We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motswiri Private Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Motswiri Private Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Madikwe Game Reserve 1560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed for two nights in the self catering lodge. The accommodation was faultless. Clean throughout, with tables set for every meal. The staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome. Geraldine looked after us from start to finish and our guide Werner was brilliant! What a fantastic experience. We will surely be returning!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend of 4-6 July 2014 in the self catering family villa at Motswiri. It was absolutely amazing. We loved having our own villa and took meals with us that were easy and simple to prepare. The staff we wonderful and each morning and afternoon, the villa was serviced and the table set for our next meal. On returning from our game drives, the fire in the boma was lit, the chairs all placed and lovely lanterns lit. What a way to return after some really amazing and special sightings on our game drives. Our ranger Coenie, was unbelievable and went out of his way to make our drives unforgettable. We saw the Big 5 in one weekend and way more, including spending some time viewing the wild dog. I rate Motswiri 10/10 for our stay and would highly recommend the self catering villa. A bonus is it's own swimming pool, so perfect for the hot summer days.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Zede and his team were fantastic! We had the family suite which was perfect for 5 of us who enjoy our space. We saw great game, accommodation was superb, staff were outstanding! I have stayed at many 5 star lodges and Motswiri was one of the best. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

After staying at numerous game lodges in Botswana and South Africa over the past 17 years my wife and I agreed that our 4 night stay in Motswiri last weekend with our family who were visiting us from Europe was the best ever!! We had an exclusive game viewing truck driven by Coenie for our entire stay and Coenie went out of his way on every occasion to make the game viewing both exciting and enjoyable, especially for our 7 year grandson. We saw everything up close , including lion, bufallo , black and white rhino, spotted and brown hyena and numerous elephants. An exciting encounter for us was on the Sunday morning when the truck got a puncture . We were all standing around in an open space watching Coenie change the tyre when suddenly a very large bull elephant in musk charged out of the bush towards the truck. We all scrambled very quickly back into the truck and with a shout or two from Coenie the elephant stopped, glared at us, flapped his ears and then walked away, having imposed his presence on us. The rooms at the lodge were large and luxurious and we stayed ay Lodges 5 and 6, which had its own pool. The Lodge management under Geraldine's superb care, could simply not do enough for us to make our stay more enjoyable and needless to stay the food was fantastic. Patricia , behind the bar, was ever attentive to our thirsty needs. A highlight for us all was the celebration of our granddaughter's (Ella) first birthday in Africa. As we had the lodge to ourselves on the Sunday , Geraldine and her staff decorated the dining area around the pool with birthday buntings and balloons . Then a large cake was produced and the entire staff emerged, sang Happy Birthday to Ella and performed a lovely dance around her. After lunch all ten of us including our four grandchildren got into the truck , with Ella being seated in a car seat specially secured by Coenie. We had a beautiful game drive and to crown it all we stoppped to view four lions lying peacefully in the shade. We all sat like statues looking at the sleeping lions until Ella started cooing gently. So we had our experience of "Talking with Lions"!! All in all a wonderful experience at Motswiri , with so many happy memories to share for the future. Thank you, Motswiri.

Room Tip: Lodge 6 is fantastic and ideal for a family .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

This is a superbly managed and unpretentiously luxurious lodge. The staff could not have been more helpful, providing many extra services that any other facility would have charged a lot of money for much less attention to our needs.

The room was original, comfortable and fully equipped. The game drives with Coenie were sensational. He knows the park and the bush and enjoyed the wildlife sightings, especially the wild dogs, at least as much as his passengers.

It is a rare treat to have barman, servers, and management anticipating every need without being in any way intrusive or obsequious. Truly a service culture which makes Motswiri special. I've been to probably 20 game park hotels and lodges over several decades. There are some in Botswana that equal Motswiri, but none that I know of anywhere else. This is the real deal for a delightful game park experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We were the only guests on our first night, so had the luxury of two game drives, dinner overlooking the waterhole and breakfast on our own. All were excellent. We were given villa 6 which has its own pool which was a bonus. The villa was very comfortable. The games drives were very exciting and we saw all we wanted apart from leopard. Staff we're all very friendly. Highly recommend Motswiri.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was my second South African safari and I had a little trouble convincing my partner he would love it. He was worried it would be like driving around a safari park (eg zoo) in the UK or Australia - how he changed his mind!

We drove up from Johannesburg and, although it's not the most picturesque drive ever, it was great to drive through towns and see different sights. Driving is probably not for the nervous or inexperienced though as the main road is only 2 lanes and cars over-take cars over taking!! There are a few tolls too, so be prepared with change/money.

Anyway, on the road to the entrance of Madikwe my partner was getting more nervous seeing the fences, thinking it was looking more like a zoo. We were met at the main entrance, signed in and were given a map to Motswiri. It was about a 20 minute drive past all the other lodges (which was great, ours was at the end of the track so more private)! We saw a very young elephant close to the road side which was a fantastic start. There was no signs of being in a zoo, my partner started to feel more relaxed and excited.

When we arrived at the lodge it was stunning, not a modern building but wooden, authentic and suited the surrounding bush. We were greeted by the host (perhaps the manager) with hot towels and a cocktail, what a lovely welcome. They took our car, parked it, took our bags and showed us to our room which, again, was stunning (I'll come back to the room in a minute), as we had driven up we were later than we thought and were asked if we wanted to go on the night safari which was leaving now, of course we said yes!

