We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   120 Highway 54, Santa Rosa, NM 88435 (Formerly Budget 10 Motel)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

It looks old from the outside but when you get into the rooms they are a lot more modern then you think. The people are really nice, the room was comfortable. You really can not beat the price. If we are in the area again and need a hotel we will stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    13
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
12
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anniston, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I are traveling from Alabama to California and back and needed a place to stay without wrecking our bank accounts. We got a hotel discount brochure from a rest stop and this hotel was the best deal so I looked up the reviews. The two or three bad reviews were obviously from people that stupidly expected to walk into a Hilton. We asked the guy at the front desk "Are your rooms pretty decent because you had some pretty bad reviews?" he of course said yes and listed off the upgrades made and told us that the review about the refund policy was made from a guy that had stayed 4 hours, slept three of them, showered and then wanted a refund.

The hotel is right off the interstate, it's not in a major city setting but I didn't feel like I was going to get shot or robbed or "in a bad part of town". The room is small but clean. The bedding and couch is very clean and I couldn't have hoped for a better stay on this road trip budget. I have paid more for way less.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Travelling through the desert southwest poses a number of challenges during any season. Winter and summer are especially hard on the elderly so since we were travelling with my partners blind 92 year old father in the middle of winter, we stopped for the night earlier then planned in Santa Rosa instead of pushing on east to Tucumcari.

We found America's Best Value Inn and despite it's ramshackle appearance from outside we continued towards registration. The desk clerk (manager) was polite, prompt in getting us checked in and most importantly went out of his way to accommodate a special request to plug-in our RV so the service-animal dogs we had wouldn't have to come in the room. More comfortable for the dogs, easier on the staff the next day.

The staff was busy doing maintenance work when we arrived, and again the next morning as we were leaving it appears that they just re branded the hotel to the AB so hopefully it's even better the next time we pass through.

Fair value, better and cleaner than most Motel 6 locations I have seen. Would recommend this hotel for any budget conscious traveler. Close to train tracks but wasn't heavily used the night we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Driving up from the back side had us wondering if we had read the TA reviews wrong. This place was definitely on the wrong side of the tracks and looked very run down, not at all like it's photo. Looking from the front as we drove to the office wasn't much better, but we decided to give it a shot anyway. When I walked into the office, the clerk looked a little shocked and said to himself that he was switching our room. I have no idea what room we would have been given, but I was obviously not what he expected.

Anyway, his son was gone at the moment, so he could not run my credit card and had no problem giving me a key and letting us into our room. We got settled, drove around town to find a place to eat and later paid the bill. The room was clean and functional and the wifi worked just fine. The TV was larger than most, but don't expect high definition because the stations were all fuzzy. The power went out once, but came right back on, and 4 trains went by. They were not very loud and all before 10 pm. We got a good night's rest and will stay here again when in Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I never expect the degree of personal attention and service we received last night. Traveling during a move, our budget was tight, and we were exhausted. Surprised is an under-statement about our reception at this hotel...the lady who checked us in was gracious and welcoming. We checked out the room, and found it clean, well-appointed and nicer than the price led me to believe it would be. The in-room coffee-maker, microwave and refrigerator all in great shape. The main room and bathroom were clean...honestly I have no idea why others are writing horrid reviews unless they just like to complain. The complimentary breakfast was what you'd expect...but it was the personal attention to detail that blew us away. We were even offered a ride to grab a late dinner since we were driving a 20' rental truck with a trailer. Who does that? Evidently, this gracious family does. I'd say the comment about a "terrible refund policy" says it all. People wanting to scam for dollars. Take a chance on this hotel, and give them the opportunity to show you how gracious and service-oriented they are!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just horrible - we should have never bothered checking in except to tired to continue for the day - shabby room and bath just horrendous - then the train twice during the night blowing its whistles - a derailment and crash into this place would be an improvement

Room Tip: find another town too (Santa Rosa is desolate!!!!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Booked a room here through Hotwire because it was rated as a 2-star hotel. Would have been a decent price for an actual 2-star hotel in this town, but this was no 2-star hotel. This was a 1-star motel. The room was small and smelly, the bed was hard, the bathroom was dirty and the sink was literally held up by a painted 2x4 frame. There was a patch job in the bathroom wall where they had not even tried to match the paint color. The updated tile in the bathroom showed poor workmanship. The air conditioner was a window-unit style, high up on the wall so that I had to stand in a chair to adjust the controls. The staff was friendly, but the lobby had a strond odor. The coffee in the room was undrinkable, and the free breakfast were horrible. There were a few good things about the hotel, the room had a couch in it which was nice, and there was a mini-fridge and microwave. Compared to the other hotels in this town, the location was not good. There were no places to eat nearby and we had to drive to the other side of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 120 Highway 54, Santa Rosa, NM 88435 (Formerly Budget 10 Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.