We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shop Taos Pueblo first” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taos Pueblo

Taos Pueblo
120 Veterans Highway, Taos, NM 87571
575 758 1028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 36 Attractions in Taos
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Neighborhoods, Reservations, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taos Pueblo is the only living Native American community designated both a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and a National Historic Landmark. The multi-storied adobe buildings have been continuously inhabited for over 1000 years. We welcome you to visit our village when you travel to northern New Mexico.Taos Pueblo Hours: Monday - Saturday 8:00am-4:00pm and Sunday 8:30am-4:00pm.Guided Tours available daily starting at 9:00 am.Pueblo Shops open daily.Taos Pueblo is expected to be open for the winter season. Any closures would be due to unexpected events within the community and will be posted on our official website.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Shop Taos Pueblo first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We shopped in historic Taos around the square, which was fine and the store clerks were nice enough. The day we were leaving town, we went to Taos Pueblo expecting a history lesson in the 1,000 + year old buildings. To my pleasant surprise, the Taos Indian people also have store fronts in the pueblo. We found many of the same Indian items (authentic jewelry, crafts, pottery, and art) that we found on the square. The items at the pueblo were being sold for a fraction of the cost that they were sold on the square. Of course, it costs money to get into Taos Pueblo, but the historic buildings and sites are worth the cost. The Indian people selling the items were very kind and talked to us about how things were made and the meaning in the art. Many of the people selling the items were also the same artisans that had made them. If you are looking for authentic Indian crafts, shop Taos Pueblo first!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    264
    91
    63
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well worth while visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is our favorite place in Taos. Visit the Pueblo and enjoy the ancient ones!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Historic Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The history of the Pueblo is full of fascination, tragedy and triumph so much so that we were aamazed that so much of the Peblo still stands. We visited on a bitterly cold day but took refuge in the warmth of many of the Pueblo Indian artisans/shopkeepers. A special highlight was Sonny's Jewelry shop. he is an internationally renowned jewelry designer/artisan. He is gentle soul full of local history, perspective and tips. Steer clear of imposter shops that sell jewelry from China and go to Sonny's for authentic pieces. Our children also surprisingly enjoyed running around the open space of the Pueblo marveling at how people once and still lived. A must-see in Taos.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, New Jersey
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“A living UNESCO World Heritage site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We visited on the strength of published guidebooks and the UNESCO World Heritage site status. This is indeed an interesting, unusual attraction. The high point - the multi-story pueblo buildings are built and maintained (using subsidies from UNESCO) in the exact same way they were centuries ago. Some of the one-story buildings are mostly authentic, but might have (for example) tar-paper roofs to reduce maintenance. None of the buildings have electricity or running water.

Quite a few of the buildings have jewelry, craft, or food shops in them, usually with the maker of the goods behind the table. These locations also do not have electricity or running water, but skylights provide enough light to examine what's for sale. There's a small river running through the adobe village, with sturdy bridges across it. However, the bridges and the embankment are not fenced, so you'll have to watch your smaller children carefully. It can be dusty, sunny, and windy here.

This was the most worthwhile "Pueblo" visit we made in northern New Mexico. But the price of authenticity was a hint of squalor. I don't mean to be unfair to the decision of these tribal people to maintain a living museum of their historical way of life. But you might feel awkward if you were to imagine an Appalachian "holler" where a decision was made to keep electricity and plumbing out, and have people live there full-time, while giving dulcimer concerts and selling handmade goods. Please don't let me talk you out of visiting - this project needs your money. I just want to give the whole picture.

The optional guided tour was informative and good. The guides work only for tips, so I gave ours $5. Her description of her own life was helpful, having been given a choice when she became a teenager to stay in the historic pueblo, or move to a modern tribal area. She also gave a detailed description of the Federal confiscation of their vast tribal lands, and the restoration to them of the most important, sacred Blue Lake section by Ronald Regan.

Besides admission, we also paid to park and for a camera permit tag. We were there on a regular kind of day, so there were no crowds, no outside vendors, and no performances. We were free to walk around without an escort. But we were told (quite reasonably) not to walk into open doorways that did not have an invitation sign. They are private residences.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“World Heritage Site - New Mexico Native Indian Village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Access the pueblo site is $10 and there is a fee per camera and since I think my pics are as good as any postcards its worth the fee. Wear flat walking shoes as the site is as dusty as pictured and occasional winds can stir up minor dust storms. Dress is very casual.

" Taos Pueblo is the only living Native American community designated both a World Heritage Site by UNESCO and a National Historic Landmark. The multi-storied adobe buildings have been continuously inhabited for over 1000 years."

It is important to remember that this site is in fact a neighborhood of people who live on the site, therefor it is not unusual to see people working on the buildings, sitting near the Kivas talking and just milling about. And no I don't think its cool to take pictures of strangers without asking, even when you go into the shops, ask before you start snapping away.
To be clear the site is set up to make money so the vendors do peddle their wares and the prices can be a bit steep for "authentic" Indian made items. Authentic is in quotes because some of the pottery items are replicas are via China so be sure to ck before you buy. It was an interesting visit.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taos Pueblo also viewed

 
Taos, Taos County
 

Been to Taos Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taos Pueblo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.