We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Someone gave us incorrect info!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ohkay Casino Resort

Ohkay Casino Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ohkay Casino Resort to your Saves list
Ohkay Casino Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 68, 2 Miles North of Espanola, Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo), NM 87566   |  
Hotel amenities
Dorchester, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Someone gave us incorrect info!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

when we called to find out which table games were offered. The room was fine, the price was right but we never would have stayed if they had gave us the true facts. Our whole vacation itinary had to be redone. Its a nice area!

Room Tip: it's mostly a slot machine casino!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vega, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel, so I can't comment on that. We just stopped in on our way home. The casino is rather small, but had a lot more interesting slots to play than Buffalo Thunder, where we had stayed the night before. And they paid out rather well! I played minimum bets, but still managed to double my money & played on the same $20 for nearly 3.5 hrs. The employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The same slot attendant kept following me around & standing over my shoulder, watching me play and cheering me on. It was a little creepy, but I took it in the spirit in which it was presented...he was just interested to see how I was doing. He had helped me with a non-cooperating machine earlier, so I guess he thought we were buddies, after that! LOL! At least it's better than rude, non-responsive staff. Also, the entire time we were at Buffalo Thunder, not once did the beverage cart make its way around to us, but in the short time we were at Ohkay, we were not even able to finish one beverage, before they were around again, asking if we wanted more. For someone who gets very thirsty in smoky casinos, I was very pleased. So, to recap, I can't comment on the hotel, but the casino was great. So much so that, next time we make a trip to the Santa Fe area for gambling, Buffalo Thunder is out as an overpriced, underperforming option & Ohkay is in!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Salle, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We take our yearly trip to Chimayo NM and due to a full booking at our regular hotel, decided to stay here...it had been about 6 years since we had stayed here and it was apparent from our check-in experience, the service and professionalism had deteriorated. Initially, we find our price quote from our phone reservation was not going to be honored and to make matters worse, the total check-in time took 1.5 hours....not an exaggeration!! Staff was incompetent and slow and had to also tend to customers in the gift shop. Our room was missing the complimentary shampoo/conditioner and hand soap - however, not a deal breaker. The air conditioner was only working about half the time so our room was uncomfortable while we tried to sleep. We were in a non-smoking room but the smell from the casino was overwhelming.The tv in our room was outdated with 7 channels to select from, while other members of our party had a newer flat screen tv. We also tried the breakfast buffet offered in the hotel cafe and had to wait 20 mins just to be seated. In addition, there was no offering of ham, bacon or non-turkey sausage in the buffet - No bacon?? In the evening, we ordered two ice cream cones from the snack bar and It took 15 minutes to receive the order of only ice cream cones. The pool was disgusting - there were cups, napkins, band aids and leaf debris in the water, which had not been cleaned during our 3 day stay. The only positive experience came from the Starbucks coffee bar, staff was friendly and the breakfast burritos were excellent! They also had a good selection of pastries. Will not stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo) hotels

Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This property is friendly fun and clean. The restaurant is great ! They have the best breakfast in northern New Mexico with the most varied spread anywhere. We had the Saturday night Asian buffet for 1299 and what a bargain! Shrimp oysters sushi homemade egg rolls pork Rolls egg drop soup etc. etc. we will return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I work in espanola a few times a year and decided to try this hotel. I think I avoided before because it sounded to good to be true. Surprise! It was true for the great price you get a nice clean room. It was very roomy too. The room would be perfect if the shower were updated and the staff were friendly. I plan to make this my new go to place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I would not call this a "resort", but it's a just oh-kay hotel, with a somewhat decent little casino if you are into slots, and not table games. Don't expect the latest slots, but rather some that you may not be familiar with, or have disappeared from other area casinos. Video poker machines are limited. The property is nothing fancy, but can serve as a stopover on the way from Santa Fe to Taos. A word of warning about the buffet- although prices are good, the food quality is awful. I've been to other area casino buffets, and enjoyed them. Not so for this one, which has about the worst quality buffet food I have tasted in years. The selection is minimal, and I passed up about half of the items that didn't look very fresh or appetizing. I would describe the buffet food as salty, old and greasy. The only thing I enjoyed was the coffee. One of the beef main course dishes looked like a dump bin for yesterdays vegetables, with wilted broccoli etc. I finally set the dish aside as I felt like someone had poured the salt shaker into it, at which point I noticed hair in the recipe.Service depends on the waitress. One waitress was almost running to take care of everyone, while 2 others stood by the coffee pot talking to each other. Another was trying her best, but with what appeared to be a cold should not have been working around food. Desert was a joke, consisting of tall slices of dried out looking cake with a paper thin layer of frosting. I passed up the cake, and settled on a piece of pie which was no better. It appeared to be a low quality generic supermarket fruit pie which had not yet warmed to room temperature after being refrigerated, or refrozen. Do your stomach a favor and stay away from this buffet.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The casino and its restaurant are average for a NM casino, although there are good weekend food specials. What one needs to watch are the police patrols in the area, which ticket people for strange violations: not parking squarely in a parking space, not dimming headlights quickly enough, stopping at a stop sign with the nose of the case a couple of feet in front of the stop sign. It is hard to say whether the place is worth it or not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohkay Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohkay Casino Resort

Address: Highway 68, 2 Miles North of Espanola, Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo), NM 87566
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohkay Casino Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ohkay Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohkay Hotel Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohkay Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.