We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Save Saved
You added El Pueblo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Pueblo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Taos
Littleton, CO
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This was perfect. Excellent location, very comfortable room, good service. On a hot summer day there are very nice shaded areas to sit and relax. The breakfast was quite good - a nice lady even came around with a coffee pot and asked us if we wanted more! Even fluffy instead of scratchy towels. Definitely recommended.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    307
    218
    42
    19
    11
See reviews for
152
276
35
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We usually stay in a Best Western, but there were no openings even a month in advance in the Taos area. We looked for alternate housing and found El Pueblo Lodge. We were put in the south building, which is a one story structure with parking right in front. The rooms were very large and looked almost brand new. There was all kinds of room for our items, and the beds were very new.. We were able to walk to our restaurant, which was good because the traffic was bumper-to-bumper from some kind of weekend festival going on.
We were told it had snowed two days earlier, but it was nice weather when we were there. Would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the El Pueblo Lodge. The hotel is of typical New Mexican design, and is within walking distance of the shopping and galleries in Taos. We found the room to be comfortable, but there was a definite lack of "space" in the room. If we hadn't had a second bed in the room, we might have found it hard to put all our stuff away. The bathroom was a bit dated and could have used a refresh.

Breakfast was an ordinary continental breakfast. I was a bit disappointed that the waffles available were of the "toaster" variety, especially now that many hotels have waffle irons as part of their complimentary breakfast bar. The fresh fruit appeared to be canned. I did like the fact that they had tables both outside and inside, although the inside dining area was a bit crowded.

Overall, we were comfortable, but just a bit disappointed. But we would stay again if we were in Taos again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I can't say enough good things about this place! My husband and I stayed May 24th through May 27. The hotel was wonderful, the room was clean and the bed was the most comfortable ever! The oversized rooms were well laid out and decorated. We had a fireplace in our room with fresh stocked wood to burn every night. You have a beautiful view of Taos Mountain from the office patio, as well as coffee, hot tea and fresh cookies served daily. There is also a great expanded continental breakfast available in the mornings. Bridgette at the front desk went out of her way to accommodate us and answer all of our questions. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. It felt more like staying with friends than in a hotel. The property is within walking distance to downtown restaurants and shopping. It actually made us sad to have to leave! We will be making the El Pueblo Lodge a regular stop in New Mexico!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed the nights of the 24th and 25th of May. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was enormous!! Bottom floor with a walkout patio through sliding glass doors in back. Outdoor furniture was provided there, along with at the front door to the room. The grounds were well maintained and beautiful with attention to bringing guests together and enhancing the Taos experience.

It seems to be an older hotel but it is tastefully done and well maintained. Beamed ceilings and tastefully appointed. Centrally located and convenient to shopping, great restaurants and gorgeous views. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a long drive and arrived late to el pueblo first thing when I walk through the door the gentleman must have known I had a long drive he offered me some ice cold waters and fresh baked cookies.I was treated absolutely perfect and the room we stayed in was exceptional...old northern New Mexico style but hints of modern.Beds were awesome and everything was clean.Try this place out next visit to Taos you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Staying in hotels is always a bit of a gamble when you book online for the first time, so I always approach any place with a bit of a raised eyebrow. I was so happy to have my doubts removed when we checked into our room at El Pueblo. Booking was easy, and check-in was a breeze (It always amazes me at other big chain hotels when I book online and do everything in advance that the clerks seem to spend interminable amounts of time reconfirming everything and typing and clicking endlessly at their computer). The room is perfectly suited for us, was VERY clean, no odd smells, and the bathrooms were superb. I was immensely pleased at the decor of the room; very characteristically New Mexico, but nothing over the top. Perfectly located on the main drag of downtown Taos, everything is a pleasant walk from here. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Address: 412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pueblo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.