We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentically local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
4 Nights for 3
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Authentically local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Although it can be pretty pricey to stay here (especially if you choose a special events weekend, like Xmas); but, if you are a lover of of deep local experience and want a unique place to stay in Taos (a unique place itself), you cannot beat the Taos Inn. We stayed here Xmas weekend and couldn't have had a better time. The staff is uniformly friendly and courteous, the main lobby is charming, our room was spacious and came with a working fireplace. The extra bonus of the Taos Inn is that it is a center for community activity due to its special character, it's wonderful bar/lounge and the Doc Martin dining room. The bar and lounge in particular hosts free live music pretty much every night of the week. On Monday's they have open mic; we have been several times and each time has been such a delight that we have lingered and listened for several hours; the parade of characters and talents are outstanding. On other nights they book individuals and ensembles that are either touring the west or reside in the region. Xmas eve we heard an innovative young cellist Billy Mickelson in an evening of rich and engaging new music. It was a wow! All evening the lounge pulsed with local energy and provided people watching of the absolute highest order.

The Taos Inn and the Adobe Bar are outstanding examples of local treasures.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    179
    80
    33
    16
See reviews for
69
309
32
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque n.m. 87120
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had visited the Taos Inn to have lunch at Doc Martin's, but always wanted to stay there. We drove up from Albuquerque (about 2 1/2 hours) in the early afternoon. We got a room immediately and found a very comfortable room with a working fireplace (REAL LOGS!) We did have to exit the rear door and walk about twenty steps to the room, but it was away from the lobby and restaurant noises. After dinner, we walked to the plaza to see the Christmas tree and decorations, then returned to the lobby to find an excellent guitar player performing both folk and country songs. We had drinks, dessert and had a wonderful evening before retiring.

Room Tip: Ask to be far from the lobby area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We arrived on the Wednasday prior to Thanksgiving. The room we reserved was on a ground floor with a fireplace. The receptionist was excellent and all the information was correct. We went directly to the room and opened a bottle of wine. The ambiance was terrific.

Since we were having Thanksgiving at Doc Martins (the Inn's excellent restaurant) we ate across the street at Gorges Grill. (excellent stacked enchelades)

On Thursday, Thanksgiving Day, we arrived for our reserved 1:00 seating. The receptionist (Jane) was a delightful Brit who wore here authentic dowdy British hat and long flowing dress right out of the 1930's. Our waitress (Laura) was a Mississippi transplant who went about her job with such aplumb that we never wanted for a thing. The turkey meal was up to par with grandmother's everywhere!

This place has been our favorite in Taos since 1975. To stay any place else is an insult to your good taste!

Room Tip: Quity a neat place. Thick Adobe walls help with outside noise. However, it is very old and the widow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in room 314 in the courtyard at the back of the the hotel, the room itself was much darker than the photo's on the hotel website suggest, nice big bed and bathroom had a lovely large shower, but there were no coffee making facilities, fridge or safe in the room.
Our room rate didn't include breakfast but for an additional charge you could order a continental style fare to take away which was ok but nothing special.
We had our evening meal in the Doc Martin Restaurant which was lovely, the service and food were both excellent. We walked around the town after dinner & returned for drinks to the Adobe bar, it was very small and when my husband went to order drinks at the bar was told quite brusqely to take a seat and a waitress would serve us, there was entertainment on in the foyer so we ended up sitting in the dining area of the bar away from the main set. (It seemed locals could stand/drink at the bar bit not guests)
We toured the states for 2 weeks and this was one of the more expensive places to stay with the least facilities, I'd have to say it was probably our most disappointing in relation to the accommodation and didn't represent very good value for money.
Highlight for us would be the Rio Grande bridge on our drive north to Durango.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are away from the street & fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this Inn. It's the only place for me in Taos, since the first stay in 1959! We stayed in a huge room upstairs in the main building then, but it's been subdivided, so I stay in an adjoining building which is also quieter. There is live music seven nights a week! And very good, I might add. What a treat to enjoy chili rellenos in Doc Martin''s restaurant or in the Adobe bar, washed down with a great Margarita, enjoy a musical evening and walk 100 yards to a lovely room! This is an Inn with a history and a heart. I can't wait to go back again, and again. Laurie

Room Tip: Check the room photos and location diagrams on the web site; if unsure, call reservations and ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Was looking for a great place to stay for a few days at the end of October, I noticed they had a Halloween party the 31st and nightly entertainment everyday. Wanted someplace right in the heart of Taos and this place is it. Charming rooms, great staff, thank you again Stacy and Rachel and the other super nice people there. After shopping and sightseeing around the plaza their great daily happy hours were perfect on the patio or inside the lobby. Doc Martins DOES have the best chili rellanos on the planet! I rarely eat at hotel restaurants but this one does have the most incredible food! The Chef Zappy White certainly shows his skills. Many locals hang out there and it is truly the living room of Taos. Our room was very charming and you'll love the fireplace on those chilly nights! Bravo Taos Inn, I can't wait to come back for next Halloween! It was a fantastic party! Haven't had so much fun in a good while.....bodie

Room Tip: In the back! Only wish there was a hottub on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karbers Ridge, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

It was like spending a night in your Grandmothers house. If you need no amenities, poor TV, no internet in your room, poor shower this is the place for you. Good location is the only positive I have..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Dennis D.-

After already having communicated with you about your frustrations regarding NM liquor law, and the lack of professional service you felt you received in our attempts to redirect you and comply with our state laws, we are frustrated to see how this incident appears to have impacted your impressions of your accommodation. Whereas the compensating adjustment you received on your invoice addressed your direct complaint regarding alcohol consumption in hotel public areas and the delivery of this information by one of our servers, I am dismayed to hear that you were also dissatisfied with your accommodations, and that we were unable to address your issues while you were here. Your feedback of staying at Grandmas is about service, and decor? Although all of our accommodations are uniquely designed and decorated, every room is appointed with contemporary high quality expected amenities. Though in room internet is not available in that particular room, WiFi is available just outside your door in the adjacent lobby. We would have been happy to move you to one of our courtyard or Helen's House rooms, all of which have in room high speed DSL. I will look into the water pressure in the shower, and am scheduling TV upgrade to a larger wall mounted flat screen. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.