We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Inn With Everything in Taos, NM.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Taos Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Taos Inn to your Saves list
The Historic Taos Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4 For 3
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Inn With Everything in Taos, NM.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

If you are looking for a unique place to stay in Northern New Mexico that is located in the center of town near the square, and is the social hub for this Pueblo art area, then the historic Taos Inn is the place to stay. The main building includes the reception area, Doc Martin's restaurant, and the Adobe Bar. The high ceiling lobby serves as the nightly musical venue featuring a variety of musical performers from 7-10 p.m. This is a place meet local artisans, musicians, and fellow travelers who appreciate a gem from the past that provides comfortable lodging.

In addition to the rooms located in the main building, there are ground level rooms located in three courtyards for those who prefer to be some distance away from the music/bar scene.

Room Tip: If you are looking to observe/participate in the social activities in the lobby area, there are room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    245
    90
    35
    16
See reviews for
101
398
45
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We fell in love with the Historic Taos Inn the first time we stayed there 20 + years ago.
Yes, most parts are old, which is what the "Historic" part of the name implies. We return a couple of times a year and are never disappointed with the peaceful and authentic accommodations, the in-house restaurant, bar and nightly live music, and the location can't be beat for easy access to the plaza, farmer's market, museums, shopping, etc. I suggest that guests not stay in the old hotel itself but the adjacent buildings (Sandia House, Helen's House, and Courtyard), for the most sense of privacy. We'll be coming back for a long time.

Room Tip: Stay away from the old rooms in the hotel itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

When we first checked in, I saw the room and it was Old. Perhaps that is where the Historic part comes in. The floors were uneven, paint chipped and cracks in the tile in the bathroom. After setting in, I noticed the nice quite feel of the room. It was made from all adobe walls which is a good insulator for sounds as well as temperatures. The grounds were quiet with small fountains placed around. We sat out on the patio in front of our room and felt so relaxed. The staff is oh so nice. Everyone from the wait staff to the front desk and restaurant were pleasent and professional. We ate all of our meals in their Doc Martin's dinner or Adobe Cafe. We had a different twist on a NM chili rellenos, rattlesnake and rabbit sausage, egg burritos and on. All of which were real good. On Saturday night there was a free band playing Blues music from 7 to 10PM. The place was packed with a nice crowd. This is also located a block or so away from the plaza where there are more places to eat and lots of shops. All and all, we had a great time and we'll be back for another relaxing stay. Look passed the OLD appearance and enjoy a friendly staff and quiet stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in an out building. The Sandoval House. One floor, with noone walking around upstairs. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed in rm 215 for two nights with my wife. Although we like older hotels with character, our bed was way too far gone (sagged in the middle) to be comfortable. On the plus side, Doc Martins had good food, the bar was quaint and it had a great location. Still, we'll look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexicotomaine, General Manager at The Historic Taos Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for your feedback regarding your mattress. Though recently upgraded to a pillow-top firm, I am wondering if the box springs fell out of alignment, which occasionally happens on our historic wooden floors, and which add the character of being anything but level. We routinely check the box springs, but it does not always come to our attention by way of a visual check. I am dismayed to learn this after the fact, as we would have been happy to address this issue during your stay. We regularly check and replace our mattresses. I certainly hope that you might give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, Ca
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had not stayed at the Taos Inn for years but decided to stay on a recent trip. The rooms are large, the beds are comfortable. However, it is an historic hotel and you cannot expect some of the things available in more modern hotels. The bathrooms are small, the closets are small. It says some rooms have Internet access but we could never work out whether our room did or not. But the rooms are very quiet and quaint and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the main building, which is noisy. The courtyard is quiet and the newer additions (Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Haven't been back in twenty years, and it's got the same quaint originality, genuine Taos but a bit askew. Nice place for sentimentality and imperfection; not for the five-star traveler who wants it all right the first time.

Room Tip: The suites really aren't worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Years ago when I stayed here it was lovely, charming, comfortable and cozy. This time, in early July, the room felt worn and outdated. And, workers outside my room (#107) at 11 PM was annoying and disturbing. But more than that, an extremely soft (old?) mattress as well as air conditioning that didn't work during the night, made this stay my last. By the way, the complimentary morning coffee in the lobby is very good!

Room Tip: Stay around the interior coutyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
0.4 mi away
El Monte Sagrado, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#6 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#7 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 17 in Taos
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Taos Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Taos Inn

Address: 125 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Taos Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quintessential adobe inn located in the heart of the historic district. Legendary Doc Martin's Restaurant on site. Live music presented nightly in the Adobe Bar, fondly dubbed by locals as "the living room of Taos". Rooms indvidually decorated and uniquely adorned, many with seasonal wood-burning fireplaces. Full service fitness center entrance and Yoga Classes at Shree Yoga Studio inclusive. "An Adventure for Visitors, a Traditon for Locals" - Travel and Liesure Magazine ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Taos Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historic Taos Hotel Taos
Historic Hotel Taos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Taos Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.