We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic desert location but close to the restaurants and facilities of El Paso and surrounding villages” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa de Suenos Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Teresa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa de Suenos Country Inn
Save
You added Casa de Suenos Country Inn to your Saves list
405 Mountain Vista St S, Santa Teresa, NM 88021   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Santa Teresa B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fantastic desert location but close to the restaurants and facilities of El Paso and surrounding villages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Casa de Suenos is a simply beautiful country inn for anyone wanting peace and quiet and a sense of the desert - yet close tothe outskirts of El Paso with fantastic restaurants and all the facilities of a big city.
Innkeepers George and Marlene went out of their way to make our stay comfortable; we felt very much 'at home'. The guest rooms are spacious, clean and decorated in south-western style. Breakfasts are served in the fine dining room; again, with every attention to detail - home-made breads, fresh fruit, fine coffee, good tea (important to us people from England!).
We spent our evenings among good company on the spacious terrace overlooking the desert, the lights of El Paso and high mountain ranges which turned all shades of gold and purple as the sun set and the moon rose. A great place to relax - which is just what we did.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
17
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Beautifully decorated; unbelievably comfortable; 5 Star breakfasts---you can even 'order'!; Very quiet for that special get away.

Bring a nice bottle or two of wine and a picnic basket of cheese, fruit and crackers for that early evening treat while you watch the sunset with the lights of El Paso rising.

This even comes with two lovable dogs, one with a very special smile, who would eagerly join you for a stroll into the desert anytime.

The hosts, Marlene and George, are a wealth of service, smiles and comfort!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Gracious, sweet hosts. Clean, comfy room. Gorgeous common space with awesome views. Went for a morning jog in the desert silence! Wish I could've stayed more than a night. Stayed there for business in El Paso and it was so relaxing to stay outside of that less-then-thrilling city.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

Casa de Suenos had great ambiance. However, what a dull breakfast! She just asked us how we wanted our eggs and that was it. No special baked goods, no special coffee, etc.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

This has to be as much a thank you as a review. Thank you Marlene and George for your beautiful place, the views, the silence and the yummy bed. Thank you for the excellent breakfast, how can i make your salsa! Thank you for having a place where the full moon rose last night and was breathtaking, thank you for the beautiful sitting room with a book I had been looking for for months. The attention to detail at this small b&b is incredible. if you love New Mexico, you will love this place. last night i just sat on the back patio while the moon rose, there is a meditation area where i welcomed in my birthday. The best.

  • Liked — beautiful details
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

Without a doubt this was the best place I have stayed during my trip to New Mexico, Arizona and Colorado.
It's on the outskirts of El Paso and only has a dirt road leading up to it: you wonder where you'll end up.
Well, it has:
- two friendly dogs
- a great view on the surrounding mountains
- rocking chairs
- breakfast cooked when en whatever you like
- hummingbirds
- large bedrooms with books and other stuff to browse
- complimentary drinks and snacks
- modern pleasures like TV and wireless internet
- welcoming owners
- only 4 guest rooms
- absolute quiet location but within 10 minutes drive to many shops and restaurants

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

***Winner: TripAdvisor's Best Photos of a Hotel With No Photos Contest***

Our family stayed at Casa de Suenos in July, taking three of the four rooms. This was a sad occasion for us as we were in the area for a funeral but it was also sort of a family reunion as three siblings and spouses from different parts of the country got together for a long weekend.

We chose the Casa over other El Paso area hotels due to the proximity to the west side of town where our parents had lived for 20 years. We also wanted the intimacy of a B&B. This turned out to be the perfect place for us. The common areas in the courtyard and the huge back patio overlooking the mountains and desert were wonderful for spending time together. We enjoyed sitting out on the large communal patio every morning with our cups of coffee and every evening with our bottle of wine.

Unlike most B&Bs each room had also had a private entrance with a place to park your car just outside your small private patio.

Marlene and George made us feel completely at home. Abi was a wonderful hostess as well! And the visiting neighbor dogs Peanut and Charlie Brown accompanied us on our daily walks along the mesa.

The rooms were charmingly decorated in the New Mexican theme with Indian style prints and decorations. Each room was different but all had comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Bathrooms had lots of counter space and thick bathrobes. Rooms had a coffee maker and supplies for coffee and tea. George kept a thermal pot of fresh coffee all morning in the dining room so we preferred having a cup there to take out to the patio to watch the sunrise. Our room also had a CD player plus a supply of books, magazines and wine glasses. Packaged snacks such as chips and cold drinks and bottled water were available at all times in the entry hall area. This area also had a refrigerator for the guests to use to store a small amount of personal food (or restaurant leftovers).

Our family was able to sit down together for breakfast each morning in the large dining/living room. Four of us are vegetarian and each day Marlene and George had incredible breakfast selections for all of us. Something different and wonderful everyday such as waffles, huevos rancheros, omelets, and fresh fruits.

This inn is off the beaten path but because of that we felt like we truly were able to relax in the quiet atmosphere, watch the hummingbirds and see the most incredible amount of stars in the night sky. The location is perfect for driving the scenic back road to Las Cruces and Old Mesilla where there are nice shops and restaurants. Marlene and George have good recommendations for places to shop and eat. But the location is also convenient if you want to spend time in El Paso since it is not far from the interstate highway and only about 20 minutes to downtown.

We won’t stay anywhere else when we return to the El Paso/Las Cruces area!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa de Suenos Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Suenos Country Inn

Address: 405 Mountain Vista St S, Santa Teresa, NM 88021
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Teresa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Teresa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa de Suenos is located just outside El Paso TX, between the two small communities of Santa Teresa and La Union, NM. Our rural location provides for quiet nights, great star vistas, and wonderful outside patio space. There are 1 1/2 miles of gravel road to reach us, but the view and the serene setting make the trek well worth it.Located just a few minutes from the NW edge of El Paso, 40 minutes from the El Paso airport, minutes from the Santa Teresa Industrial Park and regional airport and the International border crossing at Santa Teresa.Each of the 4 guest rooms has a private bath, private patio and outside entrance. Two rooms are pet friendly, but require prior approval. Guests rave about the freshly prepared breakfasts served in the dining room each morning. In addition to private patios, there are large courtyard and patio space for guests to relax and enjoy the beautiful skies of the Southwest. The back patio overlooks the Rio Grande River Valley with mountains in NM, TX and Mexico visible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Santa Teresa
Santa Teresa Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa de Suenos Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.