We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Route 66 Eatery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Joseph's Bar and Grill

Joseph's Bar and Grill
1775 Historic Route 66, Santa Rosa, NM
(575) 472-3361
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Route 66 Eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Santa Rosa does not offer a lot and I was disappointed. Josephs has good food but mostly Tex-Mex type. Food and service was okay.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    67
    25
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harker Heights, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

At the recommendation of our hotel personel, we went to Josephs because they had a large stock of "Route 66" memorabilia. The French dip sandwich was very good and the "Blue hole" margarita was excellent. Good salsa and chips. Best variety of Route 66 souvenirs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Terrible experience all the way around!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

First of all, the waitress was rude and unconcerned with servicing us. She may have come to the table 3 times. When we got the food it go worse...almost everyone was displeased (7 of us). One meal had to be sent back. The prices were ridiculous! Fine dining prices for Waffle House quality food. The waitress failed to remove the item we sent back and it took forever to get it fixed. The place was outdated and rather unkept. We figured out why our waitress didn't feel motivated to give good service...she added the gratuity to our check. I will highly caution against this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Average Mexican Cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is just your average stop in Santa Rosa for New Mexican cuisine. They do offer more than just spanish dishes like Country Fried Steak, Salads, Burgers, and other sandwiches. Their menus are like small newspapers, pretty unique. The food is average, I enjoyed the Enchiladas Sante Fe, which are blue corn tortillas with green chile sauce, chicken, and cheese. The refried beans are very chunky, not as mashed as I would have liked. But all in all the food was good. The atmosphere could be a little better, from all of the radio ads and bill board signs, you'd think it was one of the nicer places in Santa Rosa, but the inside was pretty much a Mexicn diner with old school cushioned booths and tables.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not supprisingly - Not a Foodie Town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Joseph's Bar and Grill - Frozen chicken fingers and fries. Paste-like cream gravy. Probably family run - great service, clean tables, but substandard food. Did not expect much in Santa Rosa and was not disappointed. Take Santa Rosa as a stop on Route 66 for history, not for food, and you too will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joseph's Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joseph's Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.