We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Double green chile cheese burger I've ever had” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse

Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse
77 Us Highway 380, San Antonio, NM 87832
575-835-9946
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best Double green chile cheese burger I've ever had”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I've eaten at this place a few times at its good. If your craving a good greasy green chile cheese burger(which we all to crave a greasy burger from time to time) go it was awesome. And get the pinto beans with green chile yum.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    45
    16
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good. Neither memorable nor great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The famous green chile cheeseburger was fine. Nothing memorable, though. Nothing special about its look, mouth feel, taste, aroma, or the flavor of the green chile sauce. Also, the drinks and sides are over-priced.

Ambiance pleasant, as are the staff.

Next time I'm in San Antonio, I'll give Buckhorn a whirl.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Best green chili burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stopped in for a green chili burger as we always do when passing through. Nothing has changed, and we very happy with our stop at a good place to eat.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointing breakfast at the Owl Cafe in San Antonio, NM”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stopped by the owl cafe for a much anticipated breakfast in San Antonio, NM. We had been to the Owl Cafe in Albuquerque and it was teriffic. So, we expected the same. It was awful! The toast was burnt to a crisp. It also came out col 5 minutes before our eggs. Butter wouldn't even melt on it. We attempted to scrape off the char, but it was burnt straight through. My husband got a breakfast platter. Also, cold. Only one small scoop of scrambled eggs. My son and I got eggs over easy with green chile. He's a vegetarian and told the waitress. Our eggs came with green chile with hamburger or someother kind of unidentifiable meat. The only decafe coffee they had was instant Sanka. We arrived there at 10:45AM. Should definately have waited until 11 for the restaurant down the street to open! As we went by later, it was packed for breakfast. Next time we'll follow the crowd.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great GCC and great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

To be honest, I first went to the Buckhorn based on recent reviews. But after standing in a line that did not move for 30 minutes, we decided to try the Owl instead. Karma was on our side, as we received an order to go in about 10 minutes and the burgers were wonderful! The meat was cooked to perfection and the green chili had a some bite. My only regret is that I only ordered one burger, because I could have consumed two. Give the Owl a try. I think you will like it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Bar Cafe & Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.