We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the admission” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taos Pueblo

Taos Pueblo
120 Veterans Highway, Taos, NM 87571
575 758 1028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 36 Attractions in Taos
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Reservations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taos Pueblo is the only living Native American community designated both a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and a National Historic Landmark. The multi-storied adobe buildings have been continuously inhabited for over 1000 years. We welcome you to visit our village when you travel to northern New Mexico.Taos Pueblo Hours: Monday - Saturday 8:00am-4:00pm and Sunday 8:30am-4:00pm.Guided Tours available daily starting at 9:00 am.Pueblo Shops open daily.Taos Pueblo is expected to be open for the winter season. Any closures would be due to unexpected events within the community and will be posted on our official website.
Lakewood, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Worth the admission”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Yes, the admission fee is a little high. But how much do people pay for a cup of latte at Starbucks? This Pueblo is a stroll through history. While visiting, respect the fact that you are entering someone's home and are their guest. Speaking to the residents was the high point of our visit. It gave us the opportunity to learn a little bit about their Native American culture. It was a pleasure to be greeted by song and drums when we arrived at one of the artist's home. Strongly recommend that you take the time to visit the Taos Pueblo if you are ever in Taos.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    264
    91
    63
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Culture tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great insight into meeting the Pueblo people and talking with them about their heritage and seeing how a pueblo is designed and built.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Local History.. A must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We made a special effort to go to the Taos Pueblo while visiting Taos. The local native americans, some of which who still live at the Pueblo, give a tour, which covers a complete history of the Pueblo. Very interesting, not too long.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not as good as a few years ago.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

This was our second visit to the Taos Pueblo, and it has changed in recent years. It is worth a visit to see the oldest, continuously inhabited dwelling in the U.S., with the dwellings still maintained in the original manner. The adobe is resurfaced each year, and the dwellings have no running water or electricity.

However, it is expensive, and it was disappointing to see the huge decrease in the number of quality craftspeople. There were only a few artisans selling their own work, and it wasn't the quality of several years ago. Most were selling tourist junk - t-shirts, baskets from the Philippines,

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Spiritual awakening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

When you enter the Taos Pueblo, allow your mind to wander back to stories from your childhood of the Pueblos and its people. I felt like I was standing on holy ground. There is a real spirituality to the whole experience. It is hard to believe that these structures have withstood some of the harshest weather conditions in the US. Yet, these pueblos are still standing and still beautiful. The people are very kind, knowledgeable and willing to share their heritage with you. It is amazing to stand on the dusty floor of the Pueblo and gaze upon the snow-covered mountains that lie ahead. There is even a river, that rushes through the Navajo land. It is known for its healing powers. I participated in a silent ritual there that one of the natives shared with me and am praying that the river heals me too, as it has so many others. Traveling there and experiencing it firsthand will make you a believer!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Pueblo also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Taos Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taos Pueblo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.