The greeting was warm and friendly and we felt relaxed and welcome straight away - our room was gorgeous. We had a large four poster bed with mosquito nets, a lovely fireplace (which wasn't needed at the time of our visit), a desk/vanity, wardrobe, coat rack, beautiful bathroom with a massive tub, separate toilet and an outdoor shower! All views were of the water hole and bushes, stunning view. It was a little strange showering outside at first but after the first time it was fine and quite liberating, if not a little fresh!! I'm not sure i could have managed in the colder weather but it's all explained on the website so it shouldn't be a surprise to anyone. The rooms were mainly white stone walls with gorgeous dark wood fittings and furniture, with clean, crisp, authentic bedding and soft furnishings, we loved it. We had a massive deck overlooking the water hole and saw many different birds and wildlife at all times (baboons, warthogs, kudu, impala etc). The door didn't lock but I think that was for your own safety (?) it didn't bother us so we didn't ask. The place is so secure it shouldn't matter and there is a safe in the room for valuables.

The whole complex is secured by electric fencing or barriers, as are the decks around the rooms.

Our first night safari was amazing with only one other guest. We drove for around 3 hours with a storm closing in. We saw plenty of animals, giraffes, zebras, elephants, kudus, impala, lots of birds. Coenie (our ranger) was excellent - very friendly, very knowledgable and asked us what we wanted to see or know - excellent service. We stopped for a sun downer which was wonderful, under the setting sun, a storm in the distance and in the middle of the bush. I had my vodka and diet coke (plenty of it), fruit, nuts, meat and cake - so good!

When we returned we were greeted with a hot towel and a drink and a very friendly smile, asking us if we had a good time etc. Dinner was served immediately. The food and service was amazing, plenty of food and someone always just there when you wanted something else. There were no other guests just my partner and I and the other guy on the drive. We had a lovely evening before he had to leave as this was his last night.

We slept well, the bed was very comfortable but we would remember to take large bottles of water back to the room in future - they provided a jug of water and glasses but we preferred bottled water (and we drank more than was provided).

We stayed for 4 nights in total and, although the structure of each day was the same we never drove the same route twice and saw different views and animals on each drive.

Each morning we were up (with a courtesy knock at the door) at 6am. Meeting in the main lodge at 6:10 for coffee/tea, muffins, rusks and biscuits before heading off around 6:20-6:30. Each day we only had 4 other people at the lodge and on the drives with us, it was great. In the mornings we had our wind proof jackets, hats and gloves on until the sun came up (just a word of warning, it can be cold)! Coenie would ask us what we wanted to see each time and would do his best to find the animal or bird or reptile.... He could see things no one else could! In the pitch black he stopped suddenly to show us a baboon spider on the road and found a chameleon in the bushes! He stopped on the road to show us a dung beetle rolling his dung - it was great. He read the animals well and knew when we could get close, when to stay our distance and when to leave them alone - I loved that. He took us off road, over rocks, fallen trees, bushes etc to show us the lion cubs - someone in the party was voicing concerns about intruding on the animals (only to his partner) but he shouldn't have worried Coenie read the lioness well and could tell when she had enough and we left.

For the morning drives we had morning tea in the bush, hot chocolate, tea, coffee, muffins, rusks, fruit & nuts, for the evening drives we always had sun downers and snacks of different kinds. After every drive we were greeted with a hot towel and refreshing drink, a smile and "how was your drive today", they really listened and cared. Each morning drive was followed by breakfast; full cooked and full buffet of fruit, yoghurt, breads, toast, spreads, fresh juices, tea, coffee etc - there was nothing missing! All evening drives started with afternoon tea, great quality food and so much of it and followed by full evening meal, with choices - the food was excellent in all terms, choice, quality, volumes!!!!! One evening was a traditional BBQ (forgotten the real name) which was stunning, around a fire, candle lit individual tables, blankets to keep you warm and lots of chatting with the rangers and other staff, we loved it.

Most afternoons were spent snoozing, reading on our deck or watching the wildlife around the water hole, we didn't use the pool for no reason except we loved our deck and the water hole!

The main lodge was stunning, dark heavy woods with authentic African soft furnishings. There was a lovely bar, tables, chairs and sun lounges on the deck and around the pool (which was always spotless). A comfortable lounge area with plenty of books and always someone just there when you needed them but never lingering - fantastic service.

We were very sad when we had to leave but so glad we had 4 nights, we saw so much, lions, lion cubs, giraffes, zebras, elephants, rhino, buffalo, antelopes (kudus, impala), hornbills, weaver birds, eagle, chameleon and the amazing African Wild Dogs. Coenie tried every day but we just didn't see a leopard!

There was nothing to complain about - this was luxury but authentic, we chose the lodge as it looked African and not modern where you could be anywhere in the world, the service was second to none we would recommend Motswiri to anyone.

Our only recommendation would be for bottled water in the rooms (perhaps a small fridge in the rooms too)?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motswiri Private Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswiri Private Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve 1560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Motswiri Private Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge lies hidden in the bush, an exclusive lodge offering a maximum of 10 people a bush experience which is impossible to replicate in larger concerns. Our lodge offers some of the best views in Madikwe from our 5 luxury bush villas nestle. Itineraries & daily events can be tailored to meet your or your group's specific needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Motswiri Private Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motswiri Private Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.