We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old New Mexico Flavor With Today's Comforts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Pueblo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Pueblo Lodge to your Saves list
El Pueblo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old New Mexico Flavor With Today's Comforts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A great place to stay in Taos. El Pueblo is an easy walk to the town square, is quiet, has ample parking and very nice green space for quiet, outdoor relaxation. The rooms are quite large, and there are new mattresses and bedding that made our night's sleep divine. The complimentary breakfast is well balanced and varied: yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, toast and breakfast breads, hard boiled eggs, juices and coffee. This is our fourth or fifth stay - it was a happy discovery and we will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    250
    50
    21
    11
See reviews for
165
331
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

For a refreshing change from chain hotels, the El Pueblo Lodge is just the ticket. It's handy to the historic downtown area, but right on a major highway so easy to find and get in and out of. The Lodge is laid out with rooms in clusters rather than one or two long blocks, so there's lots of green space and attractive walkways around the grounds. My room, a king, was large tasteful and even had a sofa, a table and chairs, and a nice view of the grounds. The breakfast was made to order (but included in the room rate). Everyone was cheerful and helpful. I had an unexpected change of plans and was only able to stay one night instead of the two I had booked. But the front desk staff handled the situation with ease (and no charge for the late change) and seemed to be genuinely sorry I had to move on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I got one of the rooms away near the back on the upper floor that was super quiet and relaxing. Trees all around. Had a great sleep. The complimentary breakfast was great, the staff friendly.
I really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed after Christmas 2012 because Sipapu Ski Resort could not give us the same room for five days. We stayed at Sipapu for two days and then El Pueblo for three. We cannot over state how much we preferred El Pueblo, in spite of having to drive to the slopes. The beds were extremely comfortable, Lupita in the breakfast room was very helpful, and the afternoon cookies were a nice touch. We cannot think of any reason to try another place in Taos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purcell, OK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed on the El Pueblo Lodge in late November while traveling through the area. Easy to find, nice location. Check in was fast and easy. Somedays it's nice to be able to park the car right in front of the door of the room. Nice sized room nicely themed in traditional decorations. My immediate thought was, “how does this place get #1 on Trip Adviser?” Then I went into the bathroom. It was probably twice the size of the average hotel bathroom, with nice southwestern touches. You could tell this is where they put their money.

The bed was comfortable, we didn't have any problems with noise – either outside or neighbors. We slept well and were ready for the next day.

Overall, it was good room at a good price and if in Taos, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I don't believe I have stayed at a better and more accommodating hotel than this one!!! Our ski club of 34 folks came up this time over New Years Eve weekend by sleeper bus. Although we arrived at 6:30 a.m., way before our rooms would be ready, we were given access to a meeting room to drop our luggage, change clothes, clean up and go skiing. When we returned from the slopes, our wonderful rooms were ready and we were quickly checked in. However, we were given access to the meeting room our entire trip so the guys could watch football games together, etc. From the folks who helped us with our breakfast, to the folks who worked the front desk and were constantly answering our questions and trying to help us get info on local restaurants and sights, to the maintenance guys, to the guy who helped some carry luggage, this place absolutely is the best!!! This is our ski club's second time staying here, and we will be staying here again next year, so I'm nervous about praising them too much and not being able to secure rooms in the future, but they sure do deserve the praise!

FYI, if you are coming with a group like we did, you might want to arrange for at least one person to rent a car in advance to get around and get to some of the tourist sights. This hotel is within walking distance to town, but Taos does not have a good taxi service to get you to some of the sights further away.

Room Tip: The rooms with the fireplace are really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This motel gave good value. We booked via Tingo pre-paid so we did not have a fireplace. The breakfast area was warm and cheery, with an extremely friendly and attentive hostess; the desk staff was very friendly. The location is convenient. It worked out nicely for our first short visit to Taos and we would use it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Pueblo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Pueblo Lodge

Address: 412 Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Taos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Taos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Pueblo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on four beautifully landscaped acres on the north side of Taos, we are a short walk to the Historic Taos Plaza, in addition to shops, galleries and world class restaurants. Taos Pueblo and Taos Mountain Casino are one mile away and Taos Ski Valley only a short drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Pueblo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Pueblo Hotel Taos
El Pueblo Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pueblo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.