We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice middle range price for overnight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Socorro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Socorro to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Socorro
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1009 N California St, Socorro, NM 87801 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice middle range price for overnight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel. The owners are doing a great job of upgrading the property. Nice, clean room w/ king bed; marble vanity, separate from stool and shower. Breakfast was adequate with coffee and other items constantly refilled. Only down side was the noisy heater. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
" keep smiling "
" Smiling face wins the world "
Thank you for Choosing Sococrro ABVI,Nm.....
Thank you for giving us goodfeed back....
we alwayas try to all our Guest Very Happy with us.
we always do hard working in our property. and we try to get no.1 property in Socorro,NM.
we always try to give very best level service for all our Guest., and I hope in future also you can stay with us. Thank you again......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    40
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
24
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

If price is important and you just need a place to sleep then this motel is very good value. Althought we don't think we had one of the updated rooms, the room was fine.
The heate/air conditioner was loud when it came on. It did wake us up at one point and a comment was "Are we at the end of the runway?".
The coffee was pretty bad so we believe management are just not coffee drinkers.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the updated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
" keep smiling "
" Smiling face wins the world "
Thank you for Choosing Sococrro ABVI,Nm.....
Thank you for giving us goodfeed back....
we alwayas try to all our Guest Very Happy with us.
we always do hard working in our property. and we try to get no.1 property in Socorro,NM.
we always try to give very best level service for all our Guest., and I hope in future also you can stay with us. Thank you again......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

. it is close to the interstate and 2 syllabl t it is close to the interstate and to several restaurants the front staff work reace all we were looking for was a nice clean motel for 8 on our trip from Oklahoma back to Arizon and this motel more than that are expectation

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
" keep smiling "
" Smiling face wins the world "
Thank you for Choosing Sococrro ABVI,Nm.....
Thank you for giving us goodfeed back....
we alwayas try to all our Guest Very Happy with us.
we always do hard working in our property. and we try to get no.1 property in Socorro,NM.
we always try to give very best level service for all our Guest., and I hope in future also you can stay with us. Thank you again......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesilla, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I came down for the Festival Of the Cranes at Bosque Del Apache. Took advantage of discount for 3+ nights $45/night! Great deal for a large, clean, quiet room. Fridge & microwave included. Large TV sat on top of the TV armoire, which gave me lots of room for my optical gear, cold weather clothes & box of kitchen/camp gear.

The hotel has been recently updated. The building is older but freshly repainted, new slab granite in bath surround and spacious sink area. Nice sundries provided in room. This pace was originally built well. I never heard the baby crying next door, though I saw the family come and go with at least two very young children.

Nice large desk with comfortable chair, free & fast internet connection. Comfy chair over by the heater for kicking back with your feet up. The heater unit was efficient and QUIET! As well the fridge was NOT NOISY! I slept well here. Good mattress, pillows, double sheeted under & over the blanket.

Location was very WALKABLE. Large grocery, gas station, bistro dining & brewery with in 2 blocks. Close enough to the Old Historic Plaza to walk if you have time for a stroll. Easy on/off freeway.

Real breakfast foods available from 5am. Good coffee, teas, hot chocolate, cereals, 2 fresh fruit choices, hard boiled eggs and sausage biscuit sandwiches. Lots of choice.

Room Tip: Though this place is near freeway on ramps, I had NO traffic noise in my west side room facing the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
" keep smiling "
" Smiling face wins the world "
Thank you for Choosing Sococrro ABVI,Nm.....
Thank you for giving us goodfeed back....
we alwayas try to all our Guest Very Happy with us.
we always do hard working in our property. and we try to get no.1 property in Socorro,NM.
we always try to give very best level service for all our Guest., and I hope in future also you can stay with us. Thank you again......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The room was well priced and located close to Interstate. The first thing we found was a dead roach in the bathroom...luckily no more were seen. The decor, bedding and linens need some updating. Probably won't stay there again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I am dj gm from abvi socoroo,nm.Thank you for choosing socorro abvi,nm.I am so sorry for
inconviation. so i want to inform you we just bought this property in 2012. so we know very well
and we allready working for upgrade this property.so, I hope that your next visit with us you can see something change in property, and we will make your stay very happy with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed while in town for the APS 4 Corners Conference at New Mexico Tech (October 26th-27th). Nice, clean room, decent smell, soap and towels provided. Room had all amenities... microwave, coffee maker, TV, blow dryer, even an iron and ironing board that came in very handy (to iron my dress shirt before my presentation). Parking lot was clean and safe (lots of other folks staying that night). Would recommend it and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank You Choosing Socorro,nm-ABVI.
"Keep Smiling...Smiling Face Wins The World..."
Thank You Giving Us Good Feedback.
Always We Will Try To Make Our All Guest Very Happy With us.
We Want To Bring Our Brand Top Level.So,We Will Provied Best Service From Our Team,
Thank You Again,See in Future....Have A Nice Day......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've had good luck over the past couple of years with America's Best Value Inns, and the one in Socorro, NM continues that luck. Nothing fancy, as expected, but neat and clean and there aren't any unexpected multi-legged creatures occupying the room.

Room Tip: Right on the main drag on the north end of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIPAK G, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank You For Choosing ABVI,Socorro,NM.and Thank you again for gave us Good Feedback,

" KEEP SMILING..." " SMILING FACE WINS THE WORLD "

we are working very hardly with our property, We try make our All Guest Very Happy With us.

This is the NEW MANAGEMENT SERVICE, and This is the New Americas Best Value Inn,

SOCORRO,NM.

Thank You Again,And See You In Your Next Visit at ABVI, Socorro,NM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Socorro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Socorro

Address: 1009 N California St, Socorro, NM 87801 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Socorro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Socorro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Socorro 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Socorro located off I-25, exit 150. We invite our guests to enjoy our free continental breakfast in our lobby. We invite business travelers to take advantage of our meeting space. Our hotel offers conveniences such as free wireless Internet access in all rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV with ESPN, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, desk with lamp, free local calls and wake-up service. Children age 14 and younger stay free in their parent's room with existing bedding. Pets are welcome for a small charge. Americas Best Value Inn Socorro offers comfortable accommodations, affordable rates and a friendly front desk staff to help you feel at home. Socorro, ideally located in the Rio Grande Valley is full of a multitude of outdoor recreation including hiking, rock climbing, biking, and fishing. Our Socorro hotel is close to several attractions including Sedillo Park, Hammel Museum, El Camino Real International Heritage Center, Very Large Array (VLA,an astronomical radio observatory), Escondida Lake Park, Bosque del Apache National Wildlife Refuge and Water Canyon Campground. Join in for our annual events including Community Youth Fishing Derby, NM State Science Fair NM Tech Campus, and Socorro County Arts Spring held in March. Be sure to check-out local eateries such as Socorro Springs Brewing Company and Restaurant-Barbaras Dream Kitchen and LJ's Branding Iron BBQ. At Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Socorro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Socorro Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Socorro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Socorro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.