We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morukuru Family Madikwe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Morukuru Family Madikwe to your Saves list
Morukuru Family Madikwe
Madikwe, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cape town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“As good as it gets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

This was our third trip in as many years to Morukuru, and it just keeps getting better! It's more than home away from home, it's the most spoilt we've been all year! The team are efficient, freindly, welcoming and always cheerful ... you couldn't lifta finger here, even if you wanted to!! Excellent accommodation, unbelievable food and wine list, and the best game viewing we've seen in South Africa ... and being in a malaria free zone makes it easy for us to make it a family trip with our two toddlers in tow! I couldn't recommend Morukuru more highly ... first class in every sense of the word!!

  • Liked — Sophisticated, modern and elegant
  • Disliked — Nothing! It was 100%
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
126
28
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

If you're looking for paradise in the bush, go to Morukuru Lodge in Madikwe South-Africa. After arriving with a private plane from Johannesburg in the middle of the bush of Madikwe, the rangers of Morukuru Lodge were already waiting for us with champagne. Driving (you could you see it as a first game drive) to the lodge for about 20 minutes, already seeing giraffes, elephants and even lions, we arrived in Morukuru Lodge. A very warm welcome from the staff, showing us our rooms and the lodge. Our stay of five days was really paradise in the bush. The staff did everything to make us feel very very comfortable! Two times a day a very nice long game-drive, ending with always a surprise arrangend by the Morukuru staff. For example a bush-dinner, visiting the hide! That is so special!!! A very special relaxing place, with a very big chance of seeing lions, elephants etc. Watching the sundowning on the moutain of the property of Morukuru Logde was so great as well. Breakfeast, lunch, dinner, it's all very excellent! Lying comfortable at the swimmingpool, it feels that the staff is not arround you, but if you want something to drink or eat, it seems that they feel that you want something and there they are. Great great game-drives, very special luxury lodge, luxury rooms with bath, shower and outside shower, very very nice swimmingpool (temperature of the water is so nice!), food is excellent, games-drives are excellent as well (we always felt very safe) thanks to the ranger.
If you want luxury combined with safari, we can really recommend Morokuru Lodge in Madikwe Game Reserve - South Africa!

  • Liked — Bushadventures, the lodge, the hospitallity of the staff!
  • Disliked — Going back home...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwaag, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

With a privat plane we arrived at the Madikwe Game Reserve for three days. Our own Rangers welcomed us and brougt us to the lodge. The very friendly staff was singing a welcome-song. The first impressions of the lodge are overwhelming!! The staff and mangement did everything to make us feel good and happy. We didn’t have to do anything and got what we desired. The rooms are spacious and sublime with airco, bath, rainshower and even an outside shower. Great fun! The swimmingpool views over the river. There is a lovely court where our own chef de cuisine and butler serves delicious meals and great wines. Twice a day we made a privat safari with our own rangers. The Big Five is present at the game reserve. Recommended is the bush walk. A great and exciting experience. The reality is better than the website shows! This is a lodge you should feel, smell and taste. I never saw anything like it. Kids are welcome, it is a malaria free environment.

  • Liked — The privacy of the lodge
  • Disliked — that times flies
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afferden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2008

Visiting this lodge was the best visit we ever made to S.Africa. Very friendly, helpfull staff, excellent cooking and the safari's we took were beyond expectations. If you want to be IN 'out of Africa ' you better make a trip to Morukuru....

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed for five nights at Morukuru Lodge.
I would be happy to recommend this beautiful Lodge to anyone.
We have travelled extensively in Africa and stayed at some of the finest Lodges.
Morukuru sits by the Marico River it is a very contemporary building with the bush surrounding it.
The interior is stunning with fabulous bedrooms and bathrooms straight out of a design magazine, but still managing to have a warm homely feel. The staff help to create this feeling and nothing is too much trouble. I have to say it was wonderful to get the laundry back with no shrinkage and cleaner than ever before.
We found the food as good as any top London Restaurant whether you eat out al fresco or on cooler nights in the house by the roaring fire and the extensive wine cellar is stocked for all tastes.
The large heated pool made a nice change from the usual cold plunge pools.
But most exciting were the game drives.
Quintin was exceptional in his knowledge and we encountered the most amazing sightings. We had two heart stopping moments the first with elephant and the second with Lion, we are still here to tell the story thanks to Quintins professionalism. The big five are here and he will find them for you.
Whilst you are doing this Lucy is behind the scenes making sure your every need is catered for. Lucy was enchanting and made our stay perfection from the moment we stepped off the plane to the moment we stepped back on. Lucy is there to make your stay complete and you will see that having you as guests is what the Lodge is all about and that this gives Lucy the chance to show you why she fell in love with Africa and a chance for her to share this with you. You will have a wonderful time and
we will be back very soon.

