We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated and overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kit Carson Home &Museum

Kit Carson Home &Museum
113 Kit Carson Rd, Taos, NM 87571
505 758 4945
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 69 things to do in Taos
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Purchased by famed cowboy Kit Carson for his bride in 1843, this 3-room adobe home displays artifacts, antique firearms and other pioneer belongings, Kit Carson memorabilia and an exhaustive supply of books about New Mexico.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

There is simply not much to see in this museum. Two small almost unfurnished rooms.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    60
    28
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“I very small home that holds a lot of history.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I visited this home on at least 2 occasions. It is very interesting to see how differently we live today from those in the past.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We wanted to experience Taos, and my husband was looking forward to this museum. Upon entrance, you watch a 15-20 minute dvd from the History Channel, then walk through the 4 rooms of the house (bring a warm coat in the winter...house isn't well heated and we were cold).

There wasn't really a lot of Kit Carson in this museum, and wishing we had just purchased the DVD and watched it at home.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good Guy? . . Yes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Loved reading about Kit Carsons good side! His home is well worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For What They Had - It Was Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

The museum is 3 rooms of the Kit Carson house, and the exhibits and History Channel video of Kit Carson - starring Kit Carson's great, great grandson as Kit - do a wonderful job explaining who Kit Carson was and how he figured so prominently into the history of Taos and the West. The docent was really helpful and very knowledgeable. My daughter, 10, was done with the museum in 5 minutes, but my teenage son really enjoyed the experience. As he said, ' I had no idea who Kit Carson was, but they did a fantastic job explaining who he was and what he did.' High praise indeed from a 16 year old. I'm glad it did not cost more for admission. It took us about an hour to get through the museum, including the video.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kit Carson Home &Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kit Carson Home &Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kit Carson Home &Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.