We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Impodimo Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Impodimo Game Lodge to your Saves list
Impodimo Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have been on a fair number of safaris and game drives: Impodimo is as good as it gets. Almost don't want to write a glowing review just to keep this place (which is a heck of a chore to drive to) a secret gem. But that wouldn't be fair. Up close encounters with ALL the animals (including leopards and black rhino) without disturbing them. Keen and knowledgeable staff.
Incredible food and wine too, and lovely clean rooms: as if you care about all that? Go for the animals. If you want to sit by the pool drinking, go somewhere else easier to get to. If wildlife is your passion, go here.

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear AnonymousSeattle444

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for the high praise given to our beautiful lodge. We are pleased to read that we exceeded your other experiences.

Thank you for the compliments on our clean rooms, food and wonderful staff.

We truly hope that we will host you back at Impodimo again one day.

Best wishes
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    12
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
66
94
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had a really good time in Impodimo! The rooms are wonderful, the food is really fine and all the staff is really kind and hospitable.
Impodimo is one of the few lodge that accept children, and this, for us, was a real value (we have a 8 years old girl).
The ranger was very patient and kind to all of us.
We had a really wonderful time, we saw all the big five and during a late safari we saw all the milky way and our ranger showed us all the stars that can guide you when it's dark and no Tomtom is available :-). Unforgettable! We have a great and wonderful memory of our holiday in South Africa and Impodimo is really our preferred experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Simo963

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

We are so please to hear that you had a spectacular time and that our rangers showed you all the amazing animals that can be found in the reserve. You are very lucky to have seen the beautiful leopard and have the opportunity to learn about the stars from our rangers. I hope you will be able to find your way around now without the use of the TOMTOM.

We hope to see you at Impodimo Game Lodge again on day.

Best wishes
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This lodge is by far the best i have ever encountered. The location is perfect, the room was perfect with à huge bed Looking out into the wilderness.
The staff was wonderful and going beyond themselves to make us happy, you could feel it was genuine, not acted!
The lodge was decorated with love and beautiful and very clean. The food was delicious and i mean really worth à star!
THE gamedrives were so different than the ones we did before in afrika. No rush, offroad, respect for THE animals.
Ruan our guide knew everything from insects and Birds to the big five. Sam our tracker which my husband nicknamed eagle eye, saw everything!
We were driving at night with just à flashlight and hè signalled stop, we ofcourse thought what where? Leopard? And hè pointed out this Tiny chamelion in the branches! We saw everything except the leopards and ruan and Sam really tried! But you have to have something to wish for next time!
In the afternoon on our porche i was taking a showe outside and the elephants walked by because there are no fences.
We heard à lion roarrr early in the morning close by our porche.
At the swimmingpool i saw about 20 elephants drinking from the waterhole a few feet away!
At night after dinner the ranger will bring you back to your lodge carrying à gun.
Also no annoying baboons they keep their distance and Will not come close to humans in this park! We indulged ourselves, feeling the warmth, happiness, luxury, but most of all the true spirit of africa. We Will go back soon with our children.

Room Tip: 6 lodges and all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Heidi086

Thank you for writing such a lovely review on TripAdvisor on our beautiful lodge.

It was a pleasure to host you and your husband and we are genuinely pleased that you had such a wonderful time at the lodge.

Thank you for the wonderful compliments about our rooms, food and staff. We strive in every way to make every part of every guests stay absolutely memorable.

We are very proud of our rangers and trackers and all the hard work they do in finding the animals to give each guest an experience of a lifetime. Let's hope the next time we see you at Impodimo that we get to show you the ever elusive leopard.

We look forward to having you back at Impodimo with the whole family.

Thank you for the delicious stoppwaffels, they didn't last long as they were just too delicious to hold onto.

Best wishes
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citta Sant'Angelo, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I just spent four days at the Impodimo Game Lodge, fulfilling a childhood dream to go on safari with a camera. Our ranger, Patrick, and tracker, Holiday, were superb in getting us close to the animals without disturbing them! Back at the Lodge the staff was excellent and the food was amazing! Since the Impodimo Game Lodge is not fenced I saw parades of elephant right outside my door!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Front Office Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear JohnWarren3

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time at the lodge and that the elephants paraded past the rooms. We really do have a special lodge and and we are glad that you got experience what we have to share.

Thank you so much for the photographs, we will be sure to use them.

Next time we hope to be able to host you and the family at our wonderful lodge.