Percy1Kent

  • Liked — Five Star at its best.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

Sometimes in life you experience something that is unforgettable. So was our safaritrip to Madikwe with our family (3 children). It was a dream for my wife and myself to experience a safari with our children. Our travelspecialist in Holland - MilesTravel - suggested a stay in Madikwe because of its malariafree status. "And you will see a lot of game", so they told us. They were right! After a few days stay in Sun City - because of the children - we headed with our rented car for Morukuru lodge. After a drive of one and a half hour - partly on a sandy road - we arrived at the gate from the Madikwe Reserve. Thomas, the tracker of Morukuru lodge, welcomed us and guided us towards the lodge. Lucy an Quintin, the managers, and their complete staff showed up to welcome our family. We felt at home within a few minutes.
What a lodge? The architecture, the interior design, the location...it exceeded our expectations by far. And we have had the luck to see a lot of beautiful places and accommodations.
The kind generousity of Lucy and her staff at the Lodge and the knowledge of Quintin during the gamedrives made our stay of 5 days outstanding. During the game drives we had the luck to see a live kill of a wildebeest by a lion, we were impressed by a male elephant, we witnessed an encounter between Thomas - on foot - and a male lion, and we studied the cooperation of a group of wild dogs. A great experience.
There is not a day passing that our children talk about our stay in Morukuru and surprisingly they seem to have forgotten our stay in Sun City.
Parent readers, if you are thinking about a safari holiday with your children. Don't hesitate and do it. I'm sure that Lucy and Quintin give you the same attention as they had for our family.
Marc van der Wielen - the Netherlands

  • Liked — Combination of outstanding hospitality and beautiful game drives
  • Disliked — The temperature of the water in the swimming pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

Ive had the pleasure of staying at many of the fine luxury lodges in Africa, as i just love my safari's - in style that is!!
I was recommended to stay at Morukuru by a freind of a friend so always a bit unsure. But WOW - it was outstanding.
It's in one of the prettiest areas of Madikwe, situated on the river and whilst it lacks some of the panoramic views of say Madikwe Hills, it feels more like a bush experience.
The rooms are outstanding - not in a safari style, more like someones home (which it turns out it is!!). Great staff - butler, cook and managment team all superb. You get the lodge to yourself (with whoever you take with you of course) and everythings included and nothings too much trouble.
We saw great game including lions AND wild dogs (and there are only 8 in the reserve at present!). Morukuru is in its own small private concession so no other vehicles although they do go into the main park if required to find the game, but we didnt need to.
Great food too. Lucy and Quintin (GB & ZIM) run the lodge and are wonderful hosts and I have to rate Quintin as one of THE BEST guides i've had in SA. The fact that he's trained in ZIM helps enourmously.
If you've kids they'll love it too, although they may find it a little too clinical i guess - its not like Jaci's Safari Lodge. But you can eat, game drive, sleep whenever you want - no timetable which is great.
Groups of friends can have a real party there - 3 rooms in main lodge and two more (i think) in the owners lodge which is next door, and equally as nice.
Give it a go, for sure.
i think the web is www.morukuru.com.
And fall in love like i did...
Sorry no pics - i was on business in SA so didn't have my equipment (camera equipment that is!)

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morukuru Family Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morukuru Family Madikwe

Address: Madikwe, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morukuru Family is a collection of three exclusive-use private safari villas on private property in the Madikwe Game Reserve. Owner's House has 2 bedrooms, River House has 3 bedrooms and Farm House has 5 bedrooms. We welcome children of all ages and are very family friendly. Our 'Morukuru Freedom Concept' means that our guests have total freedom to do whatever they want, whenever they want. During their stay in one of the private houses all activities are included, as well as all meals and drinks. We provide a private gamedrive vehicle for each house, including a private guide and a tracker. The rest of the staff at the house comprises of a private chef, a butler and general housekeeping staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your Morukuru Family Madikwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morukuru Family Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morukuru Family Madikwe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.