We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean! Excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1040 North California, Socorro, NM 87801   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Patchogue, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very clean! Excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip. The room and the rest of the hotel was immaculate! The free breakfast is above average compared with other hotels I've stayed at that offer the same. The pool was not open though. It was being renovated so they let us use the pool at the hotel next store without a problem. Its is located right off the expressway and within walking distance to most of the better restaurants in town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    79
    15
    3
    6
See reviews for
35
45
11
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
206 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
415 helpful votes 415 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Typical Holiday Inn Express. No surprises or disappointments. Good housekeeping throughout property & everything in good condition. Not much choice in this town, so this is probably the best quality facility. A Best Western right next door is owned by the same person -- the town's Mayor -- so it may be in equally good condition though we did not visit. Nearest town of Belen (40 miles) also has a Holiday Inn Express, & will be 25-30% less for almost identical accommodations. Socorro has a College & some State training facilities, so it keeps all motel room rates significantly higher than NM towns of similar size.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

On a road trip in NM we stayed four nights at the HIE Socorro. The room was a king suite and we enjoyed our stay. The extra room was worth the price to us.

We had a problem with the first room we were given. A hamburger chain has a restaurant right next door and cooking odors came right through the a/c into our room. The staff was very helpful and moved us across the hall to the north side. This room turned out to be odor free and after a rough start, we enjoyed the rest of our stay.

You can bet that we will stay at the HIE on our next trip to Socorro. And, you can bet I will be asking for a room on the north side.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the hamburger joint on the south side of HIE Socorro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor which lead us to this place. Easy to find. Nothing special, the appearance of the hotel is okay. Inside is average. They offered afternoon snacks . This place a kind of busy with somekind of company meeting. In the morning again it's full of them in the breakfast area. Maybe we stayed there a wrong day & time. Other than that everything is okay. The one that I don't like , when I was in the elevator this man asked me, where I am going, who I am with ? That's scary. I hope every corner has a camera esp. inside the elevator .I am not sure if we will stay here again. Staffs were fine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sure this is a Holiday Inn Express, but there are little extras provided that set it apart from a second HI Exp. in another city that we stayed at the following night.
The in-room refrigerator was a plus, also had a coffeemaker and micro, however we didn't use those. There's coffee in the breakfast room all day and night, helpful when we were awake at 3am. Someone set out cookies and dessert squares in the evening, and also chips and salsa. We grabbed a couple of cookies, but took a pass on the rest, but it was a nice, unexpected gesture for weary travelers. We left at 5:30am before the breakfast was officially served, but found bagels, yogurt, fruit, and a few other items available at that time, so we took some for the road.
Bottles of water were available for the taking, kept cold in the breakfast room.
The room was spacious, clean, and everything was in up-to-date working order. The staff that we encountered were professional. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel for a night or two, while passing through town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stay here a lease twice a year.. This hotel has been improved. The front desk personal where great, and did their best to help in anyway possible. I needed a quite space and they opened up the conference room for me.

Room Tip: All room have been improved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear ted e,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. It is nice to hear that you are a regular visitor to the hotel. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is the best there is in Socorro. It is clean and well maintained. The staff is helpful and friendly. Snacks are put out every night which is a nice touch. They have no problem with guest hanging out in the eating area at any time. Eliot at the front desk was very helpful with any question we had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1040 North California, Socorro, NM 87801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Socorro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Socorro Hotel near New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology.Business travelers will be pleased that our Socorro, NM hotel's convenient location provides easy access to a number of corporate groups such as BBS, United Mineral, Viva Motors, Allied Research, Dicaperl Minerals and the Macey Center. We offer a well-equipped meeting room, as well.Ideally located near historic downtown Socorro, NM, the Holiday Inn Express is just minutes from the area's Municipal Airport and the New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology, as well as a variety of exciting local sites.Guests of our comfortable Socorro accommodations can relax and enjoy local attractions such as historic downtown Socorro, the San Miguel Mission, the Hammel Museum, Bosque del Apache Wildlife Refuge, El Camino Real Heritage Center and the Mineral Museum. Visitors can spend an afternoon rock-climbing or hiking at Box Canyon and Water Canyon or golfing at the championship-level New Mexico Tech Golf Course.During your visit to Socorro, NM, take advantage of our free high-speed, wireless Internet access, well-equipped fitness center, spectacular indoor pool and whirlpool, 24-hour business center, on-site self-laundry facilities and complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Be sure to check out our friendly Socorro hotel's excellent deals and rates while planning for your trip to beautiful New Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Socorro
Holiday Inn Express Socorro
Holiday Inn Socorro
Socorro Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.