Best wishes

The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armonk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

What a wonderful experience! The food was great and plentiful, the staff hospitable and the accommodations attractive. Loved the outdoor shower (in addition to the indoor!) and the porch overlooking the watering hole for animal viewing. Our guide Ruen (sp?), was very knowledgable and his love of the land showed through. We saw rhinos fighting, a leopard who killed an impala, wild dogs, water buffalo and tons of giraffes, elephants, zebras and exotic birds. It was relaxing in-between rides but an impatient teen was allowed the office computer for a quick check on his internet life. One minor complaint was the charge on alcoholic drinks when out on a ride and what was offered when the group came back. Liked the dining with your guide and other guests at dinner.

Room Tip: facing the watering hole allows for additional animal viewing. Four days (eight outings) should be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IMPLodgeManager, Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Lori C
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased to hear that you had an amazing time and that you enjoyed Ruan's company.
We truly hope that one day we will have the pleasure of accommodating you and the rest of the family.

Best wishes
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the absolute privilege of spending a few nights at Impodimo. I will go back again and again. The staff is friendly and efficient, the accommodation and food is fantastic - the attention to detail is second to none, with delightful personal touches, like African bed time stories on your pillow at night.

Not only does Impodimo cater for the whims of its clients, like a bush walk in the park (we saw lions!!!) but it goes out of its way to ensure your comfort. I am gluten intolerant - and contrary to the usual rice cake I receive, I had absolutely phenomenal, gluten free food.

The rangers and trackers are knowledgeable - we saw four of the Big Five, wild dogs and hyena cubs, along with all the usual game reserve suspects.

I cannot and have not given a higher recommendation.

Room Tip: House one and two are on a watering hole that is lit at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Front Office Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Shirley F

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor on our beautiful lodge.

We are pleased that we have exceeded your expectations in your needs for gluten free meals. We try our utmost best to provide meals for all guests with various dietary needs.

Thank you for such high praise for our staff and our lodge.

We would love to have you back at Impodimo Game Lodge again in the future and create more wonderful memories of our beautiful lodge.

Best wishes
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Spent 3 nights and saw more wildlife then in 2 weeks at Kruger Park. Each guest has a personal ranger who ensures you see as many of the Big 5 as possible-we saw all but leopard and even escorts you to your bungalow at night. Attention to detail is second to none by friendly, helpful staff- 1 of our party is gluten-intolerant and had special meals created for her. Game drives also included interesting info about the plants,insects and birdlife as well as the predators and other animals. There is a water hole just below the guest swimming pool- elephants would come to drink and bathe in the afternoon. I will definitely go back there and have told all my friends!! My only regret was that I could only stay for 3nights.

Room Tip: no need to worry- all the bungalows are amazng
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Impodimo Game L... I, Front Office Manager at Impodimo Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Orly S

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Impodimo Game Lodge.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time and that our guides passed on all their interesting facts about the small and large things that can be found around us.

We would love to have you back at Impodimo Game Lodge again one day, and hopefully this time we will be able to find the ever elusive leopard for you.

Best wishes
The Impodimo Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Impodimo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impodimo Game Lodge

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2874, South Africa
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Impodimo Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a rugged dolomite ridge overlooking a vast African wilderness, you will find a hidden treasure called Impodimo. Taken from the Tswana words Mpho Dimo, Impodimo means a gift from God, and is truly a slice of heaven on earth. Rise in the morning to an African dawn and enjoy an early morning game drive with your dedicated professional ranger. Relax as your ranger guides you through the bush on a custom made open Land Rover, searching out the Big 5 or the smaller secrets of nature. Set out on a foot safari with your armed ranger and learn the secrets of tracking African game or just enjoy the trees, birds and stunning scenery. Return from the excitement of the bush to a sumptuous breakfast or brunch and then relax at the pool or the sala overlooking the waterhole where game may come to quench their thirst. In the afternoon, when the heat of the African sun has diminished and the shadows are longer, head out again on a sundowner safari, where you will stop to watch the sun set on this bushveld paradise and enjoy your favourite sundowner drink. Once the sun has set and darkness descends, set off again for a night safari where the more nocturnal creatures now rule the bush. Return to the lodge where you will be treated to the finest Pan-African cuisine with your hosts in the open air boma, and share your days adventures, while you enjoy a night cap around the fire. Impodimo Game Lodge is set along a rocky ridge commanding stunning vistas of the reserve. It is also located at the source of a natural spring, which provides the lodge with elevated views as well as riverine serenity. The lodge offers dawn and dusk safaris. The safaris are carefully timed to ensure optimal seasonal comfort. Whilst Impodimo has 10 suites, its capacity is 16 guests. Each of the suites have been carefully positioned to ensure absolute privacy. Spacious in design, each includes a closed system fireplace, climate control air conditioner, mini bar fridge, tea & coffee making facilities and full en-suite bathroom and outside shower. Your private deck allows uninterrupted views of the Madikwe Game Reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Impodimo Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impodimo Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Impodimo Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.