We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful game viewing, lodge, meals, staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madikwe Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Madikwe Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Madikwe Safari Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful game viewing, lodge, meals, staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lelapa lodge offers a great all round experience in the African bush. Our room No 10 was excellent, so spacious - huge comfortable bed, indoor and outdoor shower, big bath, big deck with loungers and private plunge pool. There is a choice of meals to suit most tastes and prepared and served beautifully. I have food allergies and they were fantastic in catering to my needs. Our Ranger Jacques was very knowlegeable and went the extra mile to try and find the animals that we wanted specifically to see and kept gving us snippets of information about insects, trees etc. The Game reserve is huge but on each trip out in the game vehicle we had a great viewing experience of animals, birds and other creatures. One has to remember that the animals are wild and move around a lot so a great deal of luck and the rangers experience is required and some game drives will provide more that others but that is what makes a safari trip so special, that anticipation of what you will see and experience on the day. All the staff go out of their way to ensure one has a fantastic time. Beauty our housekeeper ensured our room was clean and tidy, Maureen our bulter waited on us with a wonderful smile and enthusiam and the rest of the staff were alway friendly and efficient, great hospitality! Wish we could have stayed longer, but we will be back.

Room Tip: Lelapa lodge has a section where they accomodate families, so if you want a quiet room just request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    30
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
85
110
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Al Ain, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had the best time at Madikwe Safari Lodge!!! From Jacques our game driver, to Maria our waitress/host, to the animals - it was fabulous!!! I would go back to this lodge in a heartbeat! Many days a week we talk about all the animals we saw and the people we met! Their hospitality is amazing. We enjoyed our stay in the lodge - we had hut #1 - great location - very private - and serene!

Room Tip: Don't miss any game drive! Even the 5AM wake up calls - take the drive! It's amazing to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed here with our four children and it was their first safari experience. As a reserve, its a really good one as its very well stocked with animals in a relatively condensed area so there is plenty to see. Our guide Kenny was superb and really went out of his way to ensure we saw everything we wanted to and that the children enjoyed some great memories.

The lodges are spacious and well equipped whilst not being 5 star but at the end of the day its much more about the animals and the rooms are perfectly adequate and comfortable. The food is also a bit average (meals never quite arrived all at the same time and on one occasion the children had to have plain pasta as they had run out of sauce ) and unfortunately there are some shortfalls on service, but thats made up for by the enthusiasm and general desire of the staff to make sure you are happy and of course by the superb game drives which is what the stay is all about.

Room Tip: The higher the number the further away from the centre the lodges are. If you dont want to walk far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I stayed in Madkiwe Safari Lodge, Lelapa, in January for 4 nights, with my husband and another couple.

The service is excelente. Everyone tries their best to make sure you have everything you need, specially Constance (Connie).
The rooms are spectacular, simply breathtaking! Spacious, confortable and have all the amenieties you would need: coffee, tea, shower, bathtube (perfect for 2 pp), dip pool, outside shower.... It was unfortunate that during our stay we only encountered one sunny day and could only enjoy the dip pool once, however the room and the lodge itself are still great: sun or rain.

The food was good, however the lunch menu was the same and after the 3rd day you´ve had enough of the same options. The chef has a problem, he LOVES black pepper and chilly and I am allergic to both. Unfortunatly, even after complaining 3 times, and even once to the manager, my food kept coming with black pepper and/or chilly. Once, even on the desert!!
However, Constance was always attentive to this and tried with a lot of effort to make my food allergy free.

The drives were really nice. I am a "usual" safari traveller, however it was the first real african safari experience for him and he loved it.
Jacques, our guide was very helpful, attentive and knew a lot about the animails, fauna, tracking, etc. He really made an effort for us to find the big five. Unfortunatly we didn´t manage to see the Leopard, but definatly not his fault.
The only minor detail I would point out would be that on all the trips we did we only stopped for coffee once. It would have been nice to have the option on the other days... (although I understand the weather did not help).

Bugs in the room are the one thing that would make me second guess on coming back again. We found a white scorpion near the bed, just before we went to sleep and big spider inside the bed. I undestand it is not the lodges fault, since in fact we are in their terretory. And staff was helpfull in giving us anti-bugs spray to put around the bed.

All and all it was a wonderfull trip, beautiful safaris, amazing sunsets and a vacancy to experience at least once in a life time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Have stayed on a number of occasions and was never disappointed. Lots of wildlife and bird life to entertain. And quiet - just the sounds of the grasses singing....African safari style interior design which is inspiring. Located on / around a river. With a pool beside it. Truly lovely.

Room Tip: Everyone gets their own chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I´ve never been in a place like that! Amazing! Staff is so lovely, Keba is really nice! And the drives with Stephanie, are outdstanding! Rooms are beautiful and the food is great! My home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and i spent 3 nights at Kopano lodge in Mid january and i can recommend it as an alternative to Kruger where we normally stay.

The Lodge is made up of 4 rooms that share their own very large lodge which makes it intimate and easy to find a place to relax and feel secluded. the main lodge is well appointed with plenty of separate lounges, fire places (not needed when we were there) and places to relax.

The food was very good and the chef had no hesitation in changing the options to suit my wife who does not eat red meat. All of the food was of a high standard and as good as anywhere else we have stayed. Breakfast was great with plenty of options, my favourite being the eggs benedict, gorgeous. When we left the chef also prepared a small 'patkos' for the journey home which was a nice touch. The one evening we had a Boma dinner which was very nice and one felt the staff did all they could to enhance the experience compared to some other camps. Again the Boma is only for the 4 rooms in the camp so it feels very secluded which is what one wants in the bush.

The rooms are very spacious and well decorated and even though i believe they are busy redecorating i would not have known. Again the small touches like freshly ground coffee and fresh milk in the fridge make all the difference. The outdoor deck is spacious with a good view over the surrounding area, table and chair under a covered area, sun lounges and a great plunge pool for cooling off. It was vey hot when we were there and maybe an umbrella over the plunge pool could be a good addition.

The game drives were good and obviously one will see whatever is around at the time of visiting, in our case lions, elephant, rhino, wild dog etc. Our vehicle was covered which helped with the afternoon sun but i noticed that some of the vehicles from the Lelapa lodge were not covered and they could have been uncomfortable in the heat and the rain which appeared later in the week and may be worth checking on.

Although Madikwe is Malaria free it is still worth using mossie spray to avoid bites in the evening (spray supplied in the rooms).

On one morning drive the lodge had arranged for us to have more than the normal coffee stop and had pitched up with a pancake station in the middle of the bush, a great touch and a nice surprise.

All in all, would recommend the lodge and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madikwe Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe Safari Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Madikwe Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The rich red timbres of the African earth are reflected in the warm tones of Madikwe Safari Lodge. Cradled between rolling hills, overlooking game-filled plains intersected by the Marico River and framed by the Dwarsberg Hills, just 20 suites are clustered in three intimate camps. With circular fireplaces at the heart of every suite, and big glass doors to blur the boundary between inside and out, Madikwe embodies the warm, bold heart of this spectacularly rugged corner of Africa. Spacious wooden decks embrace inviting plunge pools, and book-filled shelves in quiet corners entice and captivate, while large pizza ovens add a fun twist to meal times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madikwe Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madikwe Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.