We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pueblo Balloon Company

Pueblo Balloon Company
Taos, NM 87571
+1 575-751-9877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Activities in Taos
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Riding the soft desert winds is the perfect way to celebrate your special occasions with friends, family or when there is romance in the air. And, there is no better place to enjoy it than around Taos. We fly the scenic Rio Grande Gorge as it cuts through the high desert mesa like a 650 ft. deep Grand Canyon. The famous Rio Grande River gently flows through it. As we're gently gliding and enjoying the beautiful panoramas we drop down into the Gorge and kiss the river for the most thrilling balloon ride anywhere. We see baby coyotes, deer, mountain goats and elk in the Spring, blossoming flowers, bushes and cacti in Summer, the colorful changing Fall foliage and the beautiful snow covered Sangre de Cristo Mountains in the Winter - there is always majestic beauty everywhere! Join us for your adventure of a lifetime today!
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is our only hot air balloon experience, so I hardly know how to rate it, except that the ride was so smooth and silky, we scarcely knew we were off the ground. Ed was a great pilot, very laid back, yet careful and responsible. The views were incredible-out over the mesa and through the Rio Grande Gorge. It is really a neat way to see the topography and landscape which I find so interesting. All of the crew were so friendly and personable and worked very hard. It was surely an education in just how much effort goes into setting up and taking down a balloon, for sure. Had lots of apprehension about this adventure before we went, but it was a breeze and I'm so glad we did it.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience -- Can't Wait To Go Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We had heard about Pueblo Balloon Company (PBC) from some friends who had traveled to Taos earlier in the summer and were excited, and a little nervous, about taking our first hot air balloon ride. PBC did not disappoint. The van that picked us up arrived promptly at our hotel at 6am. The driver and his mates were friendly and very knowledgeable. While driving to and once we arrived at the site, they shared with us tons of information about ballooning in the area (and the U.S.) . Given the inherent risks in ballooning, we were told way in advance that unless the weather conditions were just right, our trip might be cancelled (and we wouldn't be charged, of course.) At the launch site, we spent nearly an hour waiting to see if the wind and early morning cloud/rain would clear up enough for us to go. Rather than "pushing" it and take unnecessary risks, the PBC team were adamant that conditions be ideal and almost cancelled the trip. When we told them we didn't mind waiting another 30-60 minutes to see if conditions improved, they were game and eventually the sky cleared up and winds calmed down. During our spectacular flight, we learned so much about ballooning. We flew into the Rio Grande Gorge and saw big horned sheep running on the hillside. The ride was smooth and controlled and we never once felt uneasy during flight. Once on the ground, we had the traditional champagne breakfast and heard some fun stories on the history of ballooning. Overall, a great experience that we would recommend to anyone who visits the Taos area!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amalia, NM
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gorgeous flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

I flew with Pueblo Balloon Company with my daughter and 8 year old grandson. My grandson and I are both afraid of heights but this did not scare either of us. The flight was a fantastic experience, going down into the Rio Grande Gorge and then flying over the adjacent terrain. I'd floated down the gorge on a raft but you get a totally different view from a balloon. Simply amazing!

The pilot, Kris, was very professional and explained what he was doing. The rest of the crew were very nice too. The owner, Ed, gave us a lesson on local history as we drove to the launch site. The champagne brunch after landing was fun and filling.

This is an experience everyone should do at least once. I hope to go again. On landing, my grandson asked, "When is the soonest I can go again?"

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Balloon Ride in New Mexico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Looking for a truly memorable experience? Look no further than Pueblo Balloon Company in Taos Pueblo takes you on the ride of your life high above and down into the Rio Grande Gorge! The scenery is unbeatable – much better than your standard balloon ride over desert landscape. They take you soaring high up over the desert, and then you descend right into the Rio Grande gorge almost low enough to touch the water! In fact, we were told on some trips the passengers do get their feet wet (they call that the dip and drip)! But even though you feel you may scrape a canyon wall or end up swimming in the Rio Grande, the pilots are very safe, truly understand the wind currents of the gorge, and really know what they are doing. A perfect safety record is not by accident. We went up with two other balloons. Our pilot Chris made the experience truly unforgettable, but each of the other balloon’s passengers was equally enthusiastic about their pilots when we had the champagne brunch afterwards at the Gorge Bridge. You even have time to walk across the amazing Rio Grande Gorge Bridge before heading home. So if you have always wanted to go ballooning, this is the best place and Pueblo Balloon is the company to check this off your bucket list!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Cool ride of hot balloon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

Don't be afraid. The flight is smooth and quite. Very safe We were lucky to have Chris as our Piotr. He is professional and took us into the gorge, touching the water and flying through the canyon. A lifetime experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pueblo Balloon Company also viewed

 

Been to Pueblo Balloon Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pueblo Balloon Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.