We travel extensively and save a date on our schedules for the Taos Inn in the winter. But, we just returned July 4 after a 2-night summer visit. The hotel has always said it's better in the summer. It's fabulous summer or winter. But, remember, it's Taos, not NYC, not LA, not Chicago, it's simply perfect for a romantic weekend or relaxing, charming getaway. I love NYC, LA, Miami, Chicago - and Taos.

The hotel is divided into four separate houses: Main hotel with rooms upstairs and down. Theses are great for the convenience of being right off the Adobe Bar - literally the living room of Taos. Some might find these rooms noiser, because of the live music. However, the music ends at 10:30 - 11:00 (10:30 two nights ago) and I wish it lasted longer. The courtyard rooms are rooms surrounding a large courtyard, of course, with varying sized rooms. Sandoval House - another separate house has rooms with shorter entrance doors. My 6'3" husband doesn't mind ducking his head a little to step inside. And, lastly, Helen's House, the farthest from the lobby, has all the amenities and charm of the others. We've stayed in all. The rooms have been updated without losing the charm and the comfort of the formerly Old Taos Inn. (The word "old" can be a negative.) All are updated, clean, cozy, romantic, different and beautiful, but not old, tired, dirty. These rooms are just the opposite. Two luggage stands, two chairs around a fireplace with windows to allow the morning or evening light. A desk/chair is also available. Wifi is available in the main building and, I understand, the hotel is adding this to the rooms as well. We are busy, connected travelers. But, it's odd that over the years we have never missed the internet. But, we have smart phones and we stay connected when we want. There have been trips where we have never moved our car from the Taos Inn parking lot.

The difference here for travelers is the houses are accessible by walking outdoors. But, it's a very short walk. Actually, it is a shorter walk than many large hotels with long hallways. Also, ice buckets are taken to the front desk to be filled. In the winter, wood is provided for the fireplaces (fireplaces are not available in the main building.) Convenient, free (yes, free) parking is in the back of the hotel. You leave you bags in your vehicle and walk 60-75 feet more or less, check-in and see the Adobe Bar, then see you room and maybe you go back to the Adobe Bar or get your bags. If you need help, they will help with bags. Summer or winter, we've never had a problem with walking. Swimming/fitness is available offsite, fitness in winter is at Taos Ski Valley!

Dining is available in the Adobe Bar for casual easy dining or Doc Martins for our very nice romantic dinners year after year. We've just discovered the patio dining under umbrellas in the front courtyard in the summer months. We were lucky to make arrangements for the end of a two week adventure into Santa Fe, Monument Valley, Mesa Vera, Durango. I wanted to end our vacation to see our Historic Taos Inn in the summer and on July 4. As an afterthought, I mentioned it and we called about a week before we arrived and found another great room at the Taos Inn. Again, we didn't move the car, wandered through all the local shops on the plaza, listened to Celtic, Jazz and Blues at the Adobe Bar, ate at the Bentwood Cafe down the street, and didn't "connect" or turn on the TV. It's Taos time, and if you want it, it's there and it's perfect - winter or summer.

Room Tip: Main building is noiser due to music at night. I've seen reviews where upstairs rooms in main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Although I didn't stay at this inn, I really enjoyed eating at Doc Martin's restaurant on several occasions. Their food was delicious, I love their green chile smothered burrito and their flourless chocolate torte! My waitress was great and funny. I also really liked that they have free live music every night, it was definitely a fun place to be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.