We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of charm and a good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Pueblo Lodge to your Saves list
El Pueblo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lots of charm and a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Clean, comfortable, friendly helpful staff. We highly recommend this because of the location. We walked to all the shops after dinner so we were able to go back to certain ones the next morning without wasting valuable time.

Room Tip: Ours was remodeled. Be sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We booked this hotel partially based on the good review on internet. This local hotel is very different from the usual franchise that we normally stay during family vacation. I was shocked to receive a few physical metal keys while checking in. Yeah, we were not disappointed. The room is very large, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast is super. The location is near the center of historical Taos. Will definitely stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I love the El Pueblo Lodge.. We stayed here the first time in 1982 on our honeymoon. This place gets better and better. The staff is awesome and the rooms are incredible. We didn't make a reservation but they more than happy to find us a room and a place to park our van and hot air balloon trailer. All that and breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BalloonCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is an old style motor inn with old, unimproved rooms located in several buildings around the lodge. The bathroom is tiny: about 2.5 feet of width before you hit the old tub/shower. and the door barely fits past your legs if you're doing your business. The sink is squeezed into a tiny alcove with no room for your toiletries -- I put mine on the window ledge for the other guests to view.

Heating and cooling is again the "old-fashioned" motor inn way with a noisy wall unit that is either ON or off. And when it's ON, you know it!

Rooms do have a little patio outside with chairs but again from the era of Leave It to Beaver. The next door property is "desert grunge" with a run down house, car parts sitting out in full view and a big "Private Property" sign on the property line in case you thought of taking a stroll into the neighbors' teardown.

The breakfast (included) area is cramped (call it "cozy" if you like being seated two feet from your chatty neighbors at breakfast, and the breakfast was limited to carbs.

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and it's located on the main strip within walking distance of the central plaza.

Since I didn't compare the other options very much, I can't really judge whether this motel is a good deal for Taos. It just seemed too expensive for what it offers (less than any bargain roadside motel).

Room Tip: don't think there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkTwainMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skibumsIdaho, General Manager at El Pueblo Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the El Pueblo. We are an older property originally a home many years ago, and transformed into a motor lodge. While you felt the rooms were unimproved, quite the contrary as we have done extensive remodeling over the past few years. All of the rooms have new beds, new tv's, and all new linens and many other upgrades that we continue to do. The retro chairs we have outside that we keep clean and in repair are reflective of the era of the El Pueblo Lodge. On our to do list, is the fence in the rear of the property to obscure the "desert grunge" which is not in the view or patio side of any building. Thank you for the shout out to the friendly and helpful staff, as we pride ourselves in making our guests as comfortable as possible. We apologize you did not have that experience and we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went for to Taos for an anniversary get-away, with our two well-behaved dogs in tow. Very large, nicely decorated clean room, super comfy bed, bathroom a bit too small (but, oh well). Our room had a little patio at both the front & back, so we could sit outside with the dogs & overlook grassy and nicely landscaped grounds . The dogs were in heaven. Looked to be a good breakfast, though we only had coffee (my husband said it was the best motel coffee he'd ever had). Location is great, center of town, so can walk all over Taos but the place itself has a feel of seclusion because the grounds are so spacious. It's not a well-kept secret. In the parking lot, we counted license plates from 15 different states (other than N.M.) on a Sunday night. Friendly accommodating staff. We're going to make it our go-to place in Taos from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor with patio at both ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I will definitely stay again at El Pueblo Lodge in Taos, NM. It had some huge pluses for me. First it's pet friendly. That's HUGE! Second, after my stay there I learned something about myself. I like staying in nice non chain lodging. Anyone can stay in a chain hotel. This motor lodge had an old school essence with a definite Southwest flair. Our large room with two queen beds was perfect for us--not over the top fancy schmancy but we were well satisfied. It was extremely well maintained, clean, and the staff there were extremely friendly and were proud of their property-as well they should be. We found the property to be centrally located and near or in the action. If you don't need a pet friendly room they have lodging with fireplaces, which intrigued me. The free breakfast buffet was in one of the coziest areas I've ever been to. The buffet had a huge assortment of items. Three charming areas to sit decorated with that Southwest flair you expect in Taos. The lady in charge of the buffet was extremely nice, as well as the entire staff. Fido loved the huge grassy area right outside our door. Loved El Pueblo!

Room Tip: if you don't have pets a room with a fireplace might be interesting….
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovechihuahuas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in a beautiful king room with a fireplace. Liked it so much we opted to stay another night. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They also provide a well stocked continental breakfast. Pet friendly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TravelGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taos
0.7 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 17 in Taos
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Fonda de Taos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#7 of 17 in Taos
3.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Address: 412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing