We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ohkay Casino Resort

Ohkay Casino Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ohkay Casino Resort to your Saves list
Ohkay Casino Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   Highway 68, 2 Miles North of Espanola, Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo), NM 87566   |  
Hotel amenities
Alexandria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The casino and its restaurant are average for a NM casino, although there are good weekend food specials. What one needs to watch are the police patrols in the area, which ticket people for strange violations: not parking squarely in a parking space, not dimming headlights quickly enough, stopping at a stop sign with the nose of the case a couple of feet in front of the stop sign. It is hard to say whether the place is worth it or not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Creede, colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Price wise the whole stay was good. A cheap get-a-way without having to go too far away. The food at the buffets was good too with good pricing. The hotel needs some help; a deep cleaning, updating, and hall monitors or something to keep the fighting couples in their own rooms!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Yuck. First floor is non-smoking and my first floor room smelled like smoke. Fitness room has only three pieces of cardio equipment and two of the three are inoperable. Fitness room has spider webs on the ceiling that warrant cleaning. Property looks tired and in need of remodeling and cleaning. Property deserves less than one circle rating. Front desk staff was highlight of stay. They were nice and responsive.

Entry doors from the parking lots do not require a room key to enter. Anyone can gain access to the hotel corridors without having to go through the casino.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo) hotels

Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My better half and I won a night at the Ohkay! After a night's stay in the hotel and the casino (end of May 2012), I can easily say that it's more than OK.

The hotel is at the rear of the property so you need to walk through the casino from the check in desk. The room was the standard room. Nothing crazy fancy but nice and comfortable. We had 2 queen beds. Remember, you're in a casino and just like 'Vegas, the rooms are there for you to clean up, hang out, and if possible get a good night's sleep. The noise was slim to none.

Instead of venturing out to Espanola, NM, which was just minutes away for dinner, we stayed in the casino and enjoy their cafe/restaurant. Beware that it's not a 5-star steak place, but for a decent price, you get your steak, you sides, and your cakes (and we ate them too!). Pretty good, but even better for breakfast (more later).

After dinner we played and enjoyed the slots even though I don't tend to play slots and go to the tables. The casino tables were limited so if you're a true table player, get your seat at the table and try not to move. If you're a slot player, you're in heaven. Keep playing the Wizard of Oz with others that you know and don't know and you'll have fun.

That night one of our favorite local dance bands was playing and while we were playing slots we danced in our chairs. After a while on the slots and getting bored, we headed to the bar, which is located on the floor but away from the gambling.

The dance floor was large and kept people from bumping into each other. If you sign up for the rewards club, you get a big beer, but it's a basic draft - Bud or Bud Light. Also remember that you need to know what you want as the lady bartender was like the Soup Nazi on Seinfeld. Order your beer and sit down as finding a table can be a wait. If you go back, stand in line and have your order ready to go! It's a fun place, but definitely a local hang-out.

In the morning, we finished our stay and ate at the breakfast buffet, which is the same restaurant as our dinner. You'll find the standard faire: eggs, pancakes, french toast. There is a custom omelet maker where you can add your veges, ham and of course, good ol' green chile! If you're not a local (NM resident), you'll get a good taste of our flavors: red and green chile. The carne adovada was true and had a bit of heat, but nothing to burn your mouth.

Overall, the Ohkay was more than OK. It's a good place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and hang with the locals. It's a break from the fancy and large casino down the highway and offers a change of pace. We'll be back again, if not the rooms, but for the red chile!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My 86 year old mother and I attempted to eat at the restaurant at this facility. After paying and being seated, we became invisible. We could not get any service, I finally went to get beverages from the service area myself. The waitresses all ignored my gesturing so I approached one who said "give me a minute" and then proceeded to ignore us again. I then approached a second waitress who asked what we wanted, she pretended to take a verbal order, but 45 minutes later still nothing. All the while, every table around us received frequent attention. Finally I found a manager who refunded our money when I explained that after 90 minutes and no service we must go eat elsewhere.

The whole facility appeared to be worn & soiled and in a rundown state of disrepair. I am a local. I would recommend avoiding this facility at all costs. My mother is still distraught about her treatment 2 days later.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I've been here for a week now on business. The rooms are clean. The ceilings are extra high (which I love). The bed is extremely comfortable. Room is serviced daily without any issues. Each room has a fridge and microwave which is good. Breakfast buffet is around $5 and dinner buffet is around $10. They also have a great Mexican restaurant downstairs with very low prices and they cut everything fresh right in front of you. I'm giving it 4 stars because the rooms are not perfect. In other words, it's not like the place just got built yesterday... but it's in good shape and has an upscale feel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

If you really need a stop over, well then, the price is OK, plenty of smoke, breakfast is barely adequate, but then again, consider your options, never again, for me.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room far away from the centre, smoke free rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ohkay Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohkay Casino Resort

Address: Highway 68, 2 Miles North of Espanola, Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo), NM 87566
Location: United States > New Mexico > Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ohkay Casino Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Ohkay Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ohkay Hotel Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohkay Casino Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.