We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Historic Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4 Nights for 3
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location - Historic Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is our 2nd time staying at the Taos Inn. As advertised it is 'historic'. The Inn is attractive, many of the historical features such as fireplaces in each room are maintained. Its not inexpensive but very reasonable. The location can't be beat. Its directly across from Taos Plaza with its many shops and restaurants. Its on the main road into and out of Taos which leads to a lot of traffic but easy egress to the Taos Pueblo. The rooms are charming, the service is very good and the restaurant is quite good. There are hidden nooks and crannies inside and out and you can find a quiet place to be.

It has the added advantage of being frequented by locals and you can usually strike up a conversation with some interesting local artists, musicians, and generally interesting creative types. There is music most nights, we were lucky to be there for a monthly flamenco performance that was just great. Any cons? You need to be careful of the rooms right behind the kitchen area. There is seating out there and may be a bit noisy. The 300's, 400's are probably better.

Room Tip: Sandoval House (200's) has private tables outside, rooms in 300 series in rear courtyard, and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    176
    78
    32
    16
See reviews for
67
290
29
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a reservation on the way to Colorado from Texas. Our vacation destination in Colorado was evacuated due to the wildfires so we couldnt travel to the area. I tried to cancel the reservation as soon as I knew we couldn't travel, which was right after they charged my credit card for the first nights reservation. This was right after their 14 day! cancellation policy kicked in. They asked me to wait until closer to the reservation and see if the town 2 hrs north of them was still evacuated. It was and when I called back several days later they rudely refused to refund the first night. I was thinking of staying there in the future but now have such a bad taste in my mouth about them WILL NOT! You would think they would be less rigid in light of the situation and good customer service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is an older place but it is clean and very restful. Get a room on the lovely courtyard! All the staff was very friendly and accommodating. My husband got a stomach virus one night and the front desk clerk (Peter) was so nice and helpful. It was like we were among family. Excellent location. Give it a try!

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The location was great and the main hotel was very cool architecture-wise. We loved the lobby and the Adobe Bar. Our room was on the courtyard, so it was very quiet. The room was spacious but pretty outdated. Needed new carpeting and was very dark in spite of a skylight. Bathroom was beautiful and updated. Wish there was a refrigerator in the room to keep drinks and fruit. It was also challenging not having breakfast offered, even one we could buy. We had to venture out every morning to get our children food. A light continental breakfast of even bagel and cereal would be nice. They do serve coffee in lobby.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Glad you enjoyed our charm! We last renovated the courtyard rooms in 2006, and are looking into a replacement of carpet where needed, in addition to a lighting re-model, as several of our patrons have helpfully directed. We have consciously made the decision to not appoint the rooms with coffee makers or refrigerators, for we have felt that this would detract from the ambiance. Instead, we offer a locally roasted coffee of better quality in our lobby, and allow for refrigeration storage upon request. As a result of your feedback, we will look into the possibility of offering room refrigerators at a guest's request in the reservation or check-in process. Your comment about breakfast is perplexing, as we do offer fruit and yogurt, breakfast burritos, muffins, juice and scones at our front desk during the week, with a regular brunch available on weekends beginning at 7:30 on Saturdays and Sundays in Doc Martin's Restaurant. Our apologies if you were not given the information you needed to get some quick breakfast for your family. As a father myself, I certainly understand the need to have something available, nutritious, and quick. I will go over this with my front desk staff at our meeting this Friday. Thanks again for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I know it's old and historic, but it's really nothing special at all. If you bring a laptop, ask for a DSL cable as wifi in the rooms is non-existent. Wifi is only available in the lobby if you have a tablet. The staff is nice, there's coffee in the lobby before 6am which is good for the early risers. The rooms in the back are dark and tired. There was a sketchy character in the lobby, who hung around for a long time, and made both us and another couple we were traveling with uncomfortable. The staff knew him (his name starts with a "G", and as he was ordering refreshments, there was probably a legal reason why nothing could be done, but it was uncomfortable. I would not stay at this hotel again if I returned to Taos. But I would stop for the margarita's. If you have a chance, go into Doc Martin's and have that bartender make your margarita. It's great. In any event, the margaritas in the outside seating area at the front entrance to the hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent, right downtown, but it's on the main street, so it's very noisy in the outside bar area in the front of the hotel given the traffic noise. I personally think the room prices are high for what you get. For my money, "Old and Historic" wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Glad you found joy and appreciation in our margaritas!

In looking at the amount and consistency of scheduled capital investment we put into the physical stewardship of this historic property, it is disheartening, and quite frankly non specific and confusing, to hear your comment of the Courtyard or Sandoval accommodations as "tired". I assume that you did not book Helen's House as these rooms are recently built, feel new, and have a more contemporary look. Sandoval House, which was built in the late 1800's, and the courtyard rooms, built in the 1930's, we have tried to maintain their historic ambiance. but with attention to the needs and wants of the modern traveller. In your case we did not hit this mark, from a general standpoint.

We are aware and have been receiving bids to provide wifi through-out the entire property. While we do have DSL in most of the rooms, this does not serve our guests who would like to use a tablet or wifi enabled phone.

Regarding your unfortunate experience with another patron, there is no law that would prohibit us from not serving a guest, or asking a guest to leave that is bothering other guests. I am sorry that you felt uncomfortable. We are not in the habit of serving anyone that is behaving rudely. As we are an attraction for locals and visitors alike with our music program and affordable cuisine, and the challenges the physical proximity of our bar and lobby presents to guest service, we train our managers to be strict with insuring a civil and guest friendly environment.

Enjoyed reading your experience of Doc Martin's, and we are certainly hoping you will be back to taste our menu in your future travels to Taos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We did not stay at the Inn, but did stop by the bar a couple times for a few drinks. The service was polite and friendly. they have fantastic margaritas and we also caught some live music one night in "the living room." We'll certainly stop back by next time we're in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you are looking for authentic New Mexico, then the Historic Taos Inn is your cup of tea. It is located in the heart of Taos across from the plaza and two short blocks from the town square. Rooms are old, but comfortable and clean. The courtyard is an excellent room location for quiet and a respite from a warm spring or summer day. There is nightly entertainment along with a bar and restaurant. The staff is friendly. The restaurant is provides a good sample of southwest cuisine. The patio on the main street is fun while watching colorful traffic travelling through town. Taos is an eclectic community. Historic Taos Inn reflects this atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stay in the Courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.