We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying here since 1982” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Pueblo Lodge to your Saves list
El Pueblo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Staying here since 1982”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife and I love the El Pueblo Lodge.. We stayed here the first time in 1982 on our honeymoon. This place gets better and better. The staff is awesome and the rooms are incredible. We didn't make a reservation but they more than happy to find us a room and a place to park our van and hot air balloon trailer. All that and breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    250
    50
    21
    11
See reviews for
165
331
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is an old style motor inn with old, unimproved rooms located in several buildings around the lodge. The bathroom is tiny: about 2.5 feet of width before you hit the old tub/shower. and the door barely fits past your legs if you're doing your business. The sink is squeezed into a tiny alcove with no room for your toiletries -- I put mine on the window ledge for the other guests to view.

Heating and cooling is again the "old-fashioned" motor inn way with a noisy wall unit that is either ON or off. And when it's ON, you know it!

Rooms do have a little patio outside with chairs but again from the era of Leave It to Beaver. The next door property is "desert grunge" with a run down house, car parts sitting out in full view and a big "Private Property" sign on the property line in case you thought of taking a stroll into the neighbors' teardown.

The breakfast (included) area is cramped (call it "cozy" if you like being seated two feet from your chatty neighbors at breakfast, and the breakfast was limited to carbs.

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and helpful, and it's located on the main strip within walking distance of the central plaza.

Since I didn't compare the other options very much, I can't really judge whether this motel is a good deal for Taos. It just seemed too expensive for what it offers (less than any bargain roadside motel).

Room Tip: don't think there are any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skibumsIdaho, General Manager at El Pueblo Lodge, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest, we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at the El Pueblo. We are an older property originally a home many years ago, and transformed into a motor lodge. While you felt the rooms were unimproved, quite the contrary as we have done extensive remodeling over the past few years. All of the rooms have new beds, new tv's, and all new linens and many other upgrades that we continue to do. The retro chairs we have outside that we keep clean and in repair are reflective of the era of the El Pueblo Lodge. On our to do list, is the fence in the rear of the property to obscure the "desert grunge" which is not in the view or patio side of any building. Thank you for the shout out to the friendly and helpful staff, as we pride ourselves in making our guests as comfortable as possible. We apologize you did not have that experience and we appreciate your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went for to Taos for an anniversary get-away, with our two well-behaved dogs in tow. Very large, nicely decorated clean room, super comfy bed, bathroom a bit too small (but, oh well). Our room had a little patio at both the front & back, so we could sit outside with the dogs & overlook grassy and nicely landscaped grounds . The dogs were in heaven. Looked to be a good breakfast, though we only had coffee (my husband said it was the best motel coffee he'd ever had). Location is great, center of town, so can walk all over Taos but the place itself has a feel of seclusion because the grounds are so spacious. It's not a well-kept secret. In the parking lot, we counted license plates from 15 different states (other than N.M.) on a Sunday night. Friendly accommodating staff. We're going to make it our go-to place in Taos from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for room on first floor with patio at both ends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

I will definitely stay again at El Pueblo Lodge in Taos, NM. It had some huge pluses for me. First it's pet friendly. That's HUGE! Second, after my stay there I learned something about myself. I like staying in nice non chain lodging. Anyone can stay in a chain hotel. This motor lodge had an old school essence with a definite Southwest flair. Our large room with two queen beds was perfect for us--not over the top fancy schmancy but we were well satisfied. It was extremely well maintained, clean, and the staff there were extremely friendly and were proud of their property-as well they should be. We found the property to be centrally located and near or in the action. If you don't need a pet friendly room they have lodging with fireplaces, which intrigued me. The free breakfast buffet was in one of the coziest areas I've ever been to. The buffet had a huge assortment of items. Three charming areas to sit decorated with that Southwest flair you expect in Taos. The lady in charge of the buffet was extremely nice, as well as the entire staff. Fido loved the huge grassy area right outside our door. Loved El Pueblo!

Room Tip: if you don't have pets a room with a fireplace might be interesting….
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed in a beautiful king room with a fireplace. Liked it so much we opted to stay another night. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They also provide a well stocked continental breakfast. Pet friendly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, North Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was a good place to use as a base for exploring Taos. Very close to lots of sights. Room had two comfortable beds and bathroom though dated, was very cheery and comfortable. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was more than enough. The lady helping at breakfast was a charmer, always ensuring that everyone had enough coffee. She seemed to really enjoy her work and was dedicated to it. Price as very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This place isn't fancy, but our room was clean and comfortable. It's within walking distance of the Plaza, so that's a boon with parking at a premium. We didn't eat the breakfast, so don't know about its quality. (With Michael's right down the street, that's our breakfast preference!)

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms with balconies are our choice, but you must be in pretty good shape to do the sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Address: 412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pueblo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.