We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gutiz

Gutiz
812B Paseo del Pueblo Norte, Taos, NM 87571
+1 575-758-1226
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 108 Restaurants in Taos
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: French, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: A favorite among locals and tourists alike, Gutiz serves creative Latin-French cuisine at affordable prices.
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Pricey and small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I ate here once when I drove my neighbor to town and he took me here to treat me to breakfast. The food was tasty, but the portions were small. (What the menu says is a tower of scrambled eggs is NOT a tower.) An hour later, I was hungry again.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    43
    6
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unique eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Enjoyed "brunch" at Gutiz. The sweet bread, used in the French toast, was grilled and covered with a tasty blueberry reduction. The pollo barracho was so good with a golden brown crust and seasoned with a hint of herb. Crust hid a large portion of drunken chicken and vegetables inside. Also had the desert pear lemonade which was really good. Great spot in Taos for breakfast or lunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

If you like chocolate croissants this is the place! The food is interesting and yummy. I love the beet salad. I gave it a four because although the food is stellar sometimes it is quite the wait. The servers are nice but I always plan on it being a "leisurely" meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We got good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

So sorry that others had a bad experience with service. We had lunch there today and the service was excellent. We were greeted as we walked in, had to wait about 5 minutes for a table to open up (the place was packed!), but the table was cleared and ready for us in about 30 seconds! They allowed this pair of seniors to order from the children's menu - always appreciated by those of us with smaller appetites! The French toast with fresh fruit and maple syrup was delicious! So was the Pasta Bowl, with steak, fresh tomatoes, noodles, etc.) We found Gutiz to be a friendly, happy spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Horrible service. The women serving couldn't have been more inattentive. Food took forever to be served. Ignored for water/lemonade refills. Took too long to get our check; so many missed eye contact opportunities. They flat out ignored their customers. The lunches were just okay. It just didn't at all live up to the hype. Take your business elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gutiz also viewed

 

Been to Gutiz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gutiz